We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked....and we are not the first ones....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
Ranked #44 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overbooked....and we are not the first ones....”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Overbooking seems to be a serious issue in this establishment (see other ratings) - we booked the prime suite, which we were informed at the time of arrival (!) was occupied due to overbooking. Guess this was already known before we arrived however no notice from establishment - for the price you're paying here this is an absolut NO-GO!!! It seemed to us that commercial aspects of getting all rooms filled is above everything else in this B&B.
Interieur of the room was very basic, the carpet made us feel uncomfortable, any issues with allergies you would not want to be in such place...
Definitively a place we do not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eckart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    12
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
8
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, unfortunately the little appartment downstairs wasn't completely what we expected. A little on the expensive side for what you get. Anna, the extremely friendly and nice lady made our stay! The location is great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murmelili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were promised( by means of Booking.com) a room with an ocean view, balcony , and wifi.
What we got was a room too small even to accomodate a single chair. It was named Beach room and on the ground floor so, obviously, it didn't have a balcony. Unfortunately, it didn't have a seaview either, just a fence 2 metres from our window. Nor did the room have a wifi facility and when we enquired about that, the response was: "is that important?".
All in all a thouroughly over-priced and disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Don't use the beach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lubbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We visited Whales Way with some friends of ours and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The view overlooking the cliff onto the ocean was breathtaking. Location wise this place is a dream. It is not far from some good restaurants. Our hosts were so awesome putting in some specially made sandwiches for us as we left before breakfast both mornings. I would definitely recommend this place as the view alone makes it worthwile, not to mention the private beach with the amazing cliffs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reagan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I went to Whalesway for a weekend getaway to escape city life. It was indeed a great experience. The rooms are tranquil and plush. I loved the linen and towels. The host is very friendly, even though I broke the key to my room! They serve a delicious breakfast (and the chef is nice too).

But the sea view from my bed and the veranda were the most spectacular part of my stay. The beach is just a few steps and stairs away.

I would anytime visit Whalesway again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Blue room but for a couple the penthouse is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We went to Whale's Way for the first part of our honeymoon and stayed in the Ocean suite. When we walked into the suite, my wife couldn't believe her eyes and hugged me and jumped up and down at the same time. The suite is breath taking with a view of the ocean from the bed and a view of trees from the jacuzzi bath. The room is very spacious with a huge bed, large jacuzzi bath and two basins. It also has a standard shower, toilet, fridge, walk-in cupboard area and lounging area. The whole suite is one large room with only the toilet enclosed separately. There is a vast range of delicious food to choose from for breakfast.

The beach is within walking distance, although quite a few steps down (and up again). It is also close to many other activities and tourist attractions.

The owner, Dedrei, is very accommodating and extremely helpful, with lots of knowledge of the area and activities. The special treats after a day out was a lovely touch which we really appreciate.

We stayed for 4 nights, but felt that is was still too short.

This was truly a magical experience, and I would recommend this to anybody wanting to explore the garden route region or just relax in the most beautiful setting.

Room Tip: The ocean suite is excellent as honeymoon accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Lovely house on the cliffs with a great view of the sea! Very friendly staff and a polite and helpful host. Excellent breakfast on the magnificent terrace. Unfortunately we were there at the wrong time of the year for whale watching.

Room Tip: The room under the roof is great!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank heike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#48 of 56 in Wilderness
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
0.0 mi away
Shining Waters
Shining Waters
#26 of 56 in Wilderness
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#8 of 56 in Wilderness
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale's Way Ocean Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale's Way Ocean Retreat

Property: Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
Address: 858 6th Avenue, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale's Way Ocean Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale's Way is a stunning ocean-front retreat where you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Enjoy the spectacular ocean and mountain views and watch whales and dolphins from your bedroom. Most of the rooms have ocean views, TV, DVD and CD player. The style is light and open-plan with a natural elegance. The Penthouse rooms are particularly luxurious and decadent, perfect for those who appreciate the best of everything. Relax in the jacuzzi overlooking the Indian Ocean, walk along the deserted beach, enjoy a breathtaking sunset and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Many fine golf courses nearby. Close proximity to activities such as canoeing, paragliding, horse riding and more. Award-winning restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whale's Way Ocean Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing