We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sea view and luxurious surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
Ranked #44 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful sea view and luxurious surroundings”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I went to Whalesway for a weekend getaway to escape city life. It was indeed a great experience. The rooms are tranquil and plush. I loved the linen and towels. The host is very friendly, even though I broke the key to my room! They serve a delicious breakfast (and the chef is nice too).

But the sea view from my bed and the veranda were the most spectacular part of my stay. The beach is just a few steps and stairs away.

I would anytime visit Whalesway again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Blue room but for a couple the penthouse is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    12
    2
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We went to Whale's Way for the first part of our honeymoon and stayed in the Ocean suite. When we walked into the suite, my wife couldn't believe her eyes and hugged me and jumped up and down at the same time. The suite is breath taking with a view of the ocean from the bed and a view of trees from the jacuzzi bath. The room is very spacious with a huge bed, large jacuzzi bath and two basins. It also has a standard shower, toilet, fridge, walk-in cupboard area and lounging area. The whole suite is one large room with only the toilet enclosed separately. There is a vast range of delicious food to choose from for breakfast.

The beach is within walking distance, although quite a few steps down (and up again). It is also close to many other activities and tourist attractions.

The owner, Dedrei, is very accommodating and extremely helpful, with lots of knowledge of the area and activities. The special treats after a day out was a lovely touch which we really appreciate.

We stayed for 4 nights, but felt that is was still too short.

This was truly a magical experience, and I would recommend this to anybody wanting to explore the garden route region or just relax in the most beautiful setting.

Room Tip: The ocean suite is excellent as honeymoon accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Lovely house on the cliffs with a great view of the sea! Very friendly staff and a polite and helpful host. Excellent breakfast on the magnificent terrace. Unfortunately we were there at the wrong time of the year for whale watching.

Room Tip: The room under the roof is great!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank heike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Whale's Way is set high up on a bluff overlooking the Ocean in Wilderness. There are 4 rooms and we saw 3 of them and all seemed very well done. The more expensive rooms are larger and on the upper floor of the B&B so they have more to view, but the lower room on the main floor we had was more than suitable, although it is not terribly private if you have the sliding doors open and the curtains opened. The breakfast was good and filling. The B&B hostess (not the owner) was very helpful and friendly and set us up for dinner at a very good restaurant.

Room Tip: Upper rooms (2) - better view, more private. Room on main floor was fine. Room on lower floor has no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72kingscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just beautiful!! Location is high up with spectacular views of the sea, and the house itself is beautiful. What topped it off though was the hospitality of Deidre and the guy (sorry can’t remember name!) they were friendly, helpful, informative and go out of their way to assist you. On Valentines day we were given a glass of champagne at breakfast on the decking in the sunshine overlooking the sea – perfect! Then we were given a single rose – amazing gesture! This was one of our favourite stays – really loved it here. P.s. we recommend serendipity for dinner, 5 course fine dining for reasonable cost, again this was organised for us by Deidre. Only negative, we only had one night here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We only stayed for one night in Whales Way and really wanted to stay longer. We had booked the Sky Penthouse Suite but had been upgraded to the Ocean View Suite which was just stunning. The room was enormous with amazing views from the floor to ceiling windows, the ocean at one end and the mountains at the other. The room was all white with a big jacuzzi bath at one end. It had a really lovely calming feeling to it which was most welcome on our travels. Across the road are steps down to a stunning beach which was deserted when we were there.
The hospitality of our host, Andre, was second to none. You could clearly see that he really wanted all his guests to enjoy their stay and even dropped us at the restaurant we had booked and came and fetched us when we had finished our evening which was really kind of him...thank you Andre.
The food was lovely too and again all the staff went out of their way to ensure you got everything you needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryd
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We enjoyed a lovely stay here .

The location is beautiful right on the coast with amazing ocean views. A short stroll from the hotel is some step leading down to a gorgeous beach, that was completely free of people when we went which was just amazing

The room was beautiful and the bed was soo comfortable. The breakfast was superb.

Deirdre and her husband make the perfect hosts, providing all the information you need and providing a very personal touch.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marydMaryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#6 of 57 in Wilderness
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#16 of 57 in Wilderness
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#48 of 57 in Wilderness
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
2.5 mi away
Sea Paradise
Sea Paradise
#31 of 57 in Wilderness
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale's Way Ocean Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale's Way Ocean Retreat

Property: Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
Address: 858 6th Avenue, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale's Way Ocean Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale's Way is a stunning ocean-front retreat where you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Enjoy the spectacular ocean and mountain views and watch whales and dolphins from your bedroom. Most of the rooms have ocean views, TV, DVD and CD player. The style is light and open-plan with a natural elegance. The Penthouse rooms are particularly luxurious and decadent, perfect for those who appreciate the best of everything. Relax in the jacuzzi overlooking the Indian Ocean, walk along the deserted beach, enjoy a breathtaking sunset and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Many fine golf courses nearby. Close proximity to activities such as canoeing, paragliding, horse riding and more. Award-winning restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Whale's Way Ocean Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing