We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #22 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Cape Town
2 reviews
“good”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The room had a strong smell on arrival. Got better after a while. The Hotel was very short staffed and no service on the deck for eats or drinks. All the staff were really friendly and helpful especially Leeann.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maxine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    203
    131
    45
    33
See reviews for
190
211
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hi we decided to go on a family holiday with our kids to the garden route .We are from Capetown and during the festive the city is always bombarded with lots of visitors .What a excellent choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay .We booked our next holiday and will be looking forward spending another vacation at the fairy knowe resort .The deck is stunning ,however they need some more activities for the children and grown ups at night time, an upgrade was promised by managemnt,hopefully next summer it will all be in order .However the locals has invaded our space a bit,i feel that we as holidaymakers pay to use the facilities ,while the locals come in for free with their picnic bags and they don't support the bar.Management are very friendly however the rooms needs a bar fridge as well as fans as it can get very hot at night. Children should have a choice of continental or full breakfast as they don't eat so much .Good luck to the new management with all their future plans for this lovely and homely resort. Kind regards /mr and mrs Leibrandt untill we meet again December 2014 .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay with all the activities and fun things to do, it is a nice place to stay over for a nite or two, the room we were in does need an upgrade, its very stuffy in the room with its carpets and there is no air-conditioning or fans in the room as well, your nights sleep will be restless during hot days. Michael van Heerden Cape Town SA

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much, lovely breakfast and fun at the river and the service was friendly and the reception was great as prudunce made a great effort to welcome us and we had a lovely meal in wilderness and the kids enjoyed the canoe trip up the river

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

room not ready until 14:30-noisy-tiny tv-mildewed shower curtain-building & fittings in need of revamp-out of season rate of R280 allows overlooking of shortcomings-at R600 pp shortcomings glaringly obvious-parking should be designated

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Carpets dirty and bathroom filthy. Service at front desk poor. The decor in general needs an upgrade. The breakfast not too bad but lack some variety. Location is good. Lacks some night time entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ekat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Even though the hotel is in need of renovation, it's ridiculously inexpensive. Our children disappeared for the duration of our stay.... The tennis, pedal boats and canoes keep them very busy! The newly built deck is beautiful.The staff are very friendly and the a la carte menu is outstanding! Honestly one of the best steaks I have had in years! The calamari was also very delicious. I will be back over and over again even if it takes 5 hours from Ct.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 57 in Wilderness
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#3 of 36 in Wilderness
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#17 of 57 in Wilderness
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#12 of 57 in Wilderness
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Property: Fairy Knowe Hotel
Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing