We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotten”
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #22 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I would never stay at the Fairy Knowe again unless it upgraded. The place is way overdue for an upgrade. Its full of creature and spiders and stuff. Linen filthy. Needs to be properly cleaned. Rotten to

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Been going to the Fairy Knowe for the past 25 years and it justs gets better every time. Excellent value for money, superb staff and a lovely setting; relaxed atmosphere and left invigorated. Good to see the changes have not spoilt the atmosphere but has improved the pleasure of the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Can recommend to anyone. Its not the most modern hotel, but the stay was amazing. Realy felt at home from the very start. The service is great and the people are friendly and helpfull. Just a pitty we couldn't stay longer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank britcilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The stay at the Hotel was good and staff assisted us best they could,but the hotel was definitely not what we expected. It lacked a lot of what was advertised and that lead to a partially disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Fairy Knowe Hotel is an institution. It has been around for such a long time, that the "Wilderness" has actually grown up and expanded around it. Whenever I intend to stay there - I always look at it as though I am moving into a National Monument. The hotel is old, and has only been updated as and when required. It is not a modern boutique style establishment. But you don't go expecting that. It is rather a country inn, with very old buildings, dirt roads, and old looking rooms and bathrooms. But that is what is special about the place. You don't go to the Wilderness to stay locked up in your room. You look for a place to sleep and shower - and then explore your surroundings. The hotel is right on the banks of the Touws River, with stunning surrounds and views. Perfect for tennis, swimming, rowing, paddling, etc. It has recently upgraded a wooden deck overlooking the river, and installed an outside bar and cafe for lunches and dinners. Awesome! The pub in the main building could have been plucked from anywhere in the UK! The breakfasts are hearty and wonderful - with everything you could need. The service, from staff who are part of the furniture - is always excellent and everyone is smiling. It's 100% a family hotel and a gem for infants, toddlers and kids. Very much geared for catering for little ones and makes parents feel comfortable no matter how loud the scremaing kids, nor how much food is flung and drinks are spilled. We will be back, as we are every year for a getaway that is always relaxing in possibly the most beautiful place on earth.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Having stayed at the Fairy Knowe many years ago when I lived in Cape Town, It was a must on a return visit to let my wife see where I had come from. The hotel has grown some since then but retained its charm and character. We really enjoyed our stay. The only improvement I would suggest would be the installation of some air conditioners, the fan didn't quite cool us down enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Fairy Knowe is brilliantly situated for those who want an active holiday in the Garden Route. Beaches, Lagoons, Mountain Walks. Our chalet was right on the river and the hotel was very child friendly. The chalet could have done with a bit of moderization (duvet covers perhaps and a bathroom makeover) but everything was neat and clean. The canoes and boats on offer to guests were a bit below standard and there were no paddle boats in sight :( These are also no longer free for guests use which was not as per the website. But nevertheless we did have a great time and would most likely return because of the value for money received

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#23 of 59 in Wilderness
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#16 of 59 in Wilderness
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 40 in Wilderness
167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clairewood
Clairewood
#28 of 59 in Wilderness
47 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 59 in Wilderness
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £39 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing