We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and friendly environment!”
Review of Mes Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mes Amis
Ranked #18 of 60 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The owner of this guest house makes you really feel at home. From the beginning until the end of your stay he will take care of you and your well being as if you were a member of his family. Awesome position, just in front of the beach and the ocean, close to Knysna. If you're around and you're looking for a special place to spend a couple of nights without paying too much but having a great service, this is the right place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Marco,
Anna and I remember your visit to Mes Amis with pleasure. Smiles at the breakfast table and appreciation for even something small we did. Thanks for choosing to stay with us - please come back!
regards,
Gerhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is our 4th visit to Mes Amis and the level of service and general comfort are as good as ever. Perched on the top of the dunes overlooking the Indian Ocean, this place is stunning but what makes it special is the friendliness and hands on approach of the owners. There is a warm welcome and a lot of fun especially from the self styled 'innkeeper'' Gerhardt. Breakfasts are well prepared and substantial. There is a wealth of information about local attractions and we were even taken to our evening restaurant by the owner! Nothing seems to be too much trouble to ensure a memorable stay. We do not hesitate to recommend Mes Amis to anyone passing along the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Chris,
When we receive compliments, it means much to us. When it comes from repeat guests, it is even more gratifying. Thank you!
regards,
Gerhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was stay number 4 on our trip and our host was very welcoming and helpful - even drove us to the restaurant! Room was lovely, clean and tidy but because of the bad weather we could not sit out on our terrace that was directly over the beach. Excellent breakfast. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

It really is a bummer when rain spoils your enjoyment, especially when the location is right on the ocean. We enjoy a Mediterranean climate here in Wilderness without a rainy season - rain is spread throughout the year. We are nevertheless pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Do return and, for a small additional fee, we'll arrange good weather.......
Gerhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The view is out standing , the rooms are little bit small with classic furniture.
Friendly hosts that would help you in your daily garden route plans.
Breakfast was great .overall very good experience and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alrayyan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thanks for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

True place to be in wilderness for a couple to spend time or return back after a day on garden route. Very gracious host and nice breakfast included, sea view from bed! Good for 2-3 night stay if you make it a hub for places on garden route.

Room Tip: try to take room No. 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMAind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Monoj,
Thanks for the review. A pity that Anna and I were on holiday when you stayed at Mes Amis, but we are nevertheless chuffed that the management team that was here made you welcome. We hope that you will, when next you visit South Africa, also return to Mes Amis.
best wishes,
Gerhard and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We did a roadtrip down the garden route so we stayed at loads of lovely places along the way and sadly this place was a bit of a disappointment. The views cannot be faulted, but we just felt that everything else was neglected. Our room was slightly weary and really could have done with a lick of paint and some freshening up. The bathroom had a funny smell and the shower was pathetic with unpredictable hot and cold water! Breakfast was delicious. This place is fine, there are much better out there and we felt for the price we paid we expected better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Christa,
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. We are sorry that all was not as pristine as it should have been. It is great, however, to be forced to look at thins with a more critical eye, which is certainly what we will do with all the aspects you highlit.
If you find yourself in WIlderness again, please try us again- the firswt night with our compliments.
regards,
Gerhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Lucky 13 March - we arrived for 2 wonderfully comfortable nights at Mes Amis, we could have stayed a week! John and I have arrived back in NZ raving about our panoramic ocean view bedroom, falling asleep to the sound of the ocean - the breakfast to die for (the best in SA), the hospitality, the personal touches even to the point of washing the sea spray off the car before we headed off daily, the friendliness of the Innkeeper, thank you Gerhard also for your wonderful local travel tips! Not sure when we will make it back, certainly on our bucket list. Mes Amis is a definite must stay travelling the Garden Route - Serentipity the perfect dining experience - our stay was the perfect experience - Jan T

Room Tip: Deluxe Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanT543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Janet,
Fond memories of a broad smile every morning....
Thanks for the review.
Regards to you and John.
Gerhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.9 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 60 in Wilderness
462 reviews
0 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 60 in Wilderness
266 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B
Wilderness on Sea B&B
#17 of 60 in Wilderness
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 60 in Wilderness
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 60 in Wilderness
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mes Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mes Amis

Address: Buxton Close | P.O.Box 200, Wilderness 6065, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £78 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mes Amis 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mes Amis is located in Wilderness right on the Wilderness beach. Elegant accommodation in 6 en suite rooms with private entrances and unsurpassed views of the Indian ocean. Rooms are equipped with safes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes and slippers, coffee and tea making facilities and TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in all rooms. A full service a la carte breakfast is served in our breakfast room overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Mes Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing