We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utility hosts and splendid rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Luxurious room with big bathroom ware very tastefully furnished. I liked well stocked bar fridge and tea & cafe station. And a sofa lounge.
We loved our stay in Wilderness manor because the kindness of the hosts and their helpful attitude. The beautiful and huge lounges filled with books help you to relax. The hosts, they make us feel very warm and comfortable. They make reservation for us at the restaurants, Canopy-tour in Tsitsikamma National Park and help us to get Cango Caves .Manor has a beautiful garden and special birds flying around.
We had our anniversary 33 years of marriage and got like complimentary an bottle of champagne in our room,
Most kindly stay for us in our tour in SA. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

we spent 3 nights in that beautiful house facing a great panorama in a still place. the hosts are very special people: helpful and very nice. Thanks to them we enjoyed most our staying in wilderness. we do suggest that accommodation. to tell the truth it was the best B&B we have found during our traveling in South Africa mainly because the kindness of the hosts has been great. Delicious breakfast and great taste for everything.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emanuelaalberti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were staying in Plettenberg Bay and were going to be flying out of the George Airport and didn't want to be so far away for a morning flight. I researched and found Wilderness Manor which is about 20 - 25 min from the airport. How we enjoyed meeting Gerald & JD. We were welcomed with a glass of wine at check-in and sat and talked. We were given suggestions on what to do with the rest of our day and where to go for dinner, and reservations were made for us at "The Girls Restaurant" which was outstanding. Our room was large & very comfortable with a living room and deck with view of the river. Really NICE. Regretfully we were only there for one night. We wish we could have stayed longer. If we ever get back to S. Africa we would definitely stay here again and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KS66215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This Guest House is far better than any place you could ever stay in.This is the third time my husband and I have stayed there.This time we spent sixteen night in this absolutely gorgeous and luxurious home of the most fantastic people who run it Gerald and J.D. .It is run in the most professional way you could ever come across as well as being the most friendly and kind and generous and helpful of hosts they are also very helpful and kind people.It is a slice of paradise and if you do not spend some time there then you don't know what you are missing.Luxurious rooms with huge bathrooms all very tastefully done.Well stocked bar fridge,who could want more?Well there is more,the beautiful and huge lounges filled with books and everything to help you to relax away from home.In fact they make you feel as if it is your home and very warm and comfortable.One other thing to remember is the fantastic breakfasts you get every morning cooked to your own liking and to perfection as much or as little as you would like and the perfect way to start every day off beautifully.It would take me too long to say how much more there is about this wonderful Guest House set in the beautiful Wilderness We will certainly b going back in a few months to relax yet again .There are plenty of lovely places to visit there and it's a worthwhile trip.
Well done to Gerald and J.d. You do a wonderful job!!!!! FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lagoon are our choice and for seeing beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 910Christine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Normal run of events I haven't the time to write reviews. These guys deserve it.

Suffice to say Wilderness Manor is a must. Wilderness and it's surrounds are lovely but Gerald and J D go out of their way to ensure a five star experience! Listen carefully to their recommendations we did and optimised our short stay.

The house is out of this world. Nikki & Pat

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glendyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We cannot express highly enough how wonderful this guest house is and how marvellous Gerald and JD are. We felt like guests in their home and both could not do enough to make us welcome and helping organise our outings. The accommodation is second to none, spotlessly clean extremely comfortable very spacious and superbly decorated with fantastic views. A great location for exploring the area. There are numerous restaurants nearby for evening meals. We wished we had stayed longer. Thank you so much to Gerald and JD for making our stay so marvellous

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubiesTorbayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A wonderful stay in a beautiful location! The service and hospitality were above and beyond anything we have experienced! The owners make sure you have everything and all the information to make your visit exceptional. You feel like one of the family. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms have everything for a luxurious stay. Breakfasts were very nice and delicious. Strongly recommend this place with the best hospitality ever!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1AprincessS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 59 in Wilderness
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#9 of 59 in Wilderness
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £60 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing