We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon chalet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Moontide Guest Lodge as part of our honeymoon. The location is very central and we were able to do a lot of exploring during our time there.

There are also two absolutely adorable cats who will come and visit and make you feel very welcome!

Thanks to Morene and her team.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Moontide Guest Lodge for three nights as part of our honeymoon. We enjoyed our time there thoroughly and will definitely be back in the future. Amazing views, great service and friendly people all add up to an extremely relaxing and fun stay. Thanks to Morene and her team!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We found Moontide Guest lodge everything it said it was. The location and access to the canoes is perfect. Lovely breakfast served on a very tranquil deck area, with bird life and little plunge pool. We enjoyed exploring the Wilderness and coming back to our very comfy little hide out. Well done to Maureen & Tim and staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in Moonshadow, great sized room, which opens on to the deck with pool, ideal if you travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelhamreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

There is not much to add to perfection. The website and brochure sums it up perfectly. We stayed in the 'boat house' room and it was, well....perfect! Right on the water's edge. Very private.
Breakfast is served on the wooden deck outside during sunny days and inside when it rains. We loved everything about it. I can strongly recommend it to couples looking for a romantic hideaway and even small families. They cater for both.

Room Tip: There is a family room for small families. I would certainly recommend the 'boat house' for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The setting for this guesthouse is stunning, on the banks of the Wilderness Lagoon. The experience that we had here was fantastic, the hospitality from Tim was great, the breakfast choice was amazing (I was able to get French Toast!), and the room was beautiful. We stayed in the Stone Cottage which was a very comfortable and relaxing room. I would highly recommend this guesthouse as the top place to stay in Wilderness

Room Tip: The Stone Cottage was beautiful and very comfortable, it has two rooms with one for children if requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smnIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Although we were only able to stay for 1 night, our experience was certainly something to write home about.
The place was spotless and the service excellent. After a hard week on the road, with nights in less desired B&B's we decided to treat ourselves to a 4 Star graded B&B. Oh it was well worth it!
Conveniently located at the end of a road to minimise traffic noise, this spot is gorgeous. Its tranquil setting allows for extreme relaxation. It has its own private jetty and we enjoyed the lagoon on one of the pedal boats provided.

Thank you Tim and Judge for your kind hospitality!

It didn't go unnoticed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Moontide for a few days. Wow - what an outstanding location, it was wonderful. The Hospitality was outstanding, the Views were spectacular and the Breakfast was excellent. I loved the Tranquillity and home feeling whilst being spoilt with outstanding service. The birds eating out of my hand was unique. Thank you Tim for a wonderful memory that will stay with us forever.

Room Tip: We had the room on the Lake, it was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 62 in Wilderness
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 62 in Wilderness
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 62 in Wilderness
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Address: 444 Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £73 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing