We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #22 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for three nights at this wonderful lodge! The view from the balcony are breathtaking! The Hosts were great, friendly and very helpful. They recommended us to the most amazing restaurants! The Spa and Linda was extremely superb, what a wonderful experience. We can really recommend the omelette for breakfast, Patrick and his team were great!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Thanks to our hosts. We stayed here for two nights earlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed the warm welcome and relaxing atmosphere. The view is amazing from each room and access to the wellness spa down the stairs was highly convenient. You feel special and looked after due to the small number of rooms available, Rory, what a great guy! Lastly I recommend the omelette at breakfast, delicious :)
Thanks for a great stay, we love Wilderness!

Room Tip: We did not see the others but from what I understand they all have a great view with similar set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacaRaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent our Christmas Eve in the honeymoon suite. We were greeted very friendly and were shown around. We felt at home. All the staff was friendly and enjoyed our stay.

We just would have enjoyed a bathrobe in the room for use after enjoying that nice bath.

I can highly recommend this place.

Breathe taking view and nice relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronél S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. The first thing that will hit you is full width doors opened up onto the lake and mountains in the background - wow what an amazing view. The room was large, well furnished and had a lovely spacious balcony over looking the lake. I can't really fault it it was great accommodation with great service and food. Thanks for contributing to an amazing honeymoon.

The only things I would mention to future travellers is that it is about 5km from Wilderness town and restaurants so taxi (about 120 rand return) or no drinking unfortunately. Also the wifi was only available in the lobby it would make such a difference if this was in the room as i constantly needed it to plan the trip and stay connected. The shower is open to the room as well so in full view of the room which didnt bother us but might some.

Room Tip: There were 5 rooms all with a large balcony. Maybe one of the end rooms as there is only one adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryFromTheMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Rory was the most hospitable host......and the rooms were gorgeous not to mention the view and the massages were truly an amazing experience. Even my nails are still lasting after 2 weeks :-)

Tank you so much. I will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Albatross room. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for a few days whilst travelling along the garden route and it was a perfect place to wind down after being on the road for a few days. There is nothing I could fault. First class service and attention from Rory, high spec rooms, furniture and furnishings. So peaceful and relaxing. We went for a walk on the nearby trail and in the evening we drove into the nearby town and found a few good places to eat. It really is a must stay place

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for three nights at Lodge on the Lake, & I can describe it in 1 word..PERFECT! We had such a great stay, the rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable, the breakfast in the morning was of a great quality (the fresh croissants are divine!) & the service from the staff was exceptional. Rory, Linda, Patrick & Nomsa, you guys are doing a great job! I highly recommend Lodge on the Lake, they will definitely be seeing more of me &This Lodge is the perfect place to relax! My wife & I went there on Honeymoon, we had the most amazing experience. Linda (the spa manager), did such a great job, the spa treatments were brilliant. Thank you to everyone at the Lodge for making our Honeymoon really memorable!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B
Wilderness on Sea B&B
#17 of 62 in Wilderness
150 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 62 in Wilderness
468 reviews
2.5 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 62 in Wilderness
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £86 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. The Lodge is an exclusive guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. The Lodge rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience at "Mandara" Wellness & Spa. Enjoy a delicious breakfast before exploring the area around Wilderness. We organize individual day tours, got lots of information about our surroundings and love to assist you for restaurant recommendations and reservations. See you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing