We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mes Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mes Amis
Ranked #18 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed 2 nights here & just loved the location. The guest house is just outside Wilderness on the top of the hill looking out over the ocean.

There is a long wooden stair case down to the beach which was incredible - but it's a long way down, so take your time!

Rooms were clean & tidy with tea/coffee & a bottle of wine (which from memory was a reasonable price if you wanted to drink it!)

Bathrooms could have done with a little updating, but nothing you couldn't live with for a few days.

The owners were fantastic - very very helpful & friendly.
They have reviewed all the local restaurants & that helped massively in deciding where to eat.
1st night we went to this couple's house & had this incredible 5 course meal. Can't remember the name of the place, but it was amazing & well worth the money. The man recommends wine for each course you have & you just pay a price for the whole "experience!"

2nd night we ate at "The Girls" - great sea food restaurant & very reasonable indeed!

Would recommend Mes Amis - if just for the views out your bedroom patio doors! Incredible!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank latavernegiroise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    34
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
128
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

We thought that this was the best of all the places we stayed at in the Cape. They have redone the rooms and the bathrooms completely and our room was great with all the amenities I could have wished for. The view was great, the staff was helpful and friendly. Everything was crisp and clean. We will definitly return.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelanimoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2008

Of all the places we visited, we loved Wilderness and, especially, Mes Amis the most. An absolutely stunning location, clean, uncluttered rooms with all the amenities one could wish for (this was the only place to have and espresso coffee machine in the room!). The host, Gerhard, and the staff were all simply outstanding and we were given many useful hints regarding the surrounding area, food and so on. Breakfast at Mes Amis was spectacular. I have never experienced so much thought given to what is normally just a quick bite before starting the day. Here breakfast was a proper meal that saw us through almost until dinner! The one morning we were in a hurry, we "made do" with fresh fruit, freshly baked break and a muesli and yoghurt smoothie! Highly recommended - we still recall watching the sunset on our patio, sipping a glass of wine. We will be back next year!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uelzen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2007

We only stayed for one night at Mes Amis, but certainly could have stayed longer! You couldn´t be closer to the beach, to hear the waves while falling into sleep is outstanding!!
We also loved the breakfast, it was really something different.

Gerhard was a great host, he booked us into the right restaurant before we made our decision and in the morning he knew already what we would like for breakfast. And we could even borrow his laptop over night!

The room itself was nice and the bathroom was a bit dated, but clean. And just to mention it: the minibar-prices are extremly low!!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2007

We loved our stay at Mes Amis. The breakfast was to die for - I do not know what the other poster complain about. Bizarre? I so not think so! Here is what was on offer the first morning (the menu changed for our second morning):

Freshly brewed dark roast Columbian coffee, English or Rooibos tea
Orange juice, mango juice, guava juice
Fresh fruit
Freshly baked bread and muffins

Cereals
Muesli or corn flakes or All Bran with milk or yoghurt or
The Mes Amis Scotsman: oats, cream, honey and whisky or
The Mes Amis Breakfast in a Glass: liquidized muesli, banana, yoghurt and honey

Hot breakfasts
Eggs prepared the way you prefer (fried, poached, scrambled, boiled or an omelette) served with a Wildebeest kebab, potato rosti, a sweetcorn fritter and fried onions.
Today's Chef's Choice: The Mes Amis breakfast burger: 3 rounds of frittata to replace the burger bun, a game patty, sliced tomato, sliced gherkin, seared cheddar cheese and a tangy barbeque sauce.

Our room had such a good view, it felt as if you can reach out and touch the ocean! Not expensive either.

  • Liked — The View and the Food
  • Disliked — That I stayed for only 2 nights!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DeedeeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

We stayed at Mes Amis for four days. This was the best place by far of all our overnights on the Garden Route. The room and bathroom was spotless, the decor pleasantly neutral and the service wonderful. The view from our room was to die for - we could lie on the bed and watch the waves roll in! Breakfast was one of the highlights of the day. Great food, using South African ingredients, well presented and served. It certainly served as a welcome change from the tired eggs-bacon-and-sausage that you seem to get everywhere. We will most definitely stay here again - great value for money.

  • Liked — view, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

Referring to Emma from Stoke-on-Trent who wrote on 8 October 2007 that she was not impressed with Mes Amis. I beg to differ. We found the accommodation excellent, in fact, far better than a lot of 4 star hotels. The views really are amazing.
As to Emma's comment on the breakfast, I cannot disagree more. The food was excellently prepared and beautifully presented. We liked the idea of having a different breakfast every day - breakfast certainlyl is not just bacon and sausage.
And I must mention how great the staff are. They are very friendly and look brilliant in their African-inspired uniforms.
Mes Amis is a must when travelling the Garden Route.

  • Liked — The view and the great breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#11 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mes Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mes Amis

Property: Mes Amis
Address: Buxton Close | P.O.Box 200, Wilderness 6065, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mes Amis 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mes Amis is located in Wilderness right on the Wilderness beach. Elegant accommodation in 6 en suite rooms with private entrances and unsurpassed views of the Indian ocean. Rooms are equipped with safes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes and slippers, coffee and tea making facilities and TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in all rooms. A full service a la carte breakfast is served in our breakfast room overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mes Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing