We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 5* B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent 5* B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night, on our drive through SA, and it was such a treat! The owners Gerald and JD are really amazing, very charming and with a wonderful hospitality. The welcome we got was unique, so friendly and personal, we loved it! We were very happy with all the information and tips we got, very usefull. The house (or actually: manor) is just perfect with stunning decor, grand yet cosy, and it's all neat and clean. The rooms are very spacious and with a beautifull bathroom and very comfy bed. The environment is beautiful, lots of birds as well, very charming surroundings.
The breakfast was amazing! This place is just perfect, it was a pitty we couldn't stay here longer, and we would love to come back soon!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fem020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
320
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed one night on our way back to Cape Town and from the moment we arrived until we left both Gerald and JD could not do enough for us from telling us about places to visit to the best restaurants.
The house is very nice and everything you could ask for is at hand.
Sorry we could not have stayed longer

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lagoon with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, early May in a luxury, lagoon facing, upper floor room (No 4)
We can but confirm everything good that has been written regarding this Guest House
Wonderful welcome from Gerald and JD. Tea on arrival then to our huge but friendly room, overlooking the lagoon with a long balcony and equally large bathroom. Everything one could want including large very comfortable bed (which was turned down every evening)with electric blanket, slippers and dressing gowns, safe and fridge. Good TV with all sports channels. Perhaps the shower lacked little power but that is being picky. The entire house is pristine clean and immaculately maintained.
Our hosts had reserved a local restaurant for us (being Sunday evening) and we had an excellent meal at 'The Girls'. Only 2/3 min's by car into town. Complimentary wine/port in the lounge when we returned before an excellent nights sleep.
Breakfast left nothing to be desired. The cold 'help yourself' table was an array of beautifully prepared and presented items and our hosts then prepared a cooked to order (no pre cooking) hot breakfast which was wonderful. All of this looking out onto a garden full of birds.
JD and Gerald are very natural, hospitable gentlemen. They make you feel very welcome and look to help and assist you in every way possible.
We have stayed in Wilderness in previous years and will do so again - at Wilderness Manor.
Wilderness itself is a village with good eating options and a good choice of essential shops for most requirements. It is also renowned as being an excellent birding centre and we can certainly vouch for that.
Hospitality in South Africa is generally very good but Wilderness Manor takes this to another level.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at Wilderness Manor to break our trip from Cape Town to the Eastern Cape.......the Wilderness is a great place to make that stop as it is peaceful and not heavily commercialised. We chose Wilderness Manor after visiting Tripadvisor reviews and we are very happy to add our very positive comments to the host of those already displayed on Tripadvisor. Two great hosts who are always concerned that your visit is memorable in every respect, a very comfortable and well appointed suite with great views of the lagoon and the sea in the distance, an exceptional breakfast which was modified to accommodate my difficult diet, and the entire establishment is spotlessly clean. We enjoyed 2 great dinners at The Girls and Flava. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is the best place you can stay along the Garden Route! Gerald and JD were amazing hosts and the stay at Wilderness Manor was one of the highlights of our trip. They were absolutely delightful people to be around, and the hospitality we received for the three nights stay was unbelievable.

We stayed at the lagoon facing room on the top floor, and we would like to say that the room was impeccably decorated and always extremely clean. After a perfect rest every night, you will be greeted with a delicious cold & hot breakfast served in the dining room by Gerald & JD.

Gerald will then assist you in planning your itinerary for the days you are staying in Wilderness. We followed every advice given by Gerald and every activity lived up to their expectations: weekend market at Sedgefield (great crafts and food market), the hike to the waterfall near the Manor, Map of Africa, the heads, the crags, 34 Degrees South at Knysna, some of the Oudtshoorn sights etc etc. Even on our last day, they advised for us to drive through the Klein Karoo and the Winelands back to Cape Town, rather than take the rather boring N2. It was extremely good advice as we thoroughly enjoyed the drive. Our advice for those new to the area would be to follow Gerald's advice, as he has a great understanding of the area and the sights that are worth visiting.

During our stay, Gerald and JD would always check to confirm that we had a place to go for our lunch and dinner, which was exceptionally sweet of them. They will book and confirm dinner reservations to ensure all of our meals are being taken care of. Surprisingly, they would go out of the way to tell almost everyone in the village that we were on our honeymoon. Every restaurant we went to would congratulate us, either verbally or with a card, and it was a nice surprise to receive such a personalized experience everywhere we went in the village.

Lastly, the area around Wilderness Manor is beautiful and the boardwalk across the road makes a nice activity before dinner.

The only issue we had was with the sign that says FOUR STARS. How such a well-run B&B with exceptional hospitality were given only four stars was beyond us. If you want an enjoyable stay along the Garden Route, Wilderness Manor would be the best option for you!

Andrew & Grace
Singapore

Room Tip: Lagoon facing room was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Immediately upon arrival we were greeted by the owners and given a tour throughout. The owners solved any issue we had an were on site the entire time we were there. They gave us insight on the area; places to visit, roads to take, where to eat. The house is just a short drive into Wilderness and had a BEAUTIFUL view of the lagoon. The room I stayed in was beyond words. I am a 22 year old college student and felt like I was on my honeymoon alone! The breakfast too was vast and above anything i would've expected. I would definitely suggest this bed and breakfast to anyone traveling in South Africa and would choose to stay here in a heartbeat if i ever get a chance to visit again.

Room Tip: The only thing to complain about is the lack of wi-fi within the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely personal guest house. Gerald & JD were very friendly, full of useful local advice. Lots of maps and advice on hand. Helped booking restaurants and activities. Beautiful breakfast, amazing room with huge bathroom. Great view over the lagoon. Fantastic recommendation for dinner at 'The girls'. Definitely recommend, although only a small guest house with only 4 rooms service surpassed service at larger hotels. Would definitely go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank faye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Property: Wilderness Manor Guest House
Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing