We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
Ranked #14 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Porcupine Pie was without doubt the nicest place I have ever stayed in. The hospitality, the views, the conversation with John as well as Judy's brilliant artwork - truly the most incredible place to stay on honeymoon. Awesome hiking trails to add some fitness in there too :) Full marks undoubtedly! Phil and Talia Hugo

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PH_Fill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was lovely having you here & hope we see you soon,
Warm regards,
John & Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Porcupine Pie during our honeymoon in South Africa in March this year. I've never stayed anywhere this awesome before. Just everything at Porcupine Pie is perfect - the accommodation, the views, the hospitality, John's amazing cooking. I really hope we'll be back one day. Thank you so much for having us. Zuzana and David

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzana1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

You were wonderful guests - we would love to have you back anytime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We recently stayed at Porcupine Pie and loved every minute of it. Everything was perfect from the start : the very warm welcome, the spacious and beautifully appointed bedroom, unsurpassed views, the large & comfortable lapa where we had our delicious breakfasts. If you are feeling energetic and can tear yourself away from the view, there is a lovely walking trail starting at the chalets.

John & Judy were exceptional hosts and offered several suggestions on things to do in the area plus provided us with the names of some very good restaurants. We had an excellent dinner at Porcupine Pie and another in the village of Wilderness which is a 15-20 minute drive.

We can't rate Porcupine Pie highly enough - we will be back.

B&S, Cape town

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We really try hard to listen to what our guests want & make sure their stay here exceeds their expectations. Thank you for this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What an experience! Looking for a place to get away from it all, we discovered this gem in the Southern Cape on the Garden Route near Wilderness, South Africa. It is difficult to distinguish between the magnificent views, overwhelming hospitality and the spaciousness and luxury of the accomodation. Situated amongst numerous sight seeing trips, this is just the place to also just sit back and forget about daily hustle and bustle. With John and Judy as your hosts, be prepared for a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: The furthest chalet offers the best views, that is if you do not mind 98 steps 😄
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you - it means so much to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved porcupine pie, it is a great get away and an awesome setting. The view is amazing and you find yourself staring into the valley.
On the bad side the road in and out is a bit much and tends to make you want to stay in rather than mission out on the road.
We also found the "self catering' to be sparsely catered for, but all amenities are on the property.
John and Judy where great host and we had great fun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Tim, Thank you for your review. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay here but were wish to respond to two of your comments. Firstly, yes the road had been compromised by the heavy rain experienced in the Garden Route while you were here, but it was still no problem for small hire cars to get in & out from the lodge - as experienced by yourselves on a daily basis. Secondly we are not surprised that you felt the self catering facilities were limited - we are a guest house that offers full breakfasts & catered dinners on most nights, & have no self catering option whatsoever. In fact our welcome letter reiterates our policy of "no self catering, & no take out food"
We are pleased that you enjoyed the lodge sufficiently to extend your stay by 3 nights, but deeply saddened by your comments & rating of our lodge as we strive to give good personal service which appears to have been appreciated by the majority of our guests.John & Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were searching online for a unique and special destination to spend our honeymoon and came across Porcupine Pie. It looked like the perfect place to spend a few days relaxing after all the wedding stress was over. We checked Tripadvisor and after reading a few reviews, quickly realized we'd discovered an absolute gem. We immediately called to book our five day break and were fortunate enough to get the last available chalet. Although we were delayed getting to Wilderness and arrived after dark, one of our hosts John was ready to meet us and help us with our bags. The next morning we awoke to the most sensational view across the valley we'd driven through the night before. Breakfast was served in the communal dining area above the chalets, next to a pool overlooking the valley and surrounding forests. At breakfast we met Judy, John’s wife, and their two beautiful dogs, Storm and Panda. Both John and Judy were the most amazing hosts for the entire duration of our stay at Porcupine Pie, making suggestions of things we could do in the area and if they didn’t already know, finding out any information we were looking for. They recommended some activities and a few restaurants for lunch or dinner: we took their advice and each one was fantastic. We also had dinner at the lodge on two of the nights and the food was absolutely incredible: from fresh rolls to roast lamb to malva pudding, we were never disappointed. The facilities at Porcupine Pie are top shelf and we felt like we were living in complete luxury: our own personal sun deck overlooking the valley, a huge and comfortable king size bed and absolutely massive bath (also with amazing views). Overall, we couldn’t have chosen a better getaway to spend some quality time together as a newly married couple. We highly recommend Porcupine Pie as one of the rare jewels of the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorcupinePie, Owner at Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Wow Steven. Thank you so much for that review. You have no idea what it means to Judy & I to get that type of feedback. All the best to both you & Mieka - hope to see you back here often, Warm regards, John & Judy (& Storm & Panda)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at Porcupine Pie Boutique lodge during our last holiday to South Africa. It is without a doubt one of the best lodges we ever visited! Perfect location to relax and enjoy the area.

Great hospitality and brilliant service provided by John.

We wanted to stay longer! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.8 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
713 reviews
1.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 59 in Wilderness
373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
14.8 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 23 in Sedgefield
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge

Address: 10 Mile Lane | Wilderness Heights, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £96 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A custom Built getaway in the heart of the Garden Route coomprising three luxury secluded chalets and a central "lapa" with a cocktail bar, lounge and dining room. It is situated on a 17ha estate bordering on the Touw River and the Wilderness National Park. On the estate there are great walking & birding trails, with rock pools & waterfalls for swimming or picnicing. Far from the bustle, but close to all the Garden Route has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing