We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honeymoon in the "WILDERNESS"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #24 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“honeymoon in the "WILDERNESS"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

hated this venue , as it did not resemble the internet photo's at all .Rooms we all stale nothing fresh about the environment , spider webs all over , curtains were dirty , Running water was not good when showering unless all other taps we closed and still the water was low in pressure
overall I wasted my money on got no honey on the Honeymoon , we booked for 2 night Groupon special but HAD TO CHECK OUT the very next day , too disgusted with the 3* rating , couldn't even answer Marina as to the reason for us checking out Saturday morning .......WHAT A WASTE , I see now on TRIPADVISOR many others had a similar experience I wish we had looked at this Advisory services before booking ........ Always used Tripadvisor for all other booking beforehand , just do it for this Particular one .. :(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank NaeemH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    170
    108
    44
    29
See reviews for
165
179
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Got a great deal at the Fairy know through City Slickers and had a very comfortable stay. The hotel is very old, but has a lot of character. Rooms were very comfortable and food was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 1971sarah-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We arrived quite late that Friday evening (around midnight) and after getting lost with the help of Google maps, we eventually found the hotel. There was no-one at reception and we found our keys in an envelope. We had to figure out where our chalet was in the dark since there is no layout map of the facility to help guests navigate. After almost 6 hours in a car, a note with some directions would've helped...
The chalet was neat and tidy, but one could see that it dates back to a VERY LONG TIME ago when floral curtains were still fashionable. The tube tv and the remote clearly dates back to that time period as well but the duct tape that held the remote together should’ve been a clue! Your "DSTV" channels included a whole of 4 to choose from and the SABC channels were not digital, i.e. snowy reception. Since rainy weather was a factor for a few days, TV was supposed to be an alternative. Luckily we brought DVD's and a laptop.
The beds were comfortable although the main bed only had a blanket and a cover sheet. I had to request a duvet since it was quite cold. I was given an additional blanket, not a duvet. So we used the spare single duvet from one of the bunk beds. The property is located in exquisite scenery: a beautiful lake which is a great backdrop for pictures. The row boats were anchored but since there were no ores and no-one around to ask about using them, we decided to play it safe. There are braai facilities but friends were told that they are not allowed to use the facilities. The pool provided some entertainment for the little ones but there was really nothing else outside to keep little hands and feet busy. Inside the hotel, the pool room had to make do as far as entertainment was concerned. The very friendly bartender who decided to stay open for us after his closing time, helped salvage our experience. The fire he built was thoroughly enjoyed as well.
The breakfast was very enjoyable and the staff were pleasant and friendly. They made you pretty much anything you wanted. Pity that our dinner experience was not so pleasant... the Eisbein I chose looked like someone forgot it in the oven! And maybe they did because it took AN HOUR for our food to arrive from the time we ordered it to the time they put it on the table. My husband's steak was in a lot better condition. We decided to skip our dinner voucher for the next night and look forward to breakfast on the last morning of our stay to end our experience on a positive note.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vossie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is located in a nice area and swimming facilities are good.
Rooms were ok with basic facilities.
However, the breakfast were not up to standard compared to other hotels we have been to for the same rates.
This is a lovely hotel which needs some TLC in order to make it what it once was.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carmen_van_Leeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our booking was incorrect, the room allocated was not what we discussed on the telephone. The service that we recieved in the diningroom at dinner was shocking, it took alomost an hour before a waiter attended to our table. The food that we ordered was poor to say the least. The hotel is in a poor condition overall and the diningroom is in desperate need of a makeover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I always enjoyed the summer stay at Fairy Knowe but find the winter a bit damp due to the proximity to the water. There are insufficient pluds and facilities for working of my laptop so have to bring my own extensions and work of the bed. The free wifi in the bar area is useful but would be more useful if extended to the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

A welcoming hotel with fab riverside room. Bathroom especially bath and shower need an upgrade. Good amenities and well situated. Service from top to bottom very good. Food and service at meal time outstanding. There was very little on offer for the lunch time meals but breakfast and dinner were superb. Great value for money and a great getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 35 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#20 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#17 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#26 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Property: Fairy Knowe Hotel
Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing