We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verry recommandable Place”
Review of Mes Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mes Amis
Ranked #18 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ismaning, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Verry recommandable Place”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mes Amis Bed & Breakfast. Gerhard and Aneke are realy fine hosts. A verry friendly atmosphere is in this place.
The rooms are realy clean, spacious and well equipped.
Breakfasts varied and the view above the ocean is grandiose.
If its possible, we come again Elke und Yogi from Ismaning/Germany

Room Tip: Look for seaside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogihase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Elke and Yogi,
Thanks for the review - we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to write a review. Much appreciated. Until next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    36
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
129
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at Mes Amis B&B. The view high above the Ocean is fantastic. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and the service included the breakfast is great. Gerhard and Aneke are great hosts. We really appreciated the possibility to make use of the frozen meals prepared by the "6 ladies" when we decided not to leave the room for our lunch. We would rellay like to return to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We thoroughly recommend the Mes Amis B+B at Wilderness. You get an extremely warm welcome and lovely, clean and airy room with magnificent view out over the Indian Ocean. The breakfasts are upmarket from the usual, albeit high standard, one expects. The paper styled menu is a great touch. The clean sweeping beach with lovely surf is superb for a morning walk or jog and access is easy from the house.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view and also order Scotsman cereal for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Anna and I are chuffed that you took the time to write a review. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is the most wonderful place to stay. The rooms sit on the cliff top overlooking a magnificent beach. You can lie in bed and look out at the ocean. You will be hard pressed to find a better location. Breakfasts are truly memorable and mine hosts Gerhard and Aneke make everyone feel so welcome its like visiting friends. Service is excellent and there is nothing you could possibly need during your stay that has not been thoughtfully provided. Cannot praise this place highly enough. Visit here and you will return again and again.

Room Tip: Room number 9 has the best view of the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks, Alice. It is great that you took the time to write a review, and even better that you enjoyed your stay at Mes Amis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We only stayed here for one night but wished it had been longer. A stunning location overlooking the beach and surf. The facilities were top rate and the breakfast was as described - gourmet. But best of all was the owners and staff; so friendly and nothing too much trouble. Will definitely be stopping here next time we are travelling on The Garden Route.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wag_lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you! It means much to us that you took the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at Mes Amis for two nights and it was as the years before: great views, nicely appointed rooms, well stocked mini-bar and the best and most healthy breakfast we know of in the Western Cape.
We like the daily 'morning-mini-papar' made by the 'inn-keeper', which has the breakfast menu on it, as well as the weather forecast and some anecdotes which are interesting and funny to read while you are waiting for your home cooked bread or cooked breakfast. We love the porridge prepared in various original ways.
If possible: we will come back again!
For evening dinner we would like to recommend 'Serendipity' restaurant in Wilderness.

Room Tip: some rooms are bigger with small private sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j2sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thanks, J2SY.We appreciate the compliments and are happy that you enjoyed you stay at Mes Amis. Please return:)
regards,
Gerhard and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Wow! The welcome! The room! The view, the breakfast! The local restaurant review! We WILL be back! Up at 5-30 am every morning. A swim in the ocean, pleasantly comfortable compared to Cape Town. Then a wonderful breakfast with a menu including great quotes, this day in history, the weather including tides, sunrise and sunset. Nothin was too much trouble for the hosts.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AWomanWhoGoesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated!
regards,
Gerhard & Annatjie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
226 reviews
1.7 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mes Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mes Amis

Property: Mes Amis
Address: Buxton Close | P.O.Box 200, Wilderness 6065, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mes Amis 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mes Amis is located in Wilderness right on the Wilderness beach. Elegant accommodation in 6 en suite rooms with private entrances and unsurpassed views of the Indian ocean. Rooms are equipped with safes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes and slippers, coffee and tea making facilities and TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in all rooms. A full service a la carte breakfast is served in our breakfast room overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mes Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing