We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pine Lodge George(George)(Great Value!)
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
70
12
2
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
12
2
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathb bstunning roomgarden routestayed for nightsthe penthousesound of the waveslarge rooma wonderful staywonderful locationcooked breakfastguest houseyogurtwhaleshostessbalconyviews
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Wonderful location. The house is situated on high cliff , amazing ocean view specially from balcony where the breakfast is served. However there are several steps down to the beach it is absolutely worth to walk downstairs and admire kilometer beach. If you can choose take a room upstairs, the huge room with view ocean on one side and mountains on the other is just wonderful.
Anne was very nice as the host.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ewa_gr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

What a fantastic room! Simply huge, bright with windows at both ends of the room with views either of the ocean on one side or the mountains on the other. You needed GPS just to find your way from one end of the room to the other!

The property is high above the beach, there are some steps down, but it is steep. It was strange to see the paragliders go past at head level!

Because we had eaten a late lunch, we decided not to go out, but to enjoy our wonderful room, watch a movie (there was a DVD player) drink some wine and listen to the waves from the ocean below. What a great nights sleep in an enormous bed!

Breakfast was served on a balcony overlooking the ocean, wonderful!

Anne and Andre were lovely hosts and have a wealth of knowledge of their local area and keen to hear of places we had visited so they could recommend them to other guests.

We sadly only stayed a single night here, but wished we had stayed longer. The room was so comfortable and well equipped. Anne, thank you for making our short stay so memorable. We loved your property and look forward to returning for a longer stay next year.

We booked the Sky Penthouse Suite direct via the owner's website. On reading some of the other more recent comments, I having stayed at a number of guest house over the last couple of years, booking direct with the owners is by far the best way to book. Most now have real-time secure booking. I usually follow up with either an email or quick call. We have met a number of property owners that have had disappointed visitors due to guests booking via some of the large online booking services and then accommodation not being available on arrival. Indeed once we booked a place via Booking.com and then found did not take credit cards (very difficult as it was in the middle of nowhere and we had to get cash). They owners were not even sure they had signed up for the service! Another place emailed my credit card details to the owner - not at all secure, so use those services with care! Book direct and avoid being disappointed.

Room Tip: Ocean or Sky Penhouses are simply amazing.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Overbooking seems to be a serious issue in this establishment (see other ratings) - we booked the prime suite, which we were informed at the time of arrival (!) was occupied due to overbooking. Guess this was already known before we arrived however no notice from establishment - for the price you're paying here this is an absolut NO-GO!!! It seemed to us that commercial aspects of getting all rooms filled is above everything else in this B&B.
Interieur of the room was very basic, the carpet made us feel uncomfortable, any issues with allergies you would not want to be in such place...
Definitively a place we do not recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eckart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, unfortunately the little appartment downstairs wasn't completely what we expected. A little on the expensive side for what you get. Anna, the extremely friendly and nice lady made our stay! The location is great!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murmelili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were promised( by means of Booking.com) a room with an ocean view, balcony , and wifi.
What we got was a room too small even to accomodate a single chair. It was named Beach room and on the ground floor so, obviously, it didn't have a balcony. Unfortunately, it didn't have a seaview either, just a fence 2 metres from our window. Nor did the room have a wifi facility and when we enquired about that, the response was: "is that important?".
All in all a thouroughly over-priced and disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Don't use the beach room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lubbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews