We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
Ranked #34 of 58 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Reluctant as I am to add my dissenting voice to the chorus of praise for this guest house, I fear that I must record our experience. Although both the room we stayed in and the bathroom were spacious and well appointed, the breakfast was a disappointment. The fruit platter was meager, consisting of a couple of grapes cut un quarters, a few slices of banana sprinkled with desiccated coconut and one strawberry. The bread rolls were tasteless, the bacon mostly fat and the cheese processed (one slice each). The Belgian owners have yet to master the art of making either tea or hot chocolate since their version of both drinks consists of a cup of lukewarm water with, on the side, a tea bag or jar of powdered stuff mascarading as chocolate.

Room Tip: The Hadida Ibis room, although fine, has the disadvantage of its main window facing the garden and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bournan37240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Lovely location facing the lagoon and off the main road, make this a peaceful guest house to hang your hat. A well tended and lush garden greets you, along with the owners friendly collie dog!

We chose the Hadida Ibis room, which was very spacious and came with a large bathroom, king size bed and view over the deck and pool, although as they were quiet, we had an opportunity to check out all of the rooms, and each one was very tasteful.

Breakfast was very nice and cooked to order, and there was a comfortable lounge in the house that was available to relax in.

The village of Wilderness is a ten minute walk away, and we had dinner at The Girls restaurant which was excellent and we highly recommend.

We were very happy to have chosen this guest house to spend the last two nights of our wonderful holiday in South Africa.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Vancana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

A beautiful setting and wonderful room - the Sun Bird. We were made very welcome by the owner and her collie dog, Bill. Lovely views over the lagoon and only a short walk into the village where there are good restaurants and bars. They could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Our room was amazing - huge and delightfully furnished. We will be returning and will stay for longer next time.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the little extra for the Sun Bird in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manorfarmnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We were given the address of Waterside Lodge by the local travel bureau in Wilderness together with a choice of others which were more expensivef and didn't look as nice.
We were certainly not disappointed.
Nora greeted us with friendliness and enthusiasm and we had a choice of a number of rooms, all of which were exccellent, but we chose one with a verandah immediately outside our door, and next to the swimming pool; reallyit was the first among equals, but as i wasn't feeling too good on that day, there wasn't too much effort involved in doing anything at all!
Both Nora and Bert were generous with their time, once Bert was able to pull himself away from creating the most wonderfully complex jigsaws which adorn the walls of the immaculately clean house.
Breakfast was delightful and plentiful and served whenever we requested it.
We really do recommend heartily, the Waterside Lodge and suggest that to save time, money and effort, you look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryJohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Upon our arrival we received a free upgrade for the honeymoon lodge. The owner, a lovely Belgian woman, just checked us in the very big lodge with a huge bathroom and served us two cold beers on our porch. We settled in easily and enjoyed the service and hospitality. She arranged dinner at Serendepity for us which is a great place to go and eat in Wilderness. The guesthouse and especially the Honeymoon Lodge is beautifully decorated. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

do not rush by this b&b otherwise you will miss a warm greating from Nora & Bert,and forgo a chance to wind down in a quiet backwater (literally) and some interesting walks which is a haven for bird lovers.
Nora does a wonderful breakfast to start your day and for the evening there are a good mix of eating places within close proximity
Our second stay was just as good and 3 nights are easy to fill.
enjoy.
nick and ros u.k

Room Tip: try the weaver room for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a lovely place to stay in Wilderness.
It is quiet with a lovely lagoon to the front and only a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and shops in the village.
Our room was a delight to stay in.
With it's high thatched roof and well appointed furnishings we felt pampered.
We had a double balcony with great views and frequent sightings of multi coloured birds.
We had a lovely pool to cool off in the heat of the day.
Nora you made us very welcome and thank you for all those glasses of wine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.5 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
2.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
3.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 58 in Wilderness
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#8 of 58 in Wilderness
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#2 of 40 in Wilderness
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tops Guesthouse
The Tops Guesthouse
#27 of 58 in Wilderness
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness

Address: 377 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £59 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of a leafy mountain forest and overlooking the Wilderness Lagoon, Waterside Lodge B&B welcomes its visitors to stylish, comfortable and well appointed rooms, each having a private entrance, en-suite bath room and wooden veranda or patio - all with in walking distance of the golden beach, the lagoon and the charming Wilderness Village with it’s variety of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing