We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unique and beautiful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #6 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very unique and beautiful.”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on our SA honeymoon and loved it. We stayed in stone cottage and although it was rustic, charming and private, the constant presence of large (harmless spiders) was an annoyance. We have stayed in other thatch style accomodation without spiders and cobwebs, so we do have a comparison. The service was excellent and the location perfect. The rooms are all different and decorated perfectly. The breakfast was filling and tasty but the coffee could be improved and the cheese a little less frozen. We have no real issues and would recommend moon tide to couples, or families.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cndhoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M00ntide, Owner at Moontide Guest House, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
I am always so delighted when my guests profess to have had a wonderful stay, so many thanks. Just a note on the spiders - we are in an eco-friendly environment, surrounded by natural vegetation, including our 400-year-old Milkwood trees. As part of the ecology, spiders (as you mention, all of them harmless) are seen at odd times. This should not be a problem as we remove them on sight (and are especially attendant to guests who mention they are phobic). If we are not asked, there is also insect spray available in each room. As for the coffee and cheese, we will endeavour to improve this and thank you sincerely for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    130
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
142
434
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

En route up the Garden Route from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth we stopped for the night at this lovely place next to the river in Wilderness. The welcome was super friendly and the rooms very comfortable. They booked us for what turned out to be an excellent dinner and their breakfast was delicious. We went on our way refreshed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenFlesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The owner and the staff are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great and healthy. They offer a lot of choices. Don't hesitate to ask for tips on places to see and where to eat. The manager has great tips and will even make reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

After one or two ealier disapointments on our journey along the Garden Route how wonderful to find a little utopia in Moontide. Maureen and her team have something very special and her attention to detail and providing such a high standard was a welcome surprise. Add to this her very personal and helpful service in guiding us around the local attractions and restaurants was an added bonus. Thank you Maureen for the Moontide experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had such a lovely time there. The room was amazing, the view even more so. Maureen knows what her guests want. The breakfast was lovely and we felt priviliged to eat it at the deck which I believe is the most stunning view in Wilderness.

Room Tip: we had the moondance but I believe all her rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swellendam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I had heard of Moontide but when we finally arrived I was hardly expecting such magic. From the moment we walked through the gates to the sad inevitability that we had to - as one does - depart, we experienced something so wonderful that words do not suffice. Thank you Maureen. You do not even know the gem you have! If I have to advise one thing to any traveller, plan to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelPSwellendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I came across Moontide on the internet and viewed the pics and was very impressed! In telling friends about our plans for a weekend away and the website pictures they said 'oh don't trust those pics...' - let me tell you those pics don't lie they are that plus so much more! The way Maureen (owner) 'mingles' with her guests is really something special - she advises one where to go/eat/watch rugby/long walks and really anthing one would like to do.
The breakfasts are out of this world and as for Judge's little 'cookies' (only on a Sunday
:( I might add) they are a gem.
We really had a wonderfull stay and will definately be going back and will be referring people to go there.
Regards
Ruth

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Property: Moontide Guest House
Address: Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing