We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #19 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Lodge on the Lake for a weekend getaway. Wow, what a wonderful experience this was! From entering the magnificent foyer with the most perfect view across the lake to a beautiful and well-equipped room, everything was just great. The view from our room was amazing. Thank you to Rory and Linda for making our stay so memorable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsabe_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    32
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
123
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beautiful rooms, beautiful view, amazing five star experience, scrumptious breakfast, freshly baked croissants daily, and friendlies, most accomodative hosts from the minute we stepped foot in the lodge. The owners inspired us to travel the place from visiting oudtshoorn for the first time to driving through knysna and visiting wildlife in pletternberg bay. Truly one of the best holiday destinations by far. Thank u lodge on the lake from Marlon and Chantal Adams

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelpie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for two nights at the end of June. A very well run lodge with beautiful views and great service. Rory and Lizette made us feel welcome throughout our stay. Personable and friendly hosts that will go out of their way to ensure a pleasurable stay (we even got a free room upgrade!). On that note, all the rooms are specious, clean and all around well maintained. Gorgeous views of the lake are guaranteed from whichever room you choose. Waking up to the sounds of birds singing and indulging in a freshly cooked delicious breakfast on the deck was a delight.

We will most definitely stay there again! This is the place to stay when in Wilderness as far as we are concerned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VR360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lodge on the Lake is the perfect escape for the weekend. Guests are greeted with a breathtaking view of the lake from the main hall. A beautiful staircase leads you upstairs to a number of luxurious rooms and honeymoon suite, all which have a balcony facing the lake. The staff were all warm and welcoming, and the breakfast selection topped off our peaceful night's rest.

Room Tip: Choose from four beautiful rooms or the honeymoon suite for extra comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The first night we arrived it was pouring with rain, and to our wonderful surprise, Lizette, a wonderful friendly lady, came up to our car with an umbrella and wanting to help us with our luggage. This reception set the tone for our wonderful trip.

The place is absolutely gorgeous, the setting is hard to beat, anywhere I would imagine. we stayed in both the standard room and the honeymoon suite. Both lovely, obviously the honeymoon suite was quite an upgrade. But the standard room was very well kept, clean, coupled with a lovely large bed, huge bath (and separate shower if you prefer). fresh towels were in both rooms.
Rory, the manager, was simply superb. He gave us great advice for places to eat in wilderness, and places to visit. He was friendly and professional.

I made use of the spa and had a divine foot massage with Linda, who was so friendly and the massage was so good (and well needed from the rat race I generally live in).

We were so impressed with every aspect of the Lodge.

Lovely treat!

Room Tip: every room has a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queensheroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked the entire place for our son's 21st birthday and loved every minute. Rory and his staff are delightful hosts and every room is amazing in its own right (with a magnificent view over the lake). The pool area is absolutely beautiful. We truly enjoyed our time there. Happy memories only!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This Lodge was the best that we stayed in during our time in South Africa. The attention to detail by the manager Rory is excellent, & all the other staff were very helpful. The Lodge is beautifully designed, and the room that we stayed in was very comfortable. We made use of the Spa & had great treatments from Linda, so relaxing! We can really highly recommend this Lodge

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 354Garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.1 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
2.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Property: Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Lodge on the Lake" is now under new Management !!!! Overview: Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. Found on the world-renowned Garden Route, Wilderness is also known as the Eden of the southern coast of South Africa. The Lodge is an exclusive five star guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Guests are offered internationally competitive exclusivity in both the accommodation and the adjoining Wellness Spa. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. Accommodation: The Lodge has 5 magnificently appointed rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, private balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. The rooms have been individually decorated in sophisticated style with earthy undertones. Not only honeymooners can indulge in the luxury and space of the Honeymoon Suite with its 4 poster bed and free-standing stone bath. Wellness Spa: Merely walking into the beautifully tranquil Wellness Spa is an exercise in relaxation. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience. The emphasis of the spa is on whole body wellness and the 2 treatment rooms are sure to leave you feeling revived and invigorated. There are Facial Treatments, Body Treatments, Massages and TheraVine & TheraNaka treatments to target stress, muscular strain, cellulite and detoxification, amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing