We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilltop Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our third stay with Hennie and Magda and it just gets better each time. The views are stunning, accommodation great and hospitality superb. Should not be missed if visiting the area. This is the place to stay for peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: The new suites 7 & 8 are great.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wakelind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

It was so good to have you back again! We always enjoy having you.
Thanks for the nise reveiw.

Take care

Magda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have stayed 6 days over the Christmas period at the Hilltop Country Lodge. It has been the first time in our travelling experience where the the Internet images and information could not live up to the actual article! The view will leave Ernest Hemingway at a loss for words. The owners made us feel right at home and we were treated as family more than guests.

We had our Westie along.He was made most welcome and even received his very own Doggy Christmas stocking on Christmas eve! Every morning we were served a rustic breakfast with something special added every time. Hennie and Magda kept us company many a morning and regaled us with colourful anecdotes of the area. My only complaint is that we couldn't prolong our stay! Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 5 - especially if you are planning to stay a few days
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Typically when one has booked a place where they have never been before, they feel a certain level of anxiety on whether the place will in fact live up to their expectations. We are glad to say that Hilltop exceeded our expectations!!

My wife and I stayed in the honeymoon suite for 5 days over the busy new year period.

The views from our room were absolutely exquisite, in-fact the views throughout the lodge were breath-taking. Our room had all the amenities one would get at a top hotel (including a jacuzzi), the fact that the Lodge had a few rooms (six I believe) provided us with a high level of privacy.

Breakfast was extremely adequate with a “personal touch” kind of service. There are plenty of good restaurants in the Wilderness (about a 10 minute drive from the lodge) which serve all types of taste.

We were so impressed by the Lodge that we have already recommended it to our friends and family and will most definitely be returning there in 2014.

We absolutely loved our stay!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the honeymoon suite
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you very much for your stay with us.
You were lovely guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived from Hermanus and had a comfortable and pleasing stay. Our balcony overlooked Victoria Bay and as we sat having braekfast we watched the rollers break along the beach below. We had an enjoyable meal at The Girls in Wilderness. We then moved on top Plettenburg. In hindsight we wished we had stayed at Hilltop and not moved on - it was much the better place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_B186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

For sure the most beautiful location on the Garden Route - the view is simply stunning. We spend two nights here, and had a very pleasant experience. Quiet stop over, enclosed parking, safe in the room, welcome sherry awaiting you. Hope to go again one day!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all rooms have this awesome view, as does the breakfast patio..
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissgabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Sorry for only responding now to your review! Thanks so much!!
I must admit I did not know how this Tripadvisor story works!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The view has been extensively celebrated here. Not much more to add except that it is amazing.
The lodge has been built with a deliberate Colonial atmosphere, even though it is not that old. I'd say the architects hit that one bang on. The gardens surrounding the lodge are equally impressive though and I'd recommend visitors take the time to do a tour through the gardens and further down around the estate. There are even better views a bit down the hill.
The rooms are well equipped and wonderfully laid out. The architecture of the lodge places the rooms at an even more strategic viewing angle than say the main eating/chatting area (full moon rising over the Indian ocean from your balcony anyone ?).
The pool is small but not too small (you won't be doing laps here). It perches on the edge of the hill and offers a spectacular setting for just lounging with a book under the African sun.
Breakfast was good and abundant, but that was it for us as far as eating in was concerned. There are too many excellent restaurants around the area to plan on being home for dinner or lunch. On that note I'd also say that I wouldn't recommend staying there without a car. A backpacker's lodge it is definitely not. At the same time I wouldn't say it is for the 50 or 60+ crowd. This lodge would find a sweet spot with couples driving down the coast, or say coming up from Capetown for the weekend. Similarly, a motorcycle tour group would also find this lodge more than accommodating for their rest spot.
All in all well worth what we paid and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank africabycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

What a view the most amazing views. Go there you will not be disappointed, the rooms are lovely and the gardens and pool. The breakfast was pretty good too. We went to Victoria Bay the next day and what a lovely place to go to the sufers were very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely response! We appreciate it! Thanks for staying with us! We hope to meet again.
Magda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
680 reviews
11.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range: £99 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilltop Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilltop Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing