We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, but lodge is for people over 50”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilltop Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing view, but lodge is for people over 50”
Reviewed 2 May 2008

This was a pleasent enough place to stay, but it is quite out of the way. They do not serve an evening meal, so you have to go into George - getting taxis isn't the easiest thing to do! There seem to be no staff around when you need them either!

The rooms have amazing views but they are small and set up for older couples.

All in all an OK place with great views, but not easily accessible and probably for the older traveller.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

We spent six nights here on our honeymoon. It is a bit hard to write a review of Hilltop Lodge as our experience was a bit ambivalent. First the positives: the location is out of this world. Jaw droppingly beautiful. The house is secluded, perched on a cliff above Victoria bay. You can see the rolling Atlantic breakers from your bed, watch the sun set on the mountains, admire the beatuiful gardens during a delicious breakfast on the terrace... and generally the quality of the rooms and fittings is very high (though noise insulation was a problem - noisy pipes). We received champagne on arrival to celebrate our honeymoon too. The Garden route activities are all within easy reach and Wilderness is full of lovely restaurants.

On the downside, we just felt that compared to other similar priced lodges in the area, the level of service was pretty poor. There was never anyone on reception and when you called for service, either there was nobody there or made to feel the owner/manager was doing you a big favour. Given that there are no phones in the rooms and the place is pretty out of the way, you need assistance to book taxis, activities and restuarants (which must be pre-booked). You are left to your own devices! We also asked to leave a night early to break up our journey back to Capetown as it is quite long. This request was met by inflexibility (technically this was within the owner's rights, but other hotels are generally flexible in non-peak times) and we had to pay all nights. In the end we stayed all six nights, but it did leave us with a bit of an awkward feeling towards the place.

Overall, I would think twice about booking this place again given the other options in the area - I'd consider staying right in Victoria Bay or in one of the new boutique hotels in Wilderness. I'm sad to say that, as I loved the location and I think Hilltop could be absolutely amazing if only the owner and staff really knew how to provide the kind of personalised service that such a stunning location deserves.

  • Liked — The amazing views
  • Disliked — the lack of service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2007

We stayed here for two nights on a garden route tour. The views as you walked out from the lounge and looked over the fantastic gardens was breathtaking. Hennie, our host, was very hospitable and advised us on restaurants and booked them for us. As far as I can see there is nothing average about this place. The attention to detail everywhere is outstanding, even down to providing a cloth to wipe the balcony tables and chairs if they got wet, plus a fly swatter in the room - a leather one at that. Pool towels are provided and the breakfast was wonderful and beautifully presented. The only downside of this place is that there is no restaurant on site, but they allow full use of the dining room facilities, complete with a microwave. We even had a decanter with sherry for a late night drink (free!). I would certainly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Sagalouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2016
Sorry for only responding now to your review! Thanks so much!!
I must admit I did not know how this Tripadvisor story works!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

We stayed for a few nights at Hilltop and agree that it has the most stunning view of the beach and mountains - just glorious especially as we first saw it at sunset.

The host, Hennie, was very hospitable and the breakfasts served were incredibly filling: fresh fruit and everything you would find in a continental breakfast plus a hot meal.

The property has a nice pool with surrounding deck and a braii (BBQ) you can use. We took advantage of this during our stay and had a lot of fun; they prepare all the tools for you (save for the food itself) and made it easy on us.

The guesthouse has a DVD collection and a laptop always available for internet access, as well as an honor bar.

The George mall is maybe a 10 minute drive from Hilltop and has just about everything you might need and there are a number of great hiking trails not too far away, as well as the beach at Victoria Bay.

  • Liked — The amazing view
  • Disliked — Toiletries - mini containers of shampoo and conditioner looked recycled
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Merkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2016
Sorry for only responding now to your review! Thanks so much!!
I must admit I did not know how this Tripadvisor story works!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leinster
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2007

Amazing views over Wilderness. About 10km from George a few km from Victoria bay (best option for swimming) and a short drive to Wilderness. Own car a must. Massive garden and own steep walk down to the sea. We stayed in a large family room, with another bedroom upstairs. Lovely breakfast. No dinner available or bar on site. Staff friendly enough. Nice small pool.
The view is what really sells the place, in my opinion. Overlooking the beach at Wilderness, Wilderness village, the lakes, the mountains behind it and the (now not in use) Outeniqua Choo Choo train track. Everything else was of an average to good standard. Pleasant place to stay for a tranquil getaway.

  • Liked — Amazing views
  • Disliked — No restaurant or bar
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MMIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
642 reviews
11.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
1.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Country Lodge

Property: Hilltop Country Lodge
Address: PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilltop Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilltop Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing