We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room in poor condition”
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #22 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I and my kid booked in after a 5 hour drive.Linen still wet on bed and the smell of wet paint still very obvious in the room . Basically everything old and warn, not what you would aspect from such a iconic establishment in Wilderness.
Hope someone does something about this before more potential guests and tourists gets a bad experience.
Riaan

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank riaanvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Fairy Knowe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was a nice place to stay. Decore could use some help. Cosy atmosphere with the fire place in the bar. Music selection in the resturant should be changed daily as i knew each song by the end of the day. i was surprised that there was no wine list available. Over all we had a pleasant enough stay with Fairy Knowe Hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Celeste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Fairy Knowe Backpackers is set in a lovely green area not far from the entrance to the Wilderness National Park and some nice hikes. The staff is helpful in recommending hikes and places to eat/shop. We had a nice large room, and utilized the shared bath facilities. There is a beautiful large outdoor bar, which is a great place to have a few beers and spend the evening. The downsides are that the place is starting to show its age, and the shared bathroom and kitchen facilities could use some upgrades and were not comparable to many other Backpackers we stayed in. Overall however this was a nice place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthgirlDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Fairy Knowe at the end of May 2014. We had been to Fairy Knowe many, many years ago, and were looking forward to our return. On our arrival, found staff to be unfriendly, food of poor standard, and no "uniformity" in the staff apparel. This is most unfortunately, as the location is absolutely fantastic.......

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful location. Most of the staff were friendly. But there was only 1 sheet, extremely thin blanket & large piece of fabric in lieu of bedspread - we almost froze! Towels seemed to be ancient. TV's power cable had exposed wire. We got scolded at 21:51 for not whispering while having a conversation outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The accodation was not quite what we expected, the website made it look much more luxurious than it actually was. But the room was spacious and everything we needed. The staff were friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

At first we got a place in the rondovals, after complaining we were upgraded. Very happy with the room and the views from the room. Food and staff were Good. Location was very good. We went paragliding which is just up the road.

Room Tip: Get upgraded its better.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diveena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#10 of 39 in Wilderness
164 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 57 in Wilderness
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
0.3 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#18 of 57 in Wilderness
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £41 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing