We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedroom with ocean view”
Review of Bay Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Tree House
Ranked #41 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Bay Tree House was without any doubt the best place we stayed at during our trip in South Africa. The superior architectural qualities of the house are matched with the highest standards of hospitality. As other reviewers have pointed put, breakfast is a real treat. Our downstairs room has spectacular floor-to-ceiling views of the ocean, and was as luxurious as one could wish. The beach is literally a walk down the dune stairs away. There is safe car parking on the premises. The owners happily shared their tips and advice regarding restaurants in and around Wilderness - do follow their advice and you are in for a culinary surprise. This is an excellent address and we would immediately return here. A true hidden gem!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimbrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2009

Bay Tree B&B is hard to find, as our GPS wouldn`t recognize Die Duin and when you`ve finally found the street there is no name sign on the white surrounding wall. Originally we were going for "The Dune Guest Lodge" but happily enough they had no vacancies and recommended their next, next door neighbour "Bay Tree" else we would have been deprived of a unique experience.
The situation of the beautiful house on top of the dunes is spectacular, as are the views over sea and beach from your wonderful spacious room.
Breakfast is memorable, everything homemade and served with pride, care and flowers by Tony. We woun`t forget Sally`s addictively delicious homemade, fluffy, light and still warm muffins and Tony`s special Bay Tree scrambled eggs with herbs.
Don`t be afraid of their biiig Alsatian, Luke, he just has an overwhelming way of greeting people - his greatest fun is to chase and bark at the birds! He went along to the beach with us and there was a wounded gannet lying on the beach - and he didn`t even touch it!!
If we ever go to Wilderness again we`ll surely stay at Bay Tree!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hehoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We arrived at the Bay Tree and was immidately blown away with the beauty of Wilderness. Tony and Sally have the most amazing house situated right on the beachfront overlooking the Indian Ocean.
We felt at home straight away, and were welcomed with a cold/hot drink. Their pet dog Luke is an absolutely beautiful Alsatian, such a big softie and took a walk down the beach with us.
The view from the room was out of this world, just sea and sand as far as the eyes can see. The beathroom was superbly equipt with a multi function steam room shower and jacuzzi bath. The room itself if open plan onto the bathroom with a great sense of air and light.
We had a great 2 night stay with Tony and Sally, the breakfasts are something else, everything is homemade from the mufins thru to the jams and fruit cocktails. A true gastronomic affair!!!
We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked a futher night stay later in the holiday for our return trip along the garden route.
I canot stress enough how much this place made our holiday and we would like to thank both Sally and Tony for making our SA trip a magical and memorable experience.
WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

After a five hour drive from Capetown, the Bay Tree is just the right place for relaxing. A lovely, modern and clean house with stunning views over the sea. Magnificent rooms. I shared a room with my husband, whilst my brother and his wife had another room and we shared a bathroom between us. This one had a shower for 2 which also converts into a steamroom - wonderful.
The other rooms all have their own bathroom. Tony and Sally are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was superb. I recommend this place to anyone without any qualms.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoline.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We stayed at The Bay Tree on our way back from Shamwari Game Reserve to break up the journey back to Cape Town. We were disappointed we only booked 1 night, as the Bay Tree is by far & away the best bed & breakfast we have ever stayed in & we do alot of travelling. From the second we arrived, Sally & Tony made us feel so welcome - truly lovely people who have a beautiful home and nothing was too much trouble. Sally made us tea with delicious home made biscuits when we arrived which we took in the beautifully decorated lounge by the fire place. Sally's little touches made it even more special - she had even placed petals down the toilet!! Sally & Tony love their garden which is so apparent, as even breakfast featured fresh flowers arranged beautifully on your plate. There are so many wonderful things we can say, I could go on & on. Sally & Tony managed to get us a cancellation at Serendipity which is a fabulous fine dining restaurant specialising in South African cuisine & wine. When we got back, our room had been lit up by candles, Sally thinks of everything. It was pure luxury & we had the best night's sleep. Breakfast was again the best breakfast we had on our trip, in fact, anywhere. Pure water with herbs, freshly baked muffins, fresh fruit, honey & yogurt & if you were still hungry, eggs & bacon!!! We were missing our cats & dog, but for our stay here we shared their cat -Kiri & their beautiful german shepherd, Luke, who again welcomed us into their home. It really was hard to leave & we will definately return one day as we cannot wait to go back to South Africa, only we will make sure we book the Bay Tree for much longer not only to enjoy the wonderful home of Sally & Tony but also to explore Wilderness, as we didnt get chance to this time. On the way to Shamwari from Cape Town we booked the Alexnader B&B in Knysna on the Heads & although it was all done to a high standard it did not have the friendlieness or personal touches that Bay Tree had. Knysna is only about 40 kms away, but I'd stay in Wilderness at the Bay tree any day, as beautiful as Knysna is. Bay Tree should be the No 1 place to stay in Wilderness & the Garden Route & the only way you will be disappointed, is if you don't stay longer!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshire-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I did a tremendous amount of research to locate the ideal place for my wife and I to stay during what was her first visit to Wilderness. Hands down - Bay Tree House comes out way ahead of every other option. Apart from all that it has to offer in terms of accommodation and location, I found Tony (your host) to be very pleasant and very helpful. It was a pleasure that I hope to experience again soon.

Jan and Marion
Frankfurt
Germany

Stayed: January 2008
Thank OrsonGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

The Bay Tree House is an exceptional B&B. Your hosts Tony & Sally will go out of their way to make your stay with them an unforgettable experience and a fixture on trips to come. Literally the best bed and the best breakfast of our stay in South Africa.

Fresh tea and coffee on arrival, hot milk. A glass of wine by the fire. Relaxation in the spa pool.

The rooms had the most comfortable beds we had slept in during our whole Garden Route trip, with additional touches like real down pillows and duvets and herbal pillows.
When you return from dinner, you will find that your hosts even have lit up your room for you with candles.

Breakfast is the most outstanding feature of the trip. Tony and Sally will spend an hour just serving you a the best breakfast on the Garden Route! Freshly filtered spring-water with herbs served in pre-chilled glasses! Freshly pressed juice. Freshly baked muffins and bread, made just when you arrive for breakfast. A selection of locally made jams. A truly fantastic freshly made fruit & yoghurt concoction. Fully cooked breakfast make to your order, again with fresh herbs. They will go as far as checking that there is no skin on your hot milk!!!

They will even see you off in the morning and help you pack your car. This place is all about special touches, even power adapters for your country. They even offer their own range of toiletries.

If you are a connoisseur and appreciate the finer things in life, you would be well-advised to make this a fixture on your travel-itinerary for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scanvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#28 of 59 in Wilderness
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House

Address: 27 Die Duin St, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern beach house nestled in the dunes of Wilderness with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean. Take a stroll on the private boardwalk down to a beautiful beach. Architecturally designed, this house combines contemporary decor with high ceilings, deep airy wrap around verandas, crystal clear salt water pool, floor to ceiling windows and sliding glass doors providing uninterrupted panoramic ocean views from every angle. The luxurious interiors give a romantic, rejuvenating and exotic experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing