We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jaw droppingly beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilltop Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Jaw droppingly beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

For sure the most beautiful location on the Garden Route - the view is simply stunning. We spend two nights here, and had a very pleasant experience. Quiet stop over, enclosed parking, safe in the room, welcome sherry awaiting you. Hope to go again one day!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all rooms have this awesome view, as does the breakfast patio..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissgabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2016
Sorry for only responding now to your review! Thanks so much!!
I must admit I did not know how this Tripadvisor story works!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The view has been extensively celebrated here. Not much more to add except that it is amazing.
The lodge has been built with a deliberate Colonial atmosphere, even though it is not that old. I'd say the architects hit that one bang on. The gardens surrounding the lodge are equally impressive though and I'd recommend visitors take the time to do a tour through the gardens and further down around the estate. There are even better views a bit down the hill.
The rooms are well equipped and wonderfully laid out. The architecture of the lodge places the rooms at an even more strategic viewing angle than say the main eating/chatting area (full moon rising over the Indian ocean from your balcony anyone ?).
The pool is small but not too small (you won't be doing laps here). It perches on the edge of the hill and offers a spectacular setting for just lounging with a book under the African sun.
Breakfast was good and abundant, but that was it for us as far as eating in was concerned. There are too many excellent restaurants around the area to plan on being home for dinner or lunch. On that note I'd also say that I wouldn't recommend staying there without a car. A backpacker's lodge it is definitely not. At the same time I wouldn't say it is for the 50 or 60+ crowd. This lodge would find a sweet spot with couples driving down the coast, or say coming up from Capetown for the weekend. Similarly, a motorcycle tour group would also find this lodge more than accommodating for their rest spot.
All in all well worth what we paid and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africabycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

What a view the most amazing views. Go there you will not be disappointed, the rooms are lovely and the gardens and pool. The breakfast was pretty good too. We went to Victoria Bay the next day and what a lovely place to go to the sufers were very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 April 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely response! We appreciate it! Thanks for staying with us! We hope to meet again.
Magda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

The Hilltop has a great view and the owner is quite nice, but the room was not 5 or even 4 star as they advertise and as other reviews indicate, it is geared towards a 60+, altough, when I am older, this wouldn't suit us. We had no hot water and they said they had to turn it on? We arrived late and wanted dinner, and couldn't wait an hour for the hot water to come on, so went without.
Compared to all of the other hotels we stayed at throughout our journey, this lodge was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2008

This was a pleasent enough place to stay, but it is quite out of the way. They do not serve an evening meal, so you have to go into George - getting taxis isn't the easiest thing to do! There seem to be no staff around when you need them either!

The rooms have amazing views but they are small and set up for older couples.

All in all an OK place with great views, but not easily accessible and probably for the older traveller.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

We spent six nights here on our honeymoon. It is a bit hard to write a review of Hilltop Lodge as our experience was a bit ambivalent. First the positives: the location is out of this world. Jaw droppingly beautiful. The house is secluded, perched on a cliff above Victoria bay. You can see the rolling Atlantic breakers from your bed, watch the sun set on the mountains, admire the beatuiful gardens during a delicious breakfast on the terrace... and generally the quality of the rooms and fittings is very high (though noise insulation was a problem - noisy pipes). We received champagne on arrival to celebrate our honeymoon too. The Garden route activities are all within easy reach and Wilderness is full of lovely restaurants.

On the downside, we just felt that compared to other similar priced lodges in the area, the level of service was pretty poor. There was never anyone on reception and when you called for service, either there was nobody there or made to feel the owner/manager was doing you a big favour. Given that there are no phones in the rooms and the place is pretty out of the way, you need assistance to book taxis, activities and restuarants (which must be pre-booked). You are left to your own devices! We also asked to leave a night early to break up our journey back to Capetown as it is quite long. This request was met by inflexibility (technically this was within the owner's rights, but other hotels are generally flexible in non-peak times) and we had to pay all nights. In the end we stayed all six nights, but it did leave us with a bit of an awkward feeling towards the place.

Overall, I would think twice about booking this place again given the other options in the area - I'd consider staying right in Victoria Bay or in one of the new boutique hotels in Wilderness. I'm sad to say that, as I loved the location and I think Hilltop could be absolutely amazing if only the owner and staff really knew how to provide the kind of personalised service that such a stunning location deserves.

  • Liked — The amazing views
  • Disliked — the lack of service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2007

We stayed here for two nights on a garden route tour. The views as you walked out from the lounge and looked over the fantastic gardens was breathtaking. Hennie, our host, was very hospitable and advised us on restaurants and booked them for us. As far as I can see there is nothing average about this place. The attention to detail everywhere is outstanding, even down to providing a cloth to wipe the balcony tables and chairs if they got wet, plus a fly swatter in the room - a leather one at that. Pool towels are provided and the breakfast was wonderful and beautifully presented. The only downside of this place is that there is no restaurant on site, but they allow full use of the dining room facilities, complete with a microwave. We even had a decanter with sherry for a late night drink (free!). I would certainly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Sagalouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2016
Sorry for only responding now to your review! Thanks so much!!
I must admit I did not know how this Tripadvisor story works!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
1.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Country Lodge

Property: Hilltop Country Lodge
Address: PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilltop Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilltop Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing