We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay on the Garden Route!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is the best place you can stay along the Garden Route! Gerald and JD were amazing hosts and the stay at Wilderness Manor was one of the highlights of our trip. They were absolutely delightful people to be around, and the hospitality we received for the three nights stay was unbelievable.

We stayed at the lagoon facing room on the top floor, and we would like to say that the room was impeccably decorated and always extremely clean. After a perfect rest every night, you will be greeted with a delicious cold & hot breakfast served in the dining room by Gerald & JD.

Gerald will then assist you in planning your itinerary for the days you are staying in Wilderness. We followed every advice given by Gerald and every activity lived up to their expectations: weekend market at Sedgefield (great crafts and food market), the hike to the waterfall near the Manor, Map of Africa, the heads, the crags, 34 Degrees South at Knysna, some of the Oudtshoorn sights etc etc. Even on our last day, they advised for us to drive through the Klein Karoo and the Winelands back to Cape Town, rather than take the rather boring N2. It was extremely good advice as we thoroughly enjoyed the drive. Our advice for those new to the area would be to follow Gerald's advice, as he has a great understanding of the area and the sights that are worth visiting.

During our stay, Gerald and JD would always check to confirm that we had a place to go for our lunch and dinner, which was exceptionally sweet of them. They will book and confirm dinner reservations to ensure all of our meals are being taken care of. Surprisingly, they would go out of the way to tell almost everyone in the village that we were on our honeymoon. Every restaurant we went to would congratulate us, either verbally or with a card, and it was a nice surprise to receive such a personalized experience everywhere we went in the village.

Lastly, the area around Wilderness Manor is beautiful and the boardwalk across the road makes a nice activity before dinner.

The only issue we had was with the sign that says FOUR STARS. How such a well-run B&B with exceptional hospitality were given only four stars was beyond us. If you want an enjoyable stay along the Garden Route, Wilderness Manor would be the best option for you!

Andrew & Grace
Singapore

Room Tip: Lagoon facing room was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Immediately upon arrival we were greeted by the owners and given a tour throughout. The owners solved any issue we had an were on site the entire time we were there. They gave us insight on the area; places to visit, roads to take, where to eat. The house is just a short drive into Wilderness and had a BEAUTIFUL view of the lagoon. The room I stayed in was beyond words. I am a 22 year old college student and felt like I was on my honeymoon alone! The breakfast too was vast and above anything i would've expected. I would definitely suggest this bed and breakfast to anyone traveling in South Africa and would choose to stay here in a heartbeat if i ever get a chance to visit again.

Room Tip: The only thing to complain about is the lack of wi-fi within the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely personal guest house. Gerald & JD were very friendly, full of useful local advice. Lots of maps and advice on hand. Helped booking restaurants and activities. Beautiful breakfast, amazing room with huge bathroom. Great view over the lagoon. Fantastic recommendation for dinner at 'The girls'. Definitely recommend, although only a small guest house with only 4 rooms service surpassed service at larger hotels. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank faye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It was a shame we only stayed in Wilderness for 1 night - we could have stayed for so much longer. Gerald and JD are fantastic hosts, they couldn't do enough for us and the B&B itself is amazing. Fantastic attention to detail to throughout.

Maxwell and Maggie the golden labs are gorgeous too so if you're missing your own pooches then they make for great attention.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pageland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Recently stayed for 4 nights at at Wilderness Manor and had a fabulous stay. Gerald and JD are welcoming and set out to ensure that your time in Wilderness and the surrounding areas is both relaxing and time well spent. We acted on the advice given in terms of restaurants and suggested outings, which ranged from canoeing in local river and walking to the waterfall, to driving over the Swartberg Pass, and were not disappointed. The Manor house is very comfortable with rooms overlooking the lagoon. We stayed in March and the rooms were cool and airy; we were able to sleep with windows open with no problems; the shower in room 3 needs some attention as difficult to regulate but once we go the knack it was fine. Wilderness is itself a beautiful location and provides a good base for exploring other areas along this section of the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wilderness Manor is a beautifully presented property, inside and outside, in a delightfully quiet and picturesque location. Gerald and JD are the perfect hosts, who independently, and very kindly, arranged a dinner appointment for us at The Girls (which was great) when we were late arriving, and then further adjusting the booking so that we didn't have to rush. Even though we were late, they sat us down with a drink and immediately relaxed us into the Wilderness pace of life, ensuring that we would enjoy our stay right from the outset. Breakfast was brilliant in lovely surroundings and Gerald and JD couldn't have been more helpful in providing guidance and advice in terms of places to visit and routes to take. We loved our stay and our only complaint is that it was too short!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This incredible home is somewhere that you just have to stay if you're travelling along the Garden Route. Gerald and JD were the consummate hosts, and we were sad to say goodbye the minute that we left. The house is luxury personified and we were so well looked after we felt like family. The breakfasts were incredible and the views spectacular - we honestly can't rate Wilderness Manor any higher! As for Wilderness itself, WOW. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 59 in Wilderness
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing