We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite , romantic stay”
Review of Mes Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mes Amis
Ranked #17 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite , romantic stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The view is out standing , the rooms are little bit small with classic furniture.
Friendly hosts that would help you in your daily garden route plans.
Breakfast was great .overall very good experience and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alrayyan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
130
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

True place to be in wilderness for a couple to spend time or return back after a day on garden route. Very gracious host and nice breakfast included, sea view from bed! Good for 2-3 night stay if you make it a hub for places on garden route.

Room Tip: try to take room No. 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMAind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Monoj,
Thanks for the review. A pity that Anna and I were on holiday when you stayed at Mes Amis, but we are nevertheless chuffed that the management team that was here made you welcome. We hope that you will, when next you visit South Africa, also return to Mes Amis.
best wishes,
Gerhard and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We did a roadtrip down the garden route so we stayed at loads of lovely places along the way and sadly this place was a bit of a disappointment. The views cannot be faulted, but we just felt that everything else was neglected. Our room was slightly weary and really could have done with a lick of paint and some freshening up. The bathroom had a funny smell and the shower was pathetic with unpredictable hot and cold water! Breakfast was delicious. This place is fine, there are much better out there and we felt for the price we paid we expected better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Christa,
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. We are sorry that all was not as pristine as it should have been. It is great, however, to be forced to look at thins with a more critical eye, which is certainly what we will do with all the aspects you highlit.
If you find yourself in WIlderness again, please try us again- the firswt night with our compliments.
regards,
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Lucky 13 March - we arrived for 2 wonderfully comfortable nights at Mes Amis, we could have stayed a week! John and I have arrived back in NZ raving about our panoramic ocean view bedroom, falling asleep to the sound of the ocean - the breakfast to die for (the best in SA), the hospitality, the personal touches even to the point of washing the sea spray off the car before we headed off daily, the friendliness of the Innkeeper, thank you Gerhard also for your wonderful local travel tips! Not sure when we will make it back, certainly on our bucket list. Mes Amis is a definite must stay travelling the Garden Route - Serentipity the perfect dining experience - our stay was the perfect experience - Jan T

Room Tip: Deluxe Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanT543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Janet,
Fond memories of a broad smile every morning....
Thanks for the review.
Regards to you and John.
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth (Tasmania), Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We only spent one night at Mes Amis BNB. The view above the Ocean is just absolutely stunning. We enjoyed watching the sunset with a bottle of the best Shiraz! The host was very friendly. The rooms are inviting and very well furnished and the beds are comfy and big. Breakfast was very nice. The person that gave a bad review about this place was obviously very picky, no locks on the toilet/bathrooms, who cares! If its for couples I'm pretty sure you don't need a door ;) The rooms have the most amazing views. Thank you Mes Amis, great rooms, views, food, host and beach :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Jamie Marie,
Great review- thanks! February - March is really a wonderful time, weather-wise, in Wilderness. Come back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuss
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

It was our third time that we have been at mes amis and our stays get more longer. We came from a safari in Balule and the journey by car from Hazyview to Johannesburg was very exhausting. So we were so glad to come to mes amis. It was as coming home. Gerhard und Anna and Patricia were so happy to see us again. Now we thought for us is the beginning of holiday and relaxing. The sounds of the ocean and the long walks at the beach. We were so happy to stay here again. We got our "old" room and all was so familiar. We have developed meanwhile little rituals. An absolute must is to go to Serentipity and The Girls for diner and saturday to the Sedgefield market. It was a great honour for us to be invited for diner to Gerhard and Anna. Gerhard showed my husband Michael how to prepare a steak medium rare. I think it was for Michael very exciting because there were other guests at this evening and for him it was a great test if all guest at this evening were satisfied. But all was o.k. and we had a fun evening. When we leave I was so sad. But we decided that our next stay will be just more longer.

Room Tip: From all rooms you have a wonderful view to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Evelyn and Michael,
Thanks for coming back to Mes Amis again. Michael's steaks were superb. Make sure he practise the technique before your next visit - we will want an encore for sure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ismaning, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mes Amis Bed & Breakfast. Gerhard and Aneke are realy fine hosts. A verry friendly atmosphere is in this place.
The rooms are realy clean, spacious and well equipped.
Breakfasts varied and the view above the ocean is grandiose.
If its possible, we come again Elke und Yogi from Ismaning/Germany

Room Tip: Look for seaside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogihase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Elke and Yogi,
Thanks for the review - we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to write a review. Much appreciated. Until next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
657 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mes Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mes Amis

Property: Mes Amis
Address: Buxton Close | P.O.Box 200, Wilderness 6065, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mes Amis 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mes Amis is located in Wilderness right on the Wilderness beach. Elegant accommodation in 6 en suite rooms with private entrances and unsurpassed views of the Indian ocean. Rooms are equipped with safes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes and slippers, coffee and tea making facilities and TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in all rooms. A full service a la carte breakfast is served in our breakfast room overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mes Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing