We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
479
47
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
47
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit platter indian ocean excellent breakfast overlooking the beach direct access to the beach breakfast room sea breeze private deck stunning location amazing views beach towels stayed one night first floor wonderful stay beautiful room sound of the waves two nights
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently had the pleasure of spending 2 wonderful nights at The Dune Guest lodge in Wilderness. What a stunning place to stay! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home by our host Gary. The house is located right on the beach front and to be woken up by the sound of the sea outside our window was amazing! The best location we stayed in during our 3 week trip to SA. The house is beautifully decorated with a warm and homely feel. Gary is a dab hand in the kitchen and presents a scrumptious breakfast with superb service to boot. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and all the help that Gary gave us on the surronding attractions. .We highly recommend a stay in The Dune and will always remember our stay with fond memories.....If you are looking for an exquisite dinning experience then you have to try Serendipity restaurant in Wilderness. Well worth a visit.

Room tip: We stayed in the Shell room which has amazing sea views.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband, niece and I selected this B&B using a tour guide book. We literally parked in their driveway and asked for a room. We got a gorgeous oceanview room - impeccably clean and spacious. It was off season, so the price was great too. It was incredible. The host had a fire in the common room where we sat and visited. The host recommended a great restaurant nearby which the locals frequented. We were able to use the kitchen area, free wifi and a huge bathroom an shower. We loved it.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is a great guest lodge overlooking a lovely beach. Rooms are clean, bright and well equipped. The lounge area is spacious and comfortable and there is a charming courtyard.
Gary and his wife are affable hosts and happy to stop for a chat or suggest local restaurants.
Breakfast is excellent with both cold and cooked options. The fruit platter was outstanding.
The accommodation is quiet and well maintained. I would recommend a stay here without hesitation.

Room tip: Book early this is popular guest lodge
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snippetthewhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked a number of different places for our trip across the Western Cape this year and this was our favourite by far. Superb location, spectacular view and very welcoming hosts. Booked us in to recommended restaurants that were excellent and lot of other good suggestions for things to do during our stay. Great breakfast too - excellent pancakes and fresh fruit. Highly recommended!

Room tip: Choose the Ocean Room
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having decided on the spur of the moment to book a weekend away in Wilderness, my husband and I weren't sure what to expect from The Dunes or from Wilderness itself, but we were blown away by both. What a lovely guest house and the hospitality we received there was excellent. It's in the perfect position to walk along the stunning beach and I don't think i've felt so relaxed in months. The lodge is beautiful, the views amazing and the breakfast delicious. We absolutely loved it and will definitely be back!

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliefrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews