We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Although the spacious suite room which we had booked was more akin to a regular ensuite arrangement, the panoramic view overlooking the beach and oceans as well as the service by Dolphin Dunes more than compensated for this. I would highly recommend this as an accommodation option in Wildernis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    43
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
153
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midrand, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Andre & Mathilda are such welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. It felt like I was staying with friends for three days. My ocean view room on the ground floor (suite #1) was everything I could've wished for and more! I absolutely loved the view and spent every minute I could sitting outside watching the whales.
My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The housekeeping & garden staff are friendly and helpful.
The owners are knowledgeable about the area and can advise on things to do. They really care about their guests and even phoned me after I completed a hiking trail on my own to check if I was allright.
(Don't miss the Giant Kingfisher trail in the nearby Wilderness National Park.)
I hope to return soon and will DEFINITELY stay at Dolphin Dunes again, the guesthouse is on a dune and only a wooden walkway away from the beach.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, it really is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARautenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We planned various safaris in five southern African countries in January and February 2014. We planned to relax for five days at Dolphin Dunes in early February and paid the 50% deposit in August 2013. We finally had access to the computer in Jo'burg on Feb 7 only to discover that Dolphin Dunes could not accommodate us on Feb 8 as his computer had crashed earlier and lost our reservation and was now fully booked. This was our only blip on a wonderful African trip. He credited our credit card but on our return home we discovered that we had lost $30 with the currency exchanges. Most disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed two nights at Dolphin Dunes, a Guest House on a beautiful location with the beach on your doorstep. Great accommodation even if your room does not have sea view. So we chose a unit without sea view: spacious and clean with a separate kitchen, a comfortable king-size bed, and a nice shower. Breakfast in the main building was a good start of the day. Very friendly and helpful owners.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sclodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were very lucky to be able to take advantage of their July special at R525 for the room, with breakfast included. This Guest House looks directly over the beach - it couldn't be nearer. The room was very comfortable with a king size bed and a balcony to sit out on. There were 2 comfy chairs set in front of the window so you could just sit and watch the waves. The place is very well kept and maintained and we could find no fault in anything. The owners parents, Lettie and Patrick, were in attendance and made us most welcome. Breakfast was excellent with omelettes as an addition to the normal English breakfast fare. There was a small clay tile heated up and put in the toast basket to keep the toast warm. The jams were in small individual jars on each table (instead of those ghastly pot of gold jam portions) and were home made. Your every need is catered for. This is a 6 out of 5 rating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main house as these have the best sea views. We had room 4. This place wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great time during our 3day stay at the guest house.The breakfast, the rooms, the accommodation everything was perfect. We are looking forward to go again and this time stay for more days. ! We recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank artemis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Went there with a couple of friends and had booked two rooms in the manor hoiuse with sea view. Owner had made a mistake and we were double booked and were offered to stay in the annex apartment. We were quite disappointed but were offered a dinner at a famous restaurant instead-nothing to do about it. Lots of apologizes can't really make up for that difference that we met the last night when we had the sea view rooms! Fantastic view and very nice furnitured.
Breakfast not that glorious, but served by nice staff. Beach fantastic, and the stairs down to the beach were ok. And-we saw the dolphins! I expect that if we had got the two rooms from the beginning it would all had been a success!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeMa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.6 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
665 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#6 of 57 in Wilderness
355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#17 of 57 in Wilderness
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse

Property: Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Address: Buxton Close, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on golden sand dunes, overlooking the unspoilt beaches of Wilderness, lies Dolphin Dunes - a charming beachfront guesthouse with luxurious and tasteful guest accommodation. Our casually elegant home is wonderfully comfortable. Relax on the sea facing sundeck and watch dolphins at play in the surf, take a stroll along the endless unspoilt beaches and forest, go canoeing on the lagoon. Come and enjoy the natural splendour of Wilderness - the Garden Route at its most captivating. Once you visit Dolphin Dunes, you'll find it very hard to leave¦ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing