We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mes Amis Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$313
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
168
42
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
42
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian oceangarden routeb brestful nightswimming towelsbeach chairssmall bathroomevery morningwooden stepsmueslithe breakfast areasaw dolphinsshuttle servicewalk along the beachfalling asleepvery nice place to staysafe parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We only spent one night at Mes Amis BNB. The view above the Ocean is just absolutely stunning. We enjoyed watching the sunset with a bottle of the best Shiraz! The host was very friendly. The rooms are inviting and very well furnished and the beds are comfy and big. Breakfast was very nice. The person that gave a bad review about this place was obviously very picky, no locks on the toilet/bathrooms, who cares! If its for couples I'm pretty sure you don't need a door ;) The rooms have the most amazing views. Thank you Mes Amis, great rooms, views, food, host and beach :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Jamie Marie,
Great review- thanks! February - March is really a wonderful time, weather-wise, in Wilderness. Come back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

It was our third time that we have been at mes amis and our stays get more longer. We came from a safari in Balule and the journey by car from Hazyview to Johannesburg was very exhausting. So we were so glad to come to mes amis. It was as coming home. Gerhard und Anna and Patricia were so happy to see us again. Now we thought for us is the beginning of holiday and relaxing. The sounds of the ocean and the long walks at the beach. We were so happy to stay here again. We got our "old" room and all was so familiar. We have developed meanwhile little rituals. An absolute must is to go to Serentipity and The Girls for diner and saturday to the Sedgefield market. It was a great honour for us to be invited for diner to Gerhard and Anna. Gerhard showed my husband Michael how to prepare a steak medium rare. I think it was for Michael very exciting because there were other guests at this evening and for him it was a great test if all guest at this evening were satisfied. But all was o.k. and we had a fun evening. When we leave I was so sad. But we decided that our next stay will be just more longer.

Room Tip: From all rooms you have a wonderful view to the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Evelyn and Michael,
Thanks for coming back to Mes Amis again. Michael's steaks were superb. Make sure he practise the technique before your next visit - we will want an encore for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mes Amis Bed & Breakfast. Gerhard and Aneke are realy fine hosts. A verry friendly atmosphere is in this place.
The rooms are realy clean, spacious and well equipped.
Breakfasts varied and the view above the ocean is grandiose.
If its possible, we come again Elke und Yogi from Ismaning/Germany

Room Tip: Look for seaside rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogihase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Elke and Yogi,
Thanks for the review - we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to write a review. Much appreciated. Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at Mes Amis B&B. The view high above the Ocean is fantastic. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and the service included the breakfast is great. Gerhard and Aneke are great hosts. We really appreciated the possibility to make use of the frozen meals prepared by the "6 ladies" when we decided not to leave the room for our lunch. We would rellay like to return to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We thoroughly recommend the Mes Amis B+B at Wilderness. You get an extremely warm welcome and lovely, clean and airy room with magnificent view out over the Indian Ocean. The breakfasts are upmarket from the usual, albeit high standard, one expects. The paper styled menu is a great touch. The clean sweeping beach with lovely surf is superb for a morning walk or jog and access is easy from the house.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view and also order Scotsman cereal for breakfast.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Anna and I are chuffed that you took the time to write a review. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews