We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Position”
Review of Dune Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dune Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Unfortunately we only able to stay for one night. The Dune is fanastic place in an ideal location with access directly unto the beach. Excellent sized bedrooms, tastefully furnished with all the extras you would expect in a 4 or 5* hotel but with the benefit of a more persona service. Breakfast was the best we had during our 2 week stay in SA with a lovely fruit platter and Gary's homemade cinamon pancakes (as well as a cooked breakfast). Would certqainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Dune Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed at the house for only one night. It was just perfect. The view of the beach is stunning and also the panoramic view when walking to the beach in early morning is super and makes it worthwhile getting up early. The room is really dark. We couldn’t see a thing when we turned out the light. The room itself has a sliding door opening on the veranda with a marvelous view. The room is spacious and has a large bed. The bathroom is a little bit out of date but is large and well equipped.
The owner made a reservation at serendipity to have dinner. We didn’t know that this was a top 100 restaurant, but for 64 euro’s we both ate a 5 course dinner which was very good. The breakfast in the house was very good with lots of fresh fruit and fresh pancakes which tasted very good. We were very happy to have stayed in this guesthouse and would stay there again if we had the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_K_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We booked a night at the Dune Guesthouse for a first stop on the Garden Route. Arrived late afternoon and were shown to our room, with one wall opening up towards the Indian Ocean - a completely incredible view! You could spend your time just watching the waves, but there is of course also the opportunity of walking the beach, accessible just outside the room via stairs leading down the dune.
In addition to the view, the rooms are beautifully furnished, with comfortable beds, full bathrooms and very nice lounge areas. A complete treat. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and plentiful, and Gary's recommendations for dinner venues in Wilderness itself were spot-on. We were made to feel so completely at home that we booked another night's stay for our return towards Cape Town later in the week, and would be back in a second if only we could...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed at the Dune Guest lodge for two nights in February 2009. This place is amazing, a wonderful house with the most amazing views. The room was very spacious and beautiful. The view over the Indian ocean from the room was breathtaking. We also had a lovely deck with loungers. The breakfast was delicious, everything very fresh and plentiful. We even had the owners dog Trixie accompany us for a walk on the beach. All in all a perfect stay! If ever in this area again we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeatriceCSandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

We stayes in the Dune guest house for three nights with our two daughters of 9 and 11 and loved every minute of it. It is a beautiful place - you are literally sitting on a dune. All five rooms are wonderful. We stayed in the Africa room for one night (the only room without sea few, but a private terras overlooking the sea) and two nights in the white room; The rooms have immense windows overlooking the beach and the ocean and are decorated absolutely beautiful. At the side of the house there's a pool and wooden sundeck where you can sit by the pool and watch the ocean. Breakfast is excellent and service too. Wilderness is a nice place to stay to discover the garden route. We've done a lot of travelling and have seen quite some nice places, but this is one of our favourites. Hard to find any better !

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bZita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2006

Dune Guest House is a perfect place in every respect. It is a great location, wonderful view, very kind host, roaring fire in the evening and lovely rooms.
You can go down to the beach straight from your room, or just look at the deepblue ocean from your deckchair, and restaurants in Wilderness are 5 minutes by car.

You can easily go to Knysna from here, but make sure you stay a bit longer just to enjoy being in this place.

Linda, haro and Elisabeth

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2006

The Dune Lodge (B&B establishment) was our first stop (after Cape Town) on a road-trip up the Garden Route to Port Elizabeth and due to a late start and slow driving conditions we didn’t get there until 6:00pm. Which was such a shame.

For a start off the name. Wilderness. Now what does that conjure for you? Bleak expanses, trees blown nearly horizontal by searing winds. Not a bit of it. Wilderness is actually a substantial (under-populated) area; it’s like the Parish name. So that was the first surprise. The second was the accommodation. There were four of us in the party – two couples and I don’t know how our friends reacted when they saw their accommodation but I couldn’t believe ours. But what drew me like a magnet was the windows, a whole wall of them and on the other side miles of beach with the most enormous waves crashing in from the Indian Ocean. The property does have beach access down the dune. With hindsight we should have booked for two nights.

Then I looked round the room, the huge room, and I was immediately sorry that 1) we had arrived so late in the day and 2) we were only staying for one night. The place was lovely and was quite clearly a ‘personal establishment.’ There was no mass produced anonymity or conformity here, an attempt was being made to make you feel like an honoured guest in the owner’s home. The owners had even been kind enough to secure a booking for us at a local restaurant prior to our arrival.

Sadly, the next morning we had to depart early to press on with phase 2 of our journey, but before our departure a freshly cooked breakfast (of our choice) was served to us in the simple dining area. No fuss, no bother, just great food. Would I go again? Of course I would!

6  Thank Scoffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
304 reviews
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Guest Lodge

Address: 31 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £75 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Wilderness Beach, one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean, the Dune Guest Lodge provides a rare taste of paradise. Our guest lodge is a refreshingly informal beach house, with direct access to the endless Wilderness Beach. Whales and dolphins can be viewed directly from your private sundeck, or from the deck at the poolside where our private swimming pool sparkles invitingly in the warm sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dune Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Guest Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing