We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed 11 June 2008

We booked through the Portfolio Collection which is how we booked most of our holiday to South Africa. The whole B&B was lovely. We had an ocean view room with a small balcony and could watch the whales in the water in the morning whilst sitting up in bed!
Breakfast was basic but all we needed.
From looking at their website I think we stayed in Room 2.
You could easily walk down to the beach from the B&B which was perfect.
Would definitely recommend it to anyone and I would love to go back.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — If I had to choose it would be the breakfast - but only if i HAD to choose
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excitedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    43
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
154
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midleton, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

While travelling the Garden Route on honeymoon in 2005 my wife and I stumbled across WIlderness and spent an afternoon kayaking up into the national park (highly recommended). At 5pm we needed a place to rest our tired heads and we came across Dolphin Dunes.

Andre offered us a seaview room and it remains one of our most abiding memories from honeymoon. Waking the following mornig to the sound of the ocean and watching whales swim past in the bay - perfect!

While the latter cannot of course be guaranteed :-) the service was top class and the location unmatched.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank munster-shug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Dolphin Dunes for 2 nights and if time permitted we would have loved to stay longer.

Owners Andre and Mathilda were extremely friendly and helpful, arranging dinner reservations, checking on dry cleaning, providing driving directions etc. They couldn't have been nicer.

Can't add much to what has been said in previous reviews. We had a spectacular view from Suite 3. We just wish we could have spent more time on our balcony gazing into the ocean and the beautiful sunsets. The room was spacious, had a mini-fridge which was fully stocked, and a flat screen cable TV.

Thanks Andre and Mathilda.

  • Liked — Spectacular view, sound of the ocean, Andre and Mathilda
  • Disliked — Rough ocean not suitable for swimming
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

We stayed at the Dolphin Dunes over New Year 2007/08. We picked this guesthouse as we were looking for a quiet and pleasant place to relax and I believe we could not have made a better choice. The rooms are spacious, clean, and bright. From some rooms you can even see the sea – and sometimes dolphins - when in bed. All rooms in the main building have balconies or access to the terrace. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was always delicious with plenty of fresh fruits. The rates are slightly higher than the average bed & breakfast in South Africa but it is certainly worth the money. All in all the Dolphin Dunes is a great place to relax.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — bit pricey
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

Turned up in Wilderness on a really wet and rainy day (massive floods in Western Cape back in Mar07). The Dolphin Dunes was really easy to find (just off the motorway but couldn't hear the traffic noise), and the owners were really accommodating. Had a self-catering apartment, although we paid extra for the breakfast which was well worth it. Lovely and comfortable, and very clean. Also our room had cable TV which was really good given the appalling weather. DD is right on the dunes and there is a boardwalk right down on to the beach, and am sure the views are great in good weather. Highly recommend it, although I could imagine they get busy at peak periods due to the flexibility of their accommodation (lots of different sized rooms I believe and B&B or SC).

  • Liked — The location - Wilderness is great!
  • Disliked — If anything then the small pool - it's only really to cool off in, not swim in.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

We have recently visited The Dolphin Dunes Guest House and had a brief, but lovely stay. This guest house is located overlooking the Indian Ocean. There is a stairway leading down to the beach. Although we did not have an ocean front room, we did have a beautiful suite which included kitchen, living room, large bedroom and bathroom. It was tastefully furnished and very clean.
A full English breakfast is served in their beautiful dining room. The food was very tasty, nicely presented and the service very friendly. Wilderness is located along the Garden Route and Dolphin Dunes Guest House is a very nice stopping point.

  • Liked — The room was very nice.
  • Disliked — No internet access in the room
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mary_gregoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.6 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
667 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#6 of 57 in Wilderness
355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#16 of 57 in Wilderness
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse

Property: Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Address: Buxton Close, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on golden sand dunes, overlooking the unspoilt beaches of Wilderness, lies Dolphin Dunes - a charming beachfront guesthouse with luxurious and tasteful guest accommodation. Our casually elegant home is wonderfully comfortable. Relax on the sea facing sundeck and watch dolphins at play in the surf, take a stroll along the endless unspoilt beaches and forest, go canoeing on the lagoon. Come and enjoy the natural splendour of Wilderness - the Garden Route at its most captivating. Once you visit Dolphin Dunes, you'll find it very hard to leave¦ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing