We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
80
24
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
24
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome banana muffins garden route the main house road trip easy access beautiful view comfortable beds lou cottage host sa lagoon setting
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

After exploring Cape Town and much of the Western Cape, we really enjoyed our relaxing stay at Mont Fleur. From the moment we pulled into Wilderness, we felt right at home. Denise, Lou, and the rest of the staff we were wonderful! We were a little early for the beach, but are looking forward to the chance to go back again when we can spend some lazy days on the gorgeous white sands. We enthusiastically recommend Mont Fleur to anyone who is considering it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavery33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Our stay at Mont Fleur was a very unpleasant experience. The place looks nice, with a small pool that we did not use since it was raining when we arrived. We were given the cottage closest to the road. This cottage has just a small window on the side, with no view at all, and is quite dark. It has a very small porch. The bathroom was good with both a bathtub and a shower. The room smelled heavily of mold, and the smell was worst in the wardrobes, which could not be used. We arrived on New Year's Day, and were told by Denise that all restaurants were closed, but that they could prepare a dinner for us, which we gratefully accepted.
We shouldn't have. We did not ask for the price, since it seemed like a very simple meal. Which indeed it was, but the price was not. We have had delicious meals at good restaurants for less money. And this was a meal below any standards, even a teenager cooking his first meal could do better. The uneasiness was enhanced by the mock-friendliness of the hosts, and the prententious introductions of both dinner and breakfast (the latter being OK but very simple). E.g. adding one more glass of bad wine and a small glass of dessert wine to the dinner was presented as "the wine-tasting option" and added €5 to the price, which is a ridiculous price in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Nice location overlooking Wilderness and within convenient (safe) walking distance of the small centre with a choice of restaurants. We stayed in one of the garden cottages and felt the accommodation could do with a facelift. It was certainly not up to the standard of some of the other 4 star places we stayed whilst on the Garden Route. A shame as Denise was a welcoming, informative and helpful host and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boro26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The location of this B + B is excellent for walking to the local restaurants, shops, beach & lagoon. The hosts Lou & Denise are good hosts and try hard to assist where needed. We were accommodated in room number 1 which is directly connected to the common area, separated only by a stable door with glass in the top half, affording one with little privacy. Additionally all guests have to pass the external windows of this room to go to the common lounge area and breakfast. Unless you keep the blinds closed you have no privacy at all as everyone can see into your room. The room's decor was very tired, smelt very musty and is in vast contrast to the more updated decor in the rondavel rooms.

The other member of our group was give a tiny single room which must have previously been staff quarters. The room was minute, just fitting a single bed, and is stuck at the back of the guest house, not at all ideal!

We feel for what we overpaid for the rooms we got!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

In addition to loving the location of this B&B in The Wilderness, it was a hoot to have such a great time with the American owner!! Already planning to return again!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilw418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews