We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr & Mrs Jordaan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
Ranked #14 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Mr & Mrs Jordaan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved porcupine pie, it is a great get away and an awesome setting. The view is amazing and you find yourself staring into the valley.
On the bad side the road in and out is a bit much and tends to make you want to stay in rather than mission out on the road.
We also found the "self catering' to be sparsely catered for, but all amenities are on the property.
John and Judy where great host and we had great fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Tim, Thank you for your review. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay here but were wish to respond to two of your comments. Firstly, yes the road had been compromised by the heavy rain experienced in the Garden Route while you were here, but it was still no problem for small hire cars to get in & out from the lodge - as experienced by yourselves on a daily basis. Secondly we are not surprised that you felt the self catering facilities were limited - we are a guest house that offers full breakfasts & catered dinners on most nights, & have no self catering option whatsoever. In fact our welcome letter reiterates our policy of "no self catering, & no take out food"
We are pleased that you enjoyed the lodge sufficiently to extend your stay by 3 nights, but deeply saddened by your comments & rating of our lodge as we strive to give good personal service which appears to have been appreciated by the majority of our guests.John & Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
148
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were searching online for a unique and special destination to spend our honeymoon and came across Porcupine Pie. It looked like the perfect place to spend a few days relaxing after all the wedding stress was over. We checked Tripadvisor and after reading a few reviews, quickly realized we'd discovered an absolute gem. We immediately called to book our five day break and were fortunate enough to get the last available chalet. Although we were delayed getting to Wilderness and arrived after dark, one of our hosts John was ready to meet us and help us with our bags. The next morning we awoke to the most sensational view across the valley we'd driven through the night before. Breakfast was served in the communal dining area above the chalets, next to a pool overlooking the valley and surrounding forests. At breakfast we met Judy, John’s wife, and their two beautiful dogs, Storm and Panda. Both John and Judy were the most amazing hosts for the entire duration of our stay at Porcupine Pie, making suggestions of things we could do in the area and if they didn’t already know, finding out any information we were looking for. They recommended some activities and a few restaurants for lunch or dinner: we took their advice and each one was fantastic. We also had dinner at the lodge on two of the nights and the food was absolutely incredible: from fresh rolls to roast lamb to malva pudding, we were never disappointed. The facilities at Porcupine Pie are top shelf and we felt like we were living in complete luxury: our own personal sun deck overlooking the valley, a huge and comfortable king size bed and absolutely massive bath (also with amazing views). Overall, we couldn’t have chosen a better getaway to spend some quality time together as a newly married couple. We highly recommend Porcupine Pie as one of the rare jewels of the Garden Route.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Wow Steven. Thank you so much for that review. You have no idea what it means to Judy & I to get that type of feedback. All the best to both you & Mieka - hope to see you back here often, Warm regards, John & Judy (& Storm & Panda)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardinxveld-giessendam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at Porcupine Pie Boutique lodge during our last holiday to South Africa. It is without a doubt one of the best lodges we ever visited! Perfect location to relax and enjoy the area.

Great hospitality and brilliant service provided by John.

We wanted to stay longer! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Really beautiful place, service was brilliant, thanks john!! Only minor complaint, bed wasn't very comfortable, think it's time for a new one on that chalet. Other than that we had an awesome time tgere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. Hope to see you back soon. Warm regards,
John & Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Surely the best place on earth to go for honeymoon or just a break away from city life! Excellent food, very friendly service and beautiful views. Loved every minute. Experiencing God's beautiful creation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Willem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Willem & Nadine, Lovely having you here. Tks for great review, you are welcome back anytime!!
Warm regards,
John & Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited Porcupine Pie two years ago for our honeymoon and went back this year for our second anniversary. Both times were absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much to John and Judy for making our stay there magnificent!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MdeJonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Marieki, Lovely having you and Jan back for your anniversary. We hope you don't wait 2 years before coming back again! Warm regards, J & j
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Being nestled in a private cabin with a great view in the mountains and just a drive away from the ocean at the same time was an absolute amazing honeymoon. John and his wife are really great hosts and their food is wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Stefan & Elzaan, It was great having you here. Thanks for the excellent review, we look forward to having you back next year. Warm regards, john & Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.7 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#12 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge

Property: Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
Address: 10 Mile Lane | Wilderness Heights, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A custom Built getaway in the heart of the Garden Route coomprising three luxury secluded chalets and a central "lapa" with a cocktail bar, lounge and dining room. It is situated on a 17ha estate bordering on the Touw River and the Wilderness National Park. On the estate there are great walking & birding trails, with rock pools & waterfalls for swimming or picnicing. Far from the bustle, but close to all the Garden Route has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing