We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend... no more like a second honeymoon :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Long weekend... no more like a second honeymoon :)”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Moontide Guest Lodge during the long weekend of September and had a fabulous time, felt like a second honeymoon. The location of the Guest Lodge is absolutely perfect and the facilities allow for complete relaxation. We stayed in the Moonriver suite for three nights, it's decorated beautifully and it’s very spacious. The view from the suite overlooking the lagoon is spectacular. Breakfast was incredible, not only do you have delicious options but you also have the best view as breakfast is served on the porch next to the lagoon. Everyone at Moontide was so friendly felt like we were visiting family with all the added luxuries. We highly recommend Moontide Guest Lodge and will definitely return when visiting Wilderness.

Room Tip: I would recommend the moonriver suite for a couple, I think it allows for a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3a_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    132
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
148
442
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were very surprised when we arrived at Moontide on Monday 16/09/13 as you never expect a Guest House to look better then its pictures on their website but we were Blown Away. Moontide is absolutely breathtaking, every detail has been thought of in their Guest Accomodation and you really feellike you are royalty during your time there. The Manager, Tom went out of he's way to make sure we new about all the exciting things to do in the area as well as to book our supper reservations at the top Restaurants in their area. We absolutely Loved our Honeymoon at Moontide and would love to go again in the future. Mr & Mrs Pautz (wilson)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town - South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have known about Moontide for quite a while but never had the opportunity to go, until now. We were blown away! Not only is this place exquisite, with such beautiful attention to details but the Stone cottage we stayed in was BETTER than the pictures on the internet (VERY RARE). Relaxing on the Terrance overlooking the lake, having a fantastic breakfast with staff that were friendly and exceptionally accommodating with nothing being too much trouble, just made this the perfect getaway. This is a must for anyone wanting to get away from the crowds and experience peace and a little romance in what should be rated as 5 stars. Thank you to everyone at Moontide for making this one of our top getaways of all times!

Room Tip: Boat house - very romantic Treehouse - exceptional views Stone Cottage - pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saesae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Going on a winter breakaway at Moontide was just what we needed - We stayed in Moondance for 3 nights and throughly enjoyed ourselves. Sitting on the terrace in the warm warm winter sun enjoying wonderful breakfasts with Tim as our host was fabulous.The paddle boat trip on the lagoon was lots of fun.Moontide comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect place, does not matter what you are looking for or who you are! Honeymoon couple, family with kids... This is absolutely perfect! The staff are very friendly, kind and helpful. It is a beautiful, family friendly-private location. Even the "after stay service" is wonderful! My husband forgot a pair of shoes there.... They fast mailed it back to us! Between helpful friendly Tim, over qualified Judge, the extremely beautiful well behaved dogs and the wonderful kitchen staff.... You can only feel at home... I would love to visit again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night's stay and everything was perfect. The room was fabulous and the hospitality outstanding. The delicious breakfasts on the lagoon under the milkwood trees and the tranquility of the setting are what memories are made of.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent 5 nights at moontide in moonshadow 1, The service was outstanding and the breakfast on the lagoon was amazing, Moontide is situated on the perfect spot for a private & peaceful getaway,Perfect for Newly weds or even a honeymoon, Maureen the owner and Tim the manager were very helpful and gave us excellent service, wilderness is such a beautiful place & would definitely visit again soon.

Room Tip: Moonshadow 1 wasn't too bad but after the host showed us the boat house we regret not choosing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niyaaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#8 of 56 in Wilderness
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Property: Moontide Guest House
Address: 444 Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing