We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic guest house run by two equally great guys”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic guest house run by two equally great guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wilderness Manor is a beautifully presented property, inside and outside, in a delightfully quiet and picturesque location. Gerald and JD are the perfect hosts, who independently, and very kindly, arranged a dinner appointment for us at The Girls (which was great) when we were late arriving, and then further adjusting the booking so that we didn't have to rush. Even though we were late, they sat us down with a drink and immediately relaxed us into the Wilderness pace of life, ensuring that we would enjoy our stay right from the outset. Breakfast was brilliant in lovely surroundings and Gerald and JD couldn't have been more helpful in providing guidance and advice in terms of places to visit and routes to take. We loved our stay and our only complaint is that it was too short!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
320
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This incredible home is somewhere that you just have to stay if you're travelling along the Garden Route. Gerald and JD were the consummate hosts, and we were sad to say goodbye the minute that we left. The house is luxury personified and we were so well looked after we felt like family. The breakfasts were incredible and the views spectacular - we honestly can't rate Wilderness Manor any higher! As for Wilderness itself, WOW. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is our fourth trip to SA and we have been very fortunate to stay in some superb accommodation over the years but none would rank as highly as Wilderness Manor. There is so much to commend but for a start he we go:-

The location - Wilderness is just fabulous - great views, lovely beaches, some super restaurants (see review of The Girls), fairly quiet and 100% safe.

The accommodation - spacious, comfortable and so tastefully presented that we have been taking photos to use as inspiration for when we get home.....

The hosts - Gerald and JD treat their guests like royalty and set the standard for customer care - useful tip - if either of the owners express an opinion or make a recommendation then you will be well advised to act upon it as on each occasion that we did, it improved the quality of our stay - a great example being JD's suggestion of a more enjoyable route back to Cape Town - stunning views.

The food - as you would expect, a super breakfast with both cold & cooked courses - useful tip 2 - try the muesli.

The welcome - Maxwell & Maggie (the lovely labradors) do a great job in supporting Gerald & JD.

As you can tell we loved the experience and cannot recommend Wilderness Manor highly enough - simply wonderful. You need to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you want immaculate accommodations bordering a pristine wildlife area that is a lovely boardwalk into town, you have found it! I enjoyed lovely early morning walks on the boardwalk along the lagoon to the ocean. Then, we were served a delicious, hot breakfast. The factor that makes Wildness Manor stand out is the knowledge of the area and support given by the owners. Their ability to facilitate mountain biking arrangements "at the drop of a hat" (my husband is still talking about it), to giving detailed directions on local hiking areas allowed us to make the most of of 3 days stay there. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were 3 couples traveling together. All room were great. All rooms were quiet with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

From our first 'hello' to our final 'goodbye', our hosts Gerald & JD ensured we were treated like VIPs in their beautiful home. A tranquil & beautiful setting to enjoy this spectacular part of the Garden Route. We long to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are a good size & beautifully appointed. There is a choice of a garden view, but most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beitanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
king's lynn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just as good as we had been told. Breakfast on the verandah watching the sunbirds feeding, while we enjoyed our wonderful food. Spacious bedroom, bathroom, and private lounge and balcony looking over the lagoon. And then those enormous visitors' lounges with so much of interest to read or items to look at from all over the world. Shame that we couldn't find an opportunity to challenge Gerald or JD at their lovely snooker table.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Well, let's describe our stay.
Wilderness is not the place for a dip in the sea! Victoria Bay 10 minutes away is good for that.
Wilderness IS the place to stay for village living, good nature walks and the opportunity to stay at Wilderness Manor.
Exceptionally well run with large rooms and bathrooms, excellent breakfasts and local knowledge expounded by the hosts.
An excellent stay!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chispeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Property: Wilderness Manor Guest House
Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing