We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off with a mock-friendly smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Ranked #29 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rip-off with a mock-friendly smile”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Our stay at Mont Fleur was a very unpleasant experience. The place looks nice, with a small pool that we did not use since it was raining when we arrived. We were given the cottage closest to the road. This cottage has just a small window on the side, with no view at all, and is quite dark. It has a very small porch. The bathroom was good with both a bathtub and a shower. The room smelled heavily of mold, and the smell was worst in the wardrobes, which could not be used. We arrived on New Year's Day, and were told by Denise that all restaurants were closed, but that they could prepare a dinner for us, which we gratefully accepted.
We shouldn't have. We did not ask for the price, since it seemed like a very simple meal. Which indeed it was, but the price was not. We have had delicious meals at good restaurants for less money. And this was a meal below any standards, even a teenager cooking his first meal could do better. The uneasiness was enhanced by the mock-friendliness of the hosts, and the prententious introductions of both dinner and breakfast (the latter being OK but very simple). E.g. adding one more glass of bad wine and a small glass of dessert wine to the dinner was presented as "the wine-tasting option" and added €5 to the price, which is a ridiculous price in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    19
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Nice location overlooking Wilderness and within convenient (safe) walking distance of the small centre with a choice of restaurants. We stayed in one of the garden cottages and felt the accommodation could do with a facelift. It was certainly not up to the standard of some of the other 4 star places we stayed whilst on the Garden Route. A shame as Denise was a welcoming, informative and helpful host and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boro26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The location of this B + B is excellent for walking to the local restaurants, shops, beach & lagoon. The hosts Lou & Denise are good hosts and try hard to assist where needed. We were accommodated in room number 1 which is directly connected to the common area, separated only by a stable door with glass in the top half, affording one with little privacy. Additionally all guests have to pass the external windows of this room to go to the common lounge area and breakfast. Unless you keep the blinds closed you have no privacy at all as everyone can see into your room. The room's decor was very tired, smelt very musty and is in vast contrast to the more updated decor in the rondavel rooms.

The other member of our group was give a tiny single room which must have previously been staff quarters. The room was minute, just fitting a single bed, and is stuck at the back of the guest house, not at all ideal!

We feel for what we overpaid for the rooms we got!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2010

In addition to loving the location of this B&B in The Wilderness, it was a hoot to have such a great time with the American owner!! Already planning to return again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilw418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed in one of the garden cottages and had a great time in and around Wilderness.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyn-Hopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We included Wilderness in our itinerary, staying for 4 nights in November 2010 at Mont Fleur. Our accommodation was one of the garden cottages, which was nicely furnished and spacious.

On arrival we were met by Denise who made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were the nicest of our trip (particularly the home made muffins!) and the location was ideal as a base for exploring the Wilderness area. Complimentary wi-fi was available which was useful for updating everyone on the great time that we were having!

If you are planning to stay in Wilderness I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Mont Fleur. Thanks to Denise and Lou for their hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinBucknall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Great location plenty to do wonderful host pleasant room. Visit the outdoor market on Thursday evening in Wilderness village. Also Farmers market at Sedgefield on Saturday. If you want a great meal try The Girls in the village.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.5 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.5 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#17 of 57 in Wilderness
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#3 of 37 in Wilderness
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Fleur - Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Fleur - Wilderness

Property: Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Address: 334 Limberlost Lane, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mont Fleur - Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Fleur, a 4 star B&B and highly recommended by AA Travel, is nestled against the wilderness mountainside, with breathtaking ocean and lagoon views. All rooms are en-suite, with TV and tea trays. Choose from two Cottages, or two Main House rooms. Mont Fleur is a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants and hiking trails. Fabulous bird life. Credit cards. Children by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Fleur - Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing