We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Western Cape”
Review of Mes Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mes Amis
Ranked #17 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cascais, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Western Cape”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at Mes Amis for two nights and it was as the years before: great views, nicely appointed rooms, well stocked mini-bar and the best and most healthy breakfast we know of in the Western Cape.
We like the daily 'morning-mini-papar' made by the 'inn-keeper', which has the breakfast menu on it, as well as the weather forecast and some anecdotes which are interesting and funny to read while you are waiting for your home cooked bread or cooked breakfast. We love the porridge prepared in various original ways.
If possible: we will come back again!
For evening dinner we would like to recommend 'Serendipity' restaurant in Wilderness.

Room Tip: some rooms are bigger with small private sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j2sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thanks, J2SY.We appreciate the compliments and are happy that you enjoyed you stay at Mes Amis. Please return:)
regards,
Gerhard and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
130
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Wow! The welcome! The room! The view, the breakfast! The local restaurant review! We WILL be back! Up at 5-30 am every morning. A swim in the ocean, pleasantly comfortable compared to Cape Town. Then a wonderful breakfast with a menu including great quotes, this day in history, the weather including tides, sunrise and sunset. Nothin was too much trouble for the hosts.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AWomanWhoGoesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated!
regards,
Gerhard & Annatjie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My wife and i were driving around and we found this place at the end of this road on the beach.
the location is great but as the house is on the top of a big dune with an amazing ocean view.....
from the moment you arrive to the moment to leave, you feel that you have been treated like a special guest....super friendly hosts, the rooms have everything you need, super clean and what a view ! oh, and the cheapest minibar with everything you need
if this was all, that would be just a very good guest house but wait till you wake up and go for your breakfast...this is just out of this world
from the good morning card with the weather forecast and few quotes to the menu...this was probably the best breakfast we had in all our trip .
My wife and i were super impressed by the place, the warmth of the host and we highly recommend this guest house if you decide to stop in Wilderness

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thanks for the kind words, AWomanWhoGoesPlaces. Validation for our efforts is always great. An inspiration to do the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ndola, Zambia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012

If you are looking for place to be and and have a great holiday, then Mes Amis is that place. The moment you arrive, you are greeted as if you are not a stranger and by name! The rooms are spacious, clean and neat. The room has the best ocean view. You need not worry about the bed, because its very comfortable. Its better than the bed in the five star hotel i have stayed in. The bathroom has one of the best showers i have ever seen and its neat!
The staff are very friendly.
I got the relaxation i was looking for and i am certainly heading back to Mes Amis next year for more days!

Room Tip: All the rooms are are good, but room 7 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Alinjav... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Stephen,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mes Amis. Thank you for the kind words. We wish you and yours a blessed Christmas.
Gerhard and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

A fantastic position on the Garden Route, close enough for day trips to Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn, Knysna, Plettenberg Bay, George and many little bays along the coast plus the Wilderness Nationlal Park. Or you can just enjoy the guest house and the wonderful views and it's position on the cliff top overlooking the beautiful white beach and the magnificent thundering Indian Ocean. The rooms are light and breezy with a real sea-side feel and the beds are very comfortable. The views from every room are amazing and I saw dolphins twice and whales...how lucky am I? The beach just asks to be walked
Then the owners........well, they are the nicest hosts you could wish to meet.......nothing is too much trouble, they really do like being in hospitality and their staff are friendly and happy.
The breakfasts are imaginative and Gerhard jollies up the menu each day with little ditties and anecdotes, plus the weather forecast. I really hope to go back, it was a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar and of a good size, they all face the ocean and have their own terrace ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear 2010Visitor,
Thanks for the kind words. We try our best at being Innkeepers and it is great to know that, here and there, we seem to get it right.
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

What a great place to stay for relaxation... A very friendly crew! Let's start: the location: it is in wilderness an face the Indian ocean directly!! It has a house like design which gives a warm feeling. Interior: its fairly furnished and include a small swimming pool! But who needs a swiimb pool while he have the whole ocean... The dining place is really good and warm. There is a lounge which looks like a librabry and icluding a piano, board games, and the manager may provide u with a laptop! Rooms: have friendly and cozy room where every space is used well! There are towels and beach aminities as well as comfortable bed! In the room you have a big wide slide window door that face the ocean: and when you step out yo will find two chairs and wide space to sit and relax. The rook include a small bathroom! Amenities: the crew helps you organize trips and help you tellig you locations, as well as you can ask for a grill to grill!! Crew: the crew is extremely friendly and makes you feel in home and part of the family. Our main host was : magdha, a friend of the owner gerhard... She was really friendly... She accepted our invitation to join us in the barbecue... There we berbaqued, ate and shared stories: that was really nice.
Food: actually, the only cooked food is breakfast, while lunch and dinner can be ordered frozen: that's a little bad thing in the inn. But the breakfast is pretty good: with 3 different main course choice (hot) and. Their signature yogurt app.!! All in all it's a very good place to stay in

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTravels0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear ADTravels0,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mes Amis. Thank your for the kind words.
Allow me to explain to readers that the frozen meals provided in our breakfast room are intended as a convenience for the odd time when you do not wish to visit one of the 10 restaurants in Wilderness. Frozen, yes, but at least home-made frozen - beef lasagne with veggies and chicken florentine with veggies:)
We look forward to a return visit when hopefully we will be here in person to welcome you.
best regards,
Gerhard and Annatjie
Mes Amis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Would highly recommend this B&B, and will not stay anywhere else in Wilderness. All rooms have an excellent patio and view of the ocean, and the rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The owners and staff are friendly, personable and welcoming, and offer great breakfast and advice on restaurants and what to do in the area. There is a staircase behind the rooms leading down to the beach, making a walk along the beach only a minute away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
657 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mes Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mes Amis

Property: Mes Amis
Address: Buxton Close | P.O.Box 200, Wilderness 6065, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mes Amis 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mes Amis is located in Wilderness right on the Wilderness beach. Elegant accommodation in 6 en suite rooms with private entrances and unsurpassed views of the Indian ocean. Rooms are equipped with safes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes and slippers, coffee and tea making facilities and TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in all rooms. A full service a la carte breakfast is served in our breakfast room overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mes Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing