We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of welcoming luxury after the Garden Route Trail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Ranked #30 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Old basing
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A touch of welcoming luxury after the Garden Route Trail”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our party (6) stayed one night having completed the brilliant Garden Route Trail. We were made most welcome and really enjoyed the luxury with a good nights' sleep after eating out in Wilderness.
Breakfast was great - our dietary requirements (including 2 vegans) were well catered for and although we were reluctant to leave we were well set for our return to Capetown.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    17
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hosts here are welcoming and the sleeping accommodation is good. However, an evening meal was strongly promoted because Wilderness is, its name suggests, quite remote. The meal offered was much too small; we had to request as much more, which was duly provided. Breakfast was poor relative to other SA B&Bs we have experienced.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlawnguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2011

What a beautiful spot! Great views from the terrace, very peaceful area, an inviting swimming pool and such a great hostess. Our room in a small 'cottage' in the grounds was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed having a our own little patio for drinks, reading, or just watching the world go by. We were unable to walk as far as we had hoped in the Wilderness national park as the bridges had been washed away, but it did not detract too much from our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Montfleur for one night in August. It was an ideal stop-over for us coming from CapeTown to travel the Garden Route. Lou and Denise cooked a delightful evening meal for us at short notice and gave us good advice on where to go and what to do during our brief visit to Wilderness, including arranging a local horse-ride for us. Our twin room at the front had views of the bay and was spacious, clean, light and attractive. A short, steep climb up to the house, but this is compensated by the view. I would say the warm welcome was absolutely genuine and I would definitely go back to Montfleur again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Lou and Denise were the most gracious hosts! Mount Fleur is soooooo relaxing and the view of the ocean is breath taking. My room was very spacious, clean and the heater option for the bed was an added bonus. Wilderness is a great place to takeout some time for you and/or explore all the beauty of nature. I really enjoyed the welcome and friendliness of Denise and Lou, I look forward to visiting them soon as I have recommend Mont Fleur to plenty of my friends already!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

After exploring Cape Town and much of the Western Cape, we really enjoyed our relaxing stay at Mont Fleur. From the moment we pulled into Wilderness, we felt right at home. Denise, Lou, and the rest of the staff we were wonderful! We were a little early for the beach, but are looking forward to the chance to go back again when we can spend some lazy days on the gorgeous white sands. We enthusiastically recommend Mont Fleur to anyone who is considering it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavery33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Our stay at Mont Fleur was a very unpleasant experience. The place looks nice, with a small pool that we did not use since it was raining when we arrived. We were given the cottage closest to the road. This cottage has just a small window on the side, with no view at all, and is quite dark. It has a very small porch. The bathroom was good with both a bathtub and a shower. The room smelled heavily of mold, and the smell was worst in the wardrobes, which could not be used. We arrived on New Year's Day, and were told by Denise that all restaurants were closed, but that they could prepare a dinner for us, which we gratefully accepted.
We shouldn't have. We did not ask for the price, since it seemed like a very simple meal. Which indeed it was, but the price was not. We have had delicious meals at good restaurants for less money. And this was a meal below any standards, even a teenager cooking his first meal could do better. The uneasiness was enhanced by the mock-friendliness of the hosts, and the prententious introductions of both dinner and breakfast (the latter being OK but very simple). E.g. adding one more glass of bad wine and a small glass of dessert wine to the dinner was presented as "the wine-tasting option" and added €5 to the price, which is a ridiculous price in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.5 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#27 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingfisher Country House
Kingfisher Country House
#14 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#7 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#10 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Fleur - Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Fleur - Wilderness

Property: Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Address: 334 Limberlost Lane, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mont Fleur - Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Fleur, a 4 star B&B and highly recommended by AA Travel, is nestled against the wilderness mountainside, with breathtaking ocean and lagoon views. All rooms are en-suite, with TV and tea trays. Choose from two Cottages, or two Main House rooms. Mont Fleur is a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants and hiking trails. Fabulous bird life. Credit cards. Children by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mont Fleur - Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing