We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation in lovely Wilderness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #19 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in lovely Wilderness”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. The first thing that will hit you is full width doors opened up onto the lake and mountains in the background - wow what an amazing view. The room was large, well furnished and had a lovely spacious balcony over looking the lake. I can't really fault it it was great accommodation with great service and food. Thanks for contributing to an amazing honeymoon.

The only things I would mention to future travellers is that it is about 5km from Wilderness town and restaurants so taxi (about 120 rand return) or no drinking unfortunately. Also the wifi was only available in the lobby it would make such a difference if this was in the room as i constantly needed it to plan the trip and stay connected. The shower is open to the room as well so in full view of the room which didnt bother us but might some.

Room Tip: There were 5 rooms all with a large balcony. Maybe one of the end rooms as there is only one adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryFromTheMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    33
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
124
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Rory was the most hospitable host......and the rooms were gorgeous not to mention the view and the massages were truly an amazing experience. Even my nails are still lasting after 2 weeks :-)

Tank you so much. I will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Albatross room. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few days whilst travelling along the garden route and it was a perfect place to wind down after being on the road for a few days. There is nothing I could fault. First class service and attention from Rory, high spec rooms, furniture and furnishings. So peaceful and relaxing. We went for a walk on the nearby trail and in the evening we drove into the nearby town and found a few good places to eat. It really is a must stay place

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for three nights at Lodge on the Lake, & I can describe it in 1 word..PERFECT! We had such a great stay, the rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable, the breakfast in the morning was of a great quality (the fresh croissants are divine!) & the service from the staff was exceptional. Rory, Linda, Patrick & Nomsa, you guys are doing a great job! I highly recommend Lodge on the Lake, they will definitely be seeing more of me &This Lodge is the perfect place to relax! My wife & I went there on Honeymoon, we had the most amazing experience. Linda (the spa manager), did such a great job, the spa treatments were brilliant. Thank you to everyone at the Lodge for making our Honeymoon really memorable!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 95rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Lodge on the Lake for a long weekend. Our stay can be summed up in one word, Perfect. The Lodge is in the perfect location, with stunning views of Island lake and close to Wilderness village and restaurants or anything you might want.

The rooms are exquisite! We had the privilege of staying in the honeymoon suite and it was amazing! All the rooms in the Lodge are large and very classy. They are beautifully decorated and each has its own private balcony overlooking Island Lake. There are also a few special touches such as complimentary bath salts from the spa as well as a personalized welcome note from the managers.

Rory the manager is such a nice guy and is always ready to help with anything. He has such a passion for what he does and he has the ability to make anyone feel right at home. The breakfast in the morning was also a real treat! There were freshly baked croissants and muffins , cold meats, cheeses and cereals followed by a hot breakfast. It was all delicious!

I also tried out the spa and it was so relaxing. Linda the spa manager is fantastic and you are guaranteed to walk out of there in a daze of relaxation.

So seriously, look no further, this place is the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRS_SKYWLKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Mrs_skywlkr... Thank you for such a lovely review! You have truly captured the essence of what we are trying to achieve at Lodge on the Lake! I must say though, having such great, down to earth, lovely guests as yourself and your husband really makes my job a walk in the park. We hope to host you again many times in the future, & to continue nurturing the friendship that we built.

Best Regards,
Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at Lodge on the lake for our 15th wedding anniversary. The Lodge is absolutely lovely. Not over-decorated, tastefully calm. Our room was clean and off course the view stunning. Rory the manager went out of his way to help us with dinner reservations and paragliding appointments, even handwriting the driving directions.

Spa visit was very pleasant and relaxing!

Our breakfast was nice, we didn't need anything. Nice that you get a key and remote so you can go and come back as you please. It was a wonderful visit and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoreenK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory777, Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi Noreen

Thanks for such a great review! We are always striving to up our standards, and expect nothing less than 5 star service and a 5 star experience.

We look forward to hosting you again (sometime soon!)

Kind regards,
Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights for my fathers birthday and we asked them to do something nice for him and they went out of their way to make it a special weekend for him. We enjoyed the beatiful view and relaxing atmosphere! Very friendly service and having breakfast on the deck was divine!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meriske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
657 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
328 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
#44 of 56 in Wilderness
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Property: Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Lodge on the Lake" is now under new Management !!!! Overview: Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. Found on the world-renowned Garden Route, Wilderness is also known as the Eden of the southern coast of South Africa. The Lodge is an exclusive five star guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Guests are offered internationally competitive exclusivity in both the accommodation and the adjoining Wellness Spa. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. Accommodation: The Lodge has 5 magnificently appointed rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, private balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. The rooms have been individually decorated in sophisticated style with earthy undertones. Not only honeymooners can indulge in the luxury and space of the Honeymoon Suite with its 4 poster bed and free-standing stone bath. Wellness Spa: Merely walking into the beautifully tranquil Wellness Spa is an exercise in relaxation. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience. The emphasis of the spa is on whole body wellness and the 2 treatment rooms are sure to leave you feeling revived and invigorated. There are Facial Treatments, Body Treatments, Massages and TheraVine & TheraNaka treatments to target stress, muscular strain, cellulite and detoxification, amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing