We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We booked our family holiday with another family at dolphin Dunes for a week over the Christmas period . They were happy to take our booking and had the nerve to insist on 100 percent payment prior to arrival. if we didn't have to make full payment prior to arrival we would have left on the first day because of the facilitys and the owners attitude didnt meet expectations.


Dolphin dunes is not family friendly in anyway.In fact I must state that if you have children of any age this is simply not the place to go ever . AT the time of making the booking it was clearly explained to the The owner that we were two family's with two children each . After taking our money a month prior to arrival the owner had the audacity on arrival to tell us that they were not a children friendly resort.

The rooms didn't live up to expectation either . We took a self catering unit and there wasn't even a oven to cook in .There was no television in the lounge , no sports channels on the television .a number of the power plugs didnt work and the jacuzzi bath didn't work .
This is simply not something that is fitting or acceptable for any four star establishment .
Being a regular visitor to the area Dolphine dunes is simply not a place I'd ever visit or want to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Likeitisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinWilderness, Owner at Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Unfortunately Tripadvisor gives guests like you the platform to try and take revenge even if you were at fault.

I would hang my head in shame if I was you, why dont you write that we had to call the police on you because of noise, drunkenness and general disregard for other guests?

Kids are welcome, I told you it is unfortunately not a large property like a hotel or holiday resort where kids can run riot. I also asked you numerous times and in a decent manner to consider other guests.

Funny that we are not kid friendly according to you, but we have 2 families at the moment with 5 children between them. The one family visits us at leats twice a year. They are one of many that return year after year.

Please remeber that I called the cops while you were making a noise watching soccer, so how can you say that we do not have sport channels. You had no Tv in your lounge, but had 1 in each of 3 bedrooms. Why not move 1?

You were trouble from the day you arrived. I do not regret one thing I said or did. You will never be welcome at our Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had many plans for things to do in Wilderness but from the moment we arrived we skipped them all.Stunning views,right on the beach.
We were in Africa room and can recommend to everybody because you get the best off both.
Private sundeck seafront as the other rooms and private garden with thached roof with deckchairs and comfortable seats for windy days or if you just want to sit in the shadow.
Breakfast very good.
We regret we booked not more nights,the walks on the beach were great take the dog Trixie see will love it.
Great restaurant nearby called Serendipity,Gary will tell you more about it.

Room Tip: Africa room;garden/shadow seat and seafront seat same as the other rooms
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here often during last couple of years. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed here 3 nights when doing my "Tour de South Africa", used it as my local base.
This B&B is very nicely placed, on a hill overlooking the ocean, with stunning views. Room is big, clean, bright, bathtub veeeeery comfortable!
When staying here, I did trips to Mossel Bay (diving with sharks - haven't seen any as it was stormy weather), Knysna, local mountain hikes - there's generally lots of little things to do/see around, just perfect for relaxing.
For dinners, there's few places around - go for the town, 2-3 decent restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We had a pleasant 3 night stay at Dolphin Dunes.

Located about a mile out of central Wilderness, Dolphin Dunes is positioned above the beach with panoramic views out to sea. We stayed in Suite 3 and the view of the beach and sea though the floor to ceiling window was awesome - we watched Dolpins playing in the sea from the luxury of our bed. There is a boarded walkway down to the beach which takes just a few minutes.

Breakfasts where of a high standard and the hosts did all they could to make our stay just right.

There are no restuarants in the locality but plenty within a 5 to 10 miunute drive. Cinammon was our favourite.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This part of the garden route deserves a couple of days to do it justice, and Wilderness and "Dolphin Dunes" fit perfectly into our travel plans. What a great property at such a reasonable rate helped us take advantage of 2 dinner recommendations that were home runs. Serendipity, a 5 star dining experience, and Pompodoro, a hoping local Italian restruant were outstanding choices. Our suites were roomy and comfortable and designed to take advantage of the view up and down the beach for miles. Great breakfast and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blancoriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This hotel is what I was looking for right next to the beach, It has it's own walkway down to the sand. We were in the honeymoon suite, we had a balcony facing the seafront. The room was spacious and well presented. The bathroom was nice and had a huge bath! It is a short drive to the resturant/shop area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat_gss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.8 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
302 reviews
1.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse

Address: Buxton Close, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £49 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on golden sand dunes, overlooking the unspoilt beaches of Wilderness, lies Dolphin Dunes - a charming beachfront guesthouse with luxurious and tasteful guest accommodation. Our casually elegant home is wonderfully comfortable. Relax on the sea facing sundeck and watch dolphins at play in the surf, take a stroll along the endless unspoilt beaches and forest, go canoeing on the lagoon. Come and enjoy the natural splendour of Wilderness - the Garden Route at its most captivating. Once you visit Dolphin Dunes, you'll find it very hard to leave¦ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing