We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great family accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #24 of 55 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Gauteng
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We spent 5 days at the Fairy Knowe Hotel over December 2011 in a wonderful river facing room. The room was large,airy and light with a nice balcony overlooking the river and nature reserve. Large variety at breakfast including fresh fruit and the breakfast buffet was constantly being replenished.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    164
    106
    42
    27
See reviews for
161
176
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Fairy Knowe Hotel was offering a weekend special and as we were wanting a break we decided to stay at the Fairy Knowe Hotel as it is a very well known hotel and lots of our friends spent their honeymoon there - albeit 30 years ago. Well, the furniture and decor has not changed in 30 years. The hotel was clean but our room was really awful - we had a river view room but it was so cold and dark that it was unpleasant to even sit in the room. I understand that it is winter - but it was just awful and depressing. The breakfast wasn't too bad on the first 2 mornings but the 3rd morning the eggs were slimy, the sausage tasted slightly off so I didn't eat it. The cheese was put out exactly as they had packed it away the previous morning because it was hard and had gone dark yellow. I think there were only about 2 other rooms occupied and I know why. Please do yourself a favour and don't spoil your weekend!

Room Tip: Try the Wilderness Protea Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 91808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desoscar, Owner at Fairy Knowe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
The complainant was accommodated in one of our riverside buildings which has Heritage status and is decorated accordingly.We offer different rooms with different decor and if the complainant advised that he was not comfotable,we could have offered alternative accommodation.,
Our hotel has a Three Star grading by The Tourism Grading Council.We also have long standing accreditation from the Automobile Association and we participate in the annual AA awards programme.In the Leisure Hotel category and .in the past three consecutive years we have been nominated semi-finalist and 2011 as FINALIST.These awards were achieved via guest questionaires and audited by AA.
We really do care and do our best to meet our Guest expectations.
Kind Regards
Bertram Dumbleton ( owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

My 5th stay at the hotel since Nov 1997 and always enjoyed my stay until the most recent one. Nothing has changed in 14 years! Bedrooms are OLD & depressing. Games Room was dirty. Service at the bar was non existent. Pool Q's old. Buffet breakfasts were weak and lacked variety! Dinners were good! Canoes & boats were good. Pool blue.
Hotel requires a much needed upgrade. I know there is lots of history aligned to this hotel but that should not stand in the way of this upgrade.
At this stage 3 stars is generous.

Room Tip: For a tranquil stay any riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenMorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Cosy and friendly hideaway amongst the woods. short distance to the beach, shops and national park activity centre by the river. Great bar and really good food.
The best staff and owners, so friendly and helpful. A truly great place to stay. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

The Fairy Knowe also has a backpackers hostel. It was spread out into different buildings on a large property. Was beautiful. The buildings were old with very steep staircases and creaking floors, but it was more charming than anything else because the bedrooms, washrooms and kitchen were immaculate. The bedding was all white and super clean and the beds were far above most backpackers standards. Very comfortable. It was similar rates to all the other (uncomfortable and noisy) backpackers we stayed in. The surrounding area was beautiful and natural. We did tons of walking and hiking and the beach was outstanding. We walked up the beach and were the only ones there at most points. It seemed so private. I loved this place.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlySue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

We spent 2 nights at this hotel over the 2008/2009 new year. The accommodations were described as 'luxury' riverside rooms, and they charged us accordingly, R1000 pn. Having stayed at 2 other 3* hotels in the previous few days at a much lower rate, we were expecting the luxury they advertised, but found the room (Nr 37) & bathroom sorely lacking! The decor was drab & depressing, dating to somewhere in the 1950's. The red carpet was stained, a heavy mouldy smell hung in the air, the pillows flat and the mattress very uncomfortable, also no duvet, just a blanket. There was no TV remote and management did not find us one after asking. The bath is also stained yellow and the shower did not work properly. While I am very happy to stay in 'old' / retro surroundings otherwise, the daily rate and 'luxurious' descriptions are very deceptive.
On the plus side, the inclusive breakfast buffet was very tasty and the gardens well kept. There are canoes and paddle boats which we enjoyed and the swimming pool is clean, view from the hotel is quite pretty.
Overall, I would probably have been happier to stay there at a lesser rate and if they did not describe the rooms as luxurious, for it certainly is not!

  • Liked — breakfast & scenery
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omnitravelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 34 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#26 of 55 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Property: Fairy Knowe Hotel
Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing