We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautifully located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dune Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dune Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 55 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautifully located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst in South Africa, the dunes overlooks a fabulous beach at Wilderness and is directly on the Indian Ocean. Our room opened onto a deck overlooking the beach And we had only to walk down a flight of steps to access the beach and the ocean. The owners live on the 2nd floor of the lodge, they were most welcoming and helpful. Parking is directly outside the lodge and it is only a couple of minutes into the centre of Wilderness.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rav4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    40
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
231
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Wilderness lives of the beach and the Dune Guest Lodge sits right above it - with direct access down the stairs. We stayed in the two leveled Beach Room with marvelous views over the beach and the rising full moon.

The lounge is very chilled with cool music all day. Breakfast is very good and Gary a helpful host. We loved the place but had two leave after only two nights.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Berliner1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Dune is in a beautiful location above the endless beach, which most of the rooms look out across. The rooms are wonderfully light and immaculately furnished. The whole place feels relaxed and welcoming, not last because the owners ar so friendly and part of the process, including cooking terrific breakfasts.
It really is too good to miss out on, believe me!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in this lodge recently on our way to and from other destinations along the Garden Route. The website doesn't do it justice! Our bedroom (with the most comfortable bed we have slept in for years!) was spacious and spotlessly clean with ensuite bath and shower. Glass doors opened onto our own private decked area where you could relax on sunbeds while overlooking the sea and endless beach. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of fresh fruits, cereals, pancakes and homemade bread as well as a full "English." We only wish we could have stayed here longer and can thoughly recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean Room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We echo everything previous guests have said. I give this 5 stars, but with one small reservation. I don't think the owner has checked the liquid soap, shampoo or hand cream etc., in the bottles in the bathroom. They all have the same horrid smell which means they are very old and have "gone off". We had room Shell which had a view of the Indian Ocean and was light, airy and modern. Delightful.

Room Tip: Choose ones with a sea/beach view, (although they are expensive) which is the main reason for stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigellatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Fabulous location if you just want to chill out by the beach for a few days. Set back from the road so no road noise at all. Steps (a lot!) down to the white sandy beach which is deserted except for a few dog walkers. 20 minute walk one way to a hotel/spa/restaurant and 10 minutes the other way to the village centre - couple of restaurants.
Pool at guest house was disappointing- not heated and in the shade all day with no sea views- so didnt use it.
By contrast views from our terrace loungers was amazing- just beach and sea.
Very relaxing - very quiet

Room Tip: White Room was large and terrace overlooked beach directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseBerkshire99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Dune Guest Lodge. We had booked here with the idea of having a "beach day" in the middle of our trip. Mother nature, unfortunately, did not cooperate and it was cold and rainy. The room was spacious, immaculate and had a lovely view of the ocean and beach. We braved the weather and took a quick evening stroll on the beach, and again in the morning (when at least the sun was out). Breakfast was fabulous and plentiful. It was a very peaceful, quiet place which welcomed our young daughter, though we did feel the need to keep quite hushed as she was the only youngster there. They recommended a great Saturday market to us which was such a great suggestion as we had fun and picked up some wonderful, inexpensive souvenirs there. Lovely, upscale place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#6 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Guest Lodge

Property: Dune Guest Lodge
Address: 31 Die Duin, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Wilderness Beach, one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean, the Dune Guest Lodge provides a rare taste of paradise. Our guest lodge is a refreshingly informal beach house, with direct access to the endless Wilderness Beach. Whales and dolphins can be viewed directly from your private sundeck, or from the deck at the poolside where our private swimming pool sparkles invitingly in the warm sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dune Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Guest Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing