We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't praise this place enough!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't praise this place enough!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here on our way through to Plettenburg, and only wish we could have stayed longer. This place is the most stylish, luxurious, comfortable and UNIQUE boutique B & B we have ever experienced, and Gerald an JD are the most gracious and helpful hosts we met in South Africa! We were offered welcome drinks, and were told that, should we come back late in the evening when they were not around, to use their gorgeous lounge, and help ourselves to drinks, games, whatever we wished - there was a very expensive looking chess set, and even a snooker table in the next room! Our room was enormous with a sumptuous bed, and the breakfast was superb. Even as we left, they gave us leaflets and directions, and pointed out places to stop along the way...FAULTLESS! Thanks guys, we hope we will be back - and stay longer this time, perhaps taking that little boat trip across the water from your stunning place!!

Room Tip: They are all sure to be superb!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Wilderness Manor.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We try to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible and that they feel at home in our guest house.
We hope to see you back at Wilderness Manor and hopefully for a longer time when you stay with us again.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
320
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I believe that whoever thinks about running a guesthouse should stay with Gerald and JD for a while to learn what hospitality really means. They run a very stylish house with large common areas including a nicely decorated lounge and a billiard room. The breakfast is absolutely delicious and served in style - inside or outside. Besides welcome drinks Gerald and JD also organized a little get together with champagne for all guests. They make you feel incredibly welcome and can provide you with all possible information about the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTigers T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Wilderness Manor and the compliments that you paid to us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your return to Wilderness Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We spent 2 nights here on our honeymoon and absolutely fell in love with Wilderness. The guest house was superb, our room was huge and very luxurious with the most amazing views over the lagoon. Gerald and JD were like our adoptive parents for the time we were there- lending us bags and towels to take out with us and recommending places to eat and things to do. Breakfast was lovely- I particularly liked the home-made bran muffins! We were there on Christmas morning and they left a gift for us in our room which was very sweet. Very difficult to find any faults with this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your good review of Wilderness Manor.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and that you fell in love with Wilderness!
It is a wonderful area and we try to do it justice by being as hospitable hosts as possible.
It is always a pleasure for us when guests appreciate the smaller things we do to make their stay as comfortable as possible.
JD will be glad to hear that you enjoyed his home made bran muffins!
Our other guests enjoy the muffins as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We wish that we had stayed for more than 2 nights here, as Wilderness is great for visiting both Knysna and George. Gerald and JD are extremely welcoming hosts who recommended two excellent restaurants and directed us to the walks in the area. Location on the river creek is charming, with a boardwalk along the shore from outside. Walking distance to Wilderness, along a well lit road. Very comfortable rooms and lounges with views of the river and a glass of port or sherry. Could not have been better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for choosing Wilderness Manor as part of your stay in South Africa.
Wilderness is a great area to use as a base from which one can explore the Garden Route.
Wilderness is within an hour drive from all the major attractions like Oudtshoorn, Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, excepting for Tsitsikamma which is a bit further away from us.
We are glad to hear that you found our location charming and we are within an easy and safe walking distance to beaches, restaurants and village shops.
What a great way to end an evening with a glass of port of sherry, enjoyed in our guest lounge with views overlooking the lagoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We, a family of 4, spent 2 nights in Manor Guest House in Wilderness. The rooms were wonderful with an interior and fine touch for details that makes the rooms to an essential part of the stay. The rooms are large enough to spend the evenings in. However, the living rooms are also very nice and you will appreciate every moment there. The hosts, JD and Gerald, makes every effort to make your stay pleasant. They gave us good advices about what to do and where to dine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phrederic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your review of Wilderness Manor.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the rooms were comfortable and big enough.
Our lounge areas are also spacious and comfortable and it is great to hear that you made use of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frensham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

My brother and I had occasion to spend a night here in November 2011 on our way from the Western Cape to the Eastern Cape.
The guest house is immaculate and the hosts, JD and Gerald, were welcoming, friendly and ultra-efficient.
It costs a little more than nearby guest houses in Wilderness, but worth every penny.
I look forward to returning with my wife in the near future. i have promised her that it is an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Wilderness Manor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is a wonderful guest house, very cozy with large rooms and lots of ambience. The view from our room was fantastic – the lagoon is right across the street and it's an easy walk to the center of town and the ocean.

I've stayed at a different five star in Wilderness and found this inn just so much more welcoming and comfortable. The hosts, Gerald and JD, are very guest-focused and made our stay there a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious. Ours was on the top floor and faced the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZRHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your review of Wilderness Manor.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We try to make our guests as comfortable as possible.
Having been in the airline industry for 20+ years, we "go the extra mile" to ensure a wonderful stay for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Property: Wilderness Manor Guest House
Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing