We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A GEM!”
Review of Mes Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mes Amis
Ranked #18 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WHAT A GEM!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I travelled with my wife and 8 friends from Germany and wanted to give them a special experience in Wilderniss. Mes Amis was the answer - in all respects! Gerhard and Anna are wonderful, warm hosts, the establishment is in an immaculate condition, with a superb location right on the beach - luxurious rooms with attention to the finest detail. Wonderful, creative and healthy breakfast served by efficient and friendly staff. I you appreciate a fine life style, this is the place - at affordable rates!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. Private patio - beautiful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielSTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Daniel,
Such kind words! Thank you!
regards,
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    36
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
129
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This guest house is in a superb location overlooking the beach with the waves rolling in and soothing you to sleep at night. The boardwalk down to the beach is right at the door and you can walk for miles. Lots to do in the area, or just relax on the deck with a bottle if wine and some wild oysters freshly shucked from up the road. Perfect! Thanks Gerhard and Anna.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex-Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay at Mes Amis. And writing such a great review. We will have room at the Inn for you.....
regards,
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Mes Amis is a near perfect place to stay in this beautiful part of the Garden Route. It sits atop a bluff overlooking the Indian Ocean. Our room opened directly onto a spectacular view of the ocean, with surf crashing in. In the morning we descended the walkway and walked the near deserted beach.

After arriving from the Cape Town drive, we chilled our bottle of Graham Beck brut, with our host, Gerhard, providing ice, bucket, and champagne glasses, and relaxed. Then to a nearby restaurant (Salinas for a seafood dinner - very good)

The rooms are most comfortable - everything high quality, including the breakfast. The extras are the setting and the special care of Gerhard and Anna.

Room Tip: I assume all rooms overlook the ocean, but be sure yours does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks, Peter! It means a lot to us that you like Mes Amis and what you found here. Our thanks also for taking the time to write the review.
regards,
Gerhard & Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our Highlight along the Garden Route. The Mes Amis lies in Wilderness on top of a large dune overlooking kilometers of a wide sandy beach and the majestic surf of the Indian Ocean. There is a direct way from the premises down to the beach. Our rooms were beautiful and we enjoyed the unique tasteful style of the house with its many paintings. Not to forget the outstanding breakfast á la carte.
The hosts are amazing, we have never experienced a reception this warm hearted, witty and welcoming. When we had to leave very early for the airport, Gerhard and Annetjie rose with us to make breakfast for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Matthias,
Your kind words are much appreciated. Thank you!
Regards to Marion and Juliana.
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto,ON
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

What a beautiful location for this B&B above the Indian Ocean. Great views, sunsets and many steps down to a beautiful sand beach. The breakfasts here are amazing, a new menu printed every day along with a few jokes. Great way to start the day. Rooms face the ocean. Very cheerful and helpful staff. The only complaint we had was the price charged for doing our laundry. We should have asked first. Otherwise, first rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Glad you enjoyed Mes Amis. The dolphins have been putting on quite a show lately - their antics in the breakers always remain special for us.
Our laundry list does show the prices...
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Route-South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Gerhard and Annetjie are the perfect hosts. You can see they love what they do. I've recently stayed with them for my honeymoon and I've been staying there with my guests for the last 3 years and I will keep going back!

As a tour operator I look with a critical eye, but with Mes Amis I cannot find a fault, clean, cozy, comfy rooms with a view to die for. Best breakfast served with a smile and excellent coffee!

Thank you Gerhard and Annetjie, keep up the good work, you've got an awesome home, thank you for opening it for us and our guests, will see much more of you in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthstompers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Earthstompers,
You are too kind - thanks so much for the positive feedback! It means a lot to us. It really does. There will always be a room at the inn for you........
best regards,
Gerhard & Annetjie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Me and my girlfriend made a 1 night stop here in the beginning of January 2014. This place is lovely. The host really likes what he is doing. He takes care of you and he's funny and very gentle. Walking distance to the beach and beautiful views. Despite that there was no meal service during the evening, they arranged beef and chicken pie to us, as all restaurants in Wilderness was closed during new years day.

No AC in the room was the only down-side, however they had a big fan, so we were able to get in fresh air anyway. Go to this place!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms is a recommendation. Money well spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niclasblaback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardatMesAmis, Owner at Mes Amis, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Niclas,
Thanks for the review. Once in a blue moon we are also sorry that we do not have aircon. Fortunately it is only about 3 days per year. For the rest of the time the sea breeze is our aircon.
One day is too short - do come back.
regards,
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
226 reviews
1.7 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mes Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mes Amis

Property: Mes Amis
Address: Buxton Close | P.O.Box 200, Wilderness 6065, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mes Amis 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mes Amis is located in Wilderness right on the Wilderness beach. Elegant accommodation in 6 en suite rooms with private entrances and unsurpassed views of the Indian ocean. Rooms are equipped with safes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes and slippers, coffee and tea making facilities and TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi Internet access available in all rooms. A full service a la carte breakfast is served in our breakfast room overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mes Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing