We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Dune Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dune Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed three nights at this exceptional bed and breakfast Lodge accommodation. Superbly located, with all rooms directly overlooking the wonderful unspoilt Wilderness Beach, the accommodation is modern, well designed all with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Each room has direct access to the beach via its own private balcony and the rooms are thoughtfully furnished to a very high standard.
Breakfast is taken on the first floor which has even better views and the presentation and quality of the breakfast exceeds five stars!
There are also a variety of very good conveniently local restaurants to take dinner including "The Girls" which for an extra 30 Rand will collect you and deliver you home afterwards.
Simply perfection.

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Dune Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Loved it. Stayed for 5 nights and everything was perfect.

Had an initial problem when booked through booking.com, the room I thought I had booked was in fact not the room booked, kindly sorted out by the guest house with minimal hassle.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AntheaTaitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on our way from Hermanus to Knysna and WOW.
The guest house is stunning, our room The White Room was beautiful with the most amazing view of the Ocean and the mini bar and nespresso machine was an added bonus. Breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel/guest house only made better by the view from the breakfast room.
The only issue we has was going out for dinner, Wilna had advised us that Girls Restaurant only had a table available at 8.30pm but as we were hungry after our journey she recommended Selena which is just down the beach and said that we wouldn't need a reservation. However when we got there at 6.30pm they were already full as the outside seating was closed due to the rain so we then had to walk back to get the car to drive into town to find somewhere else, Selena looked great though so maybe make a reservation so your not disappointed.
Otherwise a fantastic stay and really wished we'd stayed 2nts as it was the nicest hotel on our trip and would have loved more time to appreciate our room and made longer use of the fantastic private balcony, would love to go back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank julesneily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were running on a tight schedule in South Africa but decided to stay longer than originally booked as this guesthouse turned out to be a germ. As the name says, it's on a dune, great views on the ocean from there. 30 minutes after check-in the very friendly and helpful receptionist knocks on our door to let us know that there is a big group of dolphines to be seen from our terrace. "Waow! Thank you." The house is rather new and modern, we liked the interior a lot. Breakfast was very good too. There was simply nothing to complain about at all, we were much impressed and would recommend to anyone intending to stay in Wilderrness.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Denneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very hospitable staff who went out of their way to make our honeymoon perfect. Thank you Wilna! Room was clean and bright with a vista of the ocean that can't get any better. Direct beach access down the stairs and complimentary beach towels add to the already wonderful location and experience. Listen to the waves crash on shore with a glass of wine as you sit on your patio watching the sunset...oh so relaxing! Breakfast met all our needs.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms. Ground floor rooms have walkout patios.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

the host and the hostess were so nice and made us a perfect breakfast!
their tipps always helped and we had a good time in wilderness
the view was incredible!
from my bed i was able to see the ocean and hear it with an open window at night!

the rooms are very "chic" and cool with a nice interieur!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotti h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We are regulars at the Dune and this is for a good reason. The Dune was already perfect but they nailed it with the major overhaul. All rooms have been redone to the next level of Luxury whilst you still can walk around barefooted.

The breakfast area has moved to the first floor with great ocean views. Will be difficult to choose between the lavish breakfast and dolphins swimming near the shore.

Wilderness itself also remains a great stop with beautiful beaches, nice restaurants, nature reserve and a base for visiting golcourses.

You should go and see for yourself and enjoy

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Guest Lodge

Address: 31 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Wilderness Beach, one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean, the Dune Guest Lodge provides a rare taste of paradise. Our guest lodge is a refreshingly informal beach house, with direct access to the endless Wilderness Beach. Whales and dolphins can be viewed directly from your private sundeck, or from the deck at the poolside where our private swimming pool sparkles invitingly in the warm sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dune Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Guest Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing