We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #24 of 55 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Loved every moment of my stay! Merina and Inus was so friendly, they made our stay amazing. Always smiling. The building itself needs an upgrade, but definitely enjoyed every moment. The food was AMAZING! Will definitely return to this lovely establishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    164
    106
    42
    27
See reviews for
161
176
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

During our short stay, we had a loud, drunken party blasting away until 1am in the morning, with no hotel staff to control the louts smashing glasses outside our room. Ask about parties before you book!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

Bellville, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've been a guest at F K since February 2004 & have always enjoyed staying there.The service has been good.The rooms clean & comfortable. I just love being in nature & this is the ideal location for that. What a great place to relax!
Will keep coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Basil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Hotel rooms are in need of a revamp, but our stay was pleasant and we got a good night’s rest. The Breakfasts were awesome. The Staff and personal were friendly. Will be back again next year for the 2 Passes Rally.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The location is fantastic with a great pool, tennis court and views. The room was dirty with old decor and a broken chair, service was poor with staff giving blank stares, not able to give accurate information and generally unhelpful, our deposit got lost even though it was accurately referenced and paid to the account specified, I was bitten by four ticks next to the pool area (within 10 minutes) while I was looking after my 11 month old daughter who was also on the grass (luckily I did not contract tick bite fever) and they forgot to give us breakfast which we confirmed and reminded them about 3 times! Lastly they also decided to host a function at the venue which was held in the bar and pool area meaning at 5pm we no longer had access to the entertainment we had paid for. We were meant to go back again later in March but after such a poor experience we decided not to go back. It was heart breaking as the place has such amazing potential its just run without any care. Perhaps it needs a full revamp of both management and staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in this hotel (if we can call it like that) and the service was the worse I have ever experienced. Staff could have been friendlier and proactive, the waitress (not their fault) totally untrained. I would never suggest it to my worse enemy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I went to the hotel to have a family holiday what turned out into a 18 year old trance party.....100 18 year old drunk kids having a party at a family hotel??? Not my idea of a family hotel. I was very dissapointed and will never go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Ockie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 34 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#26 of 55 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 55 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Property: Fairy Knowe Hotel
Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing