We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time well spent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Ranked #28 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Lou and Denise were the most gracious hosts! Mount Fleur is soooooo relaxing and the view of the ocean is breath taking. My room was very spacious, clean and the heater option for the bed was an added bonus. Wilderness is a great place to takeout some time for you and/or explore all the beauty of nature. I really enjoyed the welcome and friendliness of Denise and Lou, I look forward to visiting them soon as I have recommend Mont Fleur to plenty of my friends already!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

After exploring Cape Town and much of the Western Cape, we really enjoyed our relaxing stay at Mont Fleur. From the moment we pulled into Wilderness, we felt right at home. Denise, Lou, and the rest of the staff we were wonderful! We were a little early for the beach, but are looking forward to the chance to go back again when we can spend some lazy days on the gorgeous white sands. We enthusiastically recommend Mont Fleur to anyone who is considering it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavery33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Our stay at Mont Fleur was a very unpleasant experience. The place looks nice, with a small pool that we did not use since it was raining when we arrived. We were given the cottage closest to the road. This cottage has just a small window on the side, with no view at all, and is quite dark. It has a very small porch. The bathroom was good with both a bathtub and a shower. The room smelled heavily of mold, and the smell was worst in the wardrobes, which could not be used. We arrived on New Year's Day, and were told by Denise that all restaurants were closed, but that they could prepare a dinner for us, which we gratefully accepted.
We shouldn't have. We did not ask for the price, since it seemed like a very simple meal. Which indeed it was, but the price was not. We have had delicious meals at good restaurants for less money. And this was a meal below any standards, even a teenager cooking his first meal could do better. The uneasiness was enhanced by the mock-friendliness of the hosts, and the prententious introductions of both dinner and breakfast (the latter being OK but very simple). E.g. adding one more glass of bad wine and a small glass of dessert wine to the dinner was presented as "the wine-tasting option" and added €5 to the price, which is a ridiculous price in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Nice location overlooking Wilderness and within convenient (safe) walking distance of the small centre with a choice of restaurants. We stayed in one of the garden cottages and felt the accommodation could do with a facelift. It was certainly not up to the standard of some of the other 4 star places we stayed whilst on the Garden Route. A shame as Denise was a welcoming, informative and helpful host and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boro26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The location of this B + B is excellent for walking to the local restaurants, shops, beach & lagoon. The hosts Lou & Denise are good hosts and try hard to assist where needed. We were accommodated in room number 1 which is directly connected to the common area, separated only by a stable door with glass in the top half, affording one with little privacy. Additionally all guests have to pass the external windows of this room to go to the common lounge area and breakfast. Unless you keep the blinds closed you have no privacy at all as everyone can see into your room. The room's decor was very tired, smelt very musty and is in vast contrast to the more updated decor in the rondavel rooms.

The other member of our group was give a tiny single room which must have previously been staff quarters. The room was minute, just fitting a single bed, and is stuck at the back of the guest house, not at all ideal!

We feel for what we overpaid for the rooms we got!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

In addition to loving the location of this B&B in The Wilderness, it was a hoot to have such a great time with the American owner!! Already planning to return again!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilw418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed in one of the garden cottages and had a great time in and around Wilderness.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyn-Hopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.3 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 59 in Wilderness
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#9 of 59 in Wilderness
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
1.2 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#18 of 59 in Wilderness
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#23 of 59 in Wilderness
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Fleur - Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Fleur - Wilderness

Address: 334 Limberlost Lane, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £44 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mont Fleur - Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Fleur, a 4 star B&B and highly recommended by AA Travel, is nestled against the wilderness mountainside, with breathtaking ocean and lagoon views. All rooms are en-suite, with TV and tea trays. Choose from two Cottages, or two Main House rooms. Mont Fleur is a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants and hiking trails. Fabulous bird life. Credit cards. Children by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Fleur - Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing