We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beach, beach and more beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dune Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dune Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 55 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beach, beach and more beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Fabulous location if you just want to chill out by the beach for a few days. Set back from the road so no road noise at all. Steps (a lot!) down to the white sandy beach which is deserted except for a few dog walkers. 20 minute walk one way to a hotel/spa/restaurant and 10 minutes the other way to the village centre - couple of restaurants.
Pool at guest house was disappointing- not heated and in the shade all day with no sea views- so didnt use it.
By contrast views from our terrace loungers was amazing- just beach and sea.
Very relaxing - very quiet

Room Tip: White Room was large and terrace overlooked beach directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseBerkshire99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    40
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
231
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Dune Guest Lodge. We had booked here with the idea of having a "beach day" in the middle of our trip. Mother nature, unfortunately, did not cooperate and it was cold and rainy. The room was spacious, immaculate and had a lovely view of the ocean and beach. We braved the weather and took a quick evening stroll on the beach, and again in the morning (when at least the sun was out). Breakfast was fabulous and plentiful. It was a very peaceful, quiet place which welcomed our young daughter, though we did feel the need to keep quite hushed as she was the only youngster there. They recommended a great Saturday market to us which was such a great suggestion as we had fun and picked up some wonderful, inexpensive souvenirs there. Lovely, upscale place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Wow, just beautiful. We stayed for 5 nights in 2 different rooms- Shell and Africa and loved every minute. It was the little touches which made it so great- beach towels and bag provided, the best breakfasts and just so relaxing. Location is stunning and we loved the beach house feel. All rooms have a sea facing deck, and the views are awesome.Thankyou so much Gary, not surprised you have so many repeat guests, we hope we will be too and don'tknow why you aren't ranked number 1......

Room Tip: We loved Africa, although it isn't sea facing, you have a huge patio area as well as a sea facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruisyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

While the Dune Guest Lodge surely deserves its good ratings, and we were happy with our stay, we didn't fall in love with it as much as with some other guesthouses along the Garden Route. The location overlooking Wilderness beach is great, and Gary and his team are lovely people. Our room didn't have a sea view, but it was spacious, well appointed, and surprised us with two terraces - one facing the Garden, the other offering a spectacular view over the beach. But we didn't really like the breakfast room (inside, next to the reception, no windows) - a bit of a shame considering the great location over the sea. Breakfast itself was fine (good coffee) but surely not outstanding. And the pool area was just OK. That said it was a lovely stay for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

It is fantastic!
The view, the staff, the breakfast, owner = better then 5 star hotels!
We asked for a very early breakfast, due to a trip the next destination, we got fresh fruits, egges, everything we wanted to have! Higly recommended.
We will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ha_Bae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed in December and stayed in the two level suite. We found the accommodation and hospitality to be outstanding. The lodge is situated on the beach which is outstanding -- it is a beautiful17 Km strand. Looking at the Indian Ocean and the stars at night is unforgettable. The lake and forests that make this area special are also not far. There is a good beach resturant in walking distance and other very good restaurants in the village which is very close. We highly reccomend the Dunes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWANSEA, WALES
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here in January 2010 and stayed in the large double height room at the eastern end of the guest house nest to the pool. It has one of the best locations in Wilderness with a beautiful panoramic view out over the sea. The room was well appointed and and in great condition. The owners were both very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was awesome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the guest house, and would recommend this lodge to anyone visiting Wilderness.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUYSwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#6 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Guest Lodge

Property: Dune Guest Lodge
Address: 31 Die Duin, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Wilderness Beach, one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean, the Dune Guest Lodge provides a rare taste of paradise. Our guest lodge is a refreshingly informal beach house, with direct access to the endless Wilderness Beach. Whales and dolphins can be viewed directly from your private sundeck, or from the deck at the poolside where our private swimming pool sparkles invitingly in the warm sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dune Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Guest Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing