We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
Ranked #34 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

What a find. Great room. Great breakfast. Great hostess.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alleynboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Going to Wilderness?
No need to look any further!
You just found what can only be described as "heaven sent!"
Amazing accomodation.
Fabulous hosts.
A breakfast to die for!

I could go on and on and.......but I won't.
Just take my word for it!

Cheers,

MandY Derby

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs U/K
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

we stayed over travelling on the garden route what a find so friendly and the breakfast was lovely,it overlooks the lagoon and close to the beach,wished we could have stayed longer,if time allows go to eden adventures and canoe up the river to the waterfall walk , try the Girls restraunt dont be put off by the location by the garage ,would definatly stay again at waterside lodge , thanks paul and dorothy

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul195067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2010

we spent only 1 night at this nice place. The room has everything you need, the bed was perfect, so was the fantastic breakfast in the garden. The hosts were very nice and helpful and from our terasse we had a nice view overlooking the lagoon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellicarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells,kent,england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Another stunning South African Guest House.Situated set back from the main road makes no difference to the enjoyment because you cant hear any traffic.Large,airy rooms with views over the lagoon,with staff soo helpful.Super breakfast ,with owners who care about their product.And young Kate a delightful,helpful woman who never stops smiling.
Would recommend to anyone.Its the perfect location when in Ksysna.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webbski9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We only stayed here for one night on a drive along the Garden Route - but loved Wilderness and Waterside Lodge so much we wanted to stay.

The accomodation is great - we had a lovely large room with an immaculate and spacious bathroom. There was a small pool and a beautiful garden to use too, though we didn't have much time for sunbathing.

Breakfast was delicious - beautifully presented fruit platter starter, freshly cooked eggs and bacon, cereals, yogurt, toast etc...

Kobus was very friendly and helpful in advising things to do and places to eat. We ate at The Girls restaurant on his recommendation and loved it - fabulous South African food.

Would definitely recommend and hope to return very soon,

  • Liked — Location/room/hospitality
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterMillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We stopped off in Wilderness for a couple of nights on our journey from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth. We found Waterside Lodge in the Portfolio guide and they happened to have a room available. We had the honeymoon suite which was beautiful. A lovely wooden cabin/cottage in the grounds of the guest house. Spacious, clean, comfy with its own terrace and right next to the small pool and sun deck. The host, Kobus, was exceptionally friendly and welcoming and very helpful with booking restaurants etc. Their lovely dog Maggie was also great! What a little gem!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank catgal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.0 mi away
Interlaken Guest House
Interlaken Guest House
#10 of 57 in Wilderness
302 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 57 in Wilderness
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#26 of 57 in Wilderness
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness

Property: Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
Address: 377 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of a leafy mountain forest and overlooking the Wilderness Lagoon, Waterside Lodge B&B welcomes its visitors to stylish, comfortable and well appointed rooms, each having a private entrance, en-suite bath room and wooden veranda or patio - all with in walking distance of the golden beach, the lagoon and the charming Wilderness Village with it’s variety of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing