We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu Guest Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xanadu Guest Villa
Ranked #7 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here in 2010 and liked it so much stayed again in 2011 both on the way up the coast and again back down. The reason is that the location, style and attention to details is superb. Directly on one of the best beaches( so few people it was almost private) I have been to. There were 3 of us and we stayed in the penthouse complete with our own private terrace overlooking the Ocean. Wilderness is a truly special place and as regular visitors to SA we always stay a couple of days and will deifintely be going back to Xanadu Thanks to everyone for another great stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms now, they're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for appreciating our dream , we were fortunate to share it with you.
Till we have the pleasure to have you as our valued guests again.
Best Regards Albert & Tersia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    25
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
244
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The location is absolutely divine, up on the dunes so close to the beach, great views! If people are not sensitive towards an overdecorated interior (Russia meets Dubai) or is 75+, fine! Breakfast was not really tempting with an old Nutella jar and cheeses and cold meats sweating behind cling film. For that is was completely overpriced, but owner and dog were very friendly indeed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Thandiblu,
• After a year has gone by your memory must be failing you, the breakfast at XANADU consist of all sorts of cereal, variety of fresh fruit platter , yoghurt , toast, fruit juice, milk, coffee , tea ,variety of spreads, bacon ,tomatoe , mushrooms, variety of sausages ,fried eggs, scrambled eggs ,poached eggs, omelette , scones , muffins ,variety of cold meat cuts, variety of cheeses .Some cheeses are packaged slice by slice in a protective hygienic "plastic" envelope and is for the benefit of the user and only removed before used .Hope this explains this madness to you? Our cold cuts of meat has never been presented in or behind cling film. We have never had Nutella?
• Your depiction of the breakfast at XANADU is a fantasy. Read the guest comments of our other guests! Why did you not complain to Tersia or Albert??
• What you see on our website is what you will find at Xanadu. Xanadu is not ordinary but SPECIAL. For ordinary accommodation there are the Holiday Inn and Wilderness Beach Hotel as well as all the other lower ranked accommodation facilities.
• Notice that you have the same comment of “From Russia with Love” posted for Pigalle Restaurant Johannesburg which you visited also in April 2011. Did you get us mixed up with your copying and pasting?
• Every painting (original) and every piece of furniture in Xanadu was collected and sourced over a period of 40 years and put together with loving care and great taste, resulting in a very special classy final product, with great ambiance, as we are everyday reminded with compliments from appreciating, knowledgeable guests.
• At XANADU we practice what we preach and we believe in our quality of excellent 5 star service delivery ;If we cannot deliver the advertised accommodation/service/product or comply to a reasonable guest complaint within a reasonable time , you stay for free or get your money back – fair enough ??

Regards
Albert & Tersia Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stay for 2 nights the end of January in The Oyster Suite. It was absolutely lovely and had a perfect view of the sunset each evening. We not only had very comfortable easy chairs in the room, but also had a private deck with chairs to watch the ocean. Our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Our hosts greeted us and treated us as friends. They were johnny on the spot with getting us a bucket of ice each evening and were helpful with restaurant suggestions. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, juice, cereal and a hot breakfast.
The Guest House has everything that you would want, great location (on the beach) great view, great sunsets, beautifully decorated and delightful hosts. What more is there to say, except if you are going to Wilderness, be sure to stay at Xanadu!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a suite on the beach side of the house. The Oyster Suite has both a front view to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missey1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hallo Dick & Missey,
You are our ambassadors in the USA! Thank you for staying at XANADU , it was our pleasure to have had you as guests. Hopefully you will visit us again in future.
Warm Regards,
Albert&Tersia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Xanadu Guest Villa sits in a prime location – just off the Garden Route (N2) in Wilderness, a few miles East of George. The view from the back of the property is simply breathtaking – a private garden, then through a gate and onto a quiet stretch of sandy beach with the waves rolling in from the Indian Ocean. It’s said that location is everything – well, here’s proof with a picture perfect location.

This is a modern and, I would suspect, purpose built guest house which is both bright and inviting with an open plan layout to give it an extra feel of spaciousness. The décor throughout is tasteful in the extreme - the furnishings in the common areas are rich, elegant and exquisite and the rooms I saw were simply sumptuous, although the price you pay varies according to the size of the room and its outlook.

Top price is for the rooms at the back of the property with full-on sea views. Most expensive is the Presidential suite – 3000 Rand a night for 2 in the high season - which comes with a large bedroom with king bed, sitting area, floor to ceiling windows (common to most if not all rooms) and a bathroom as big as the main bedroom. The ensuite, which is carpeted, also has a dressing area, tea-making area, walk-in shower and a corner bath with double aspect views over the Ocean. Perfect for pampering. Also a huge private balcony with table and chairs plus sun beds – and from the balcony a private staircase down to the garden and beach. Simply fantastic.

This was my second visit to Xanadu. Previously, I stayed in the lower priced Oyster suite at 2000 Rand a night, which I think is great value for money and the room, like the Presidential, is bright and luxurious with exquisite décor. The room has a separate sitting area and comes with a large private balcony (which is the middle balcony as shown in the photo on the website). At the same price is the Neptune suite which (I think) is the rooftop penthouse – I was given a sneak look – and while smaller than the other 2 rooms mentioned was still exquisite and with excellent privacy and access out on the rooftop with a 360 degree outlook - perfect for sun worshippers. And, for a slightly lesser price of 1500 Rand – the Dolphin suite also provides sea views although, from recall, the room is slightly smaller and, it may be a trivial point, but I don’t think there’s a direct view of the Ocean from the bed itself. The price falls again to around 1200 Rand for the Starfish and Seahorse rooms which, being at the front of the property, don’t have sea views. For full enjoyment of this property I’d suggest you really need to splurge a bit and choose one of the Ocean facing suites.

Breakfast is presided over by hosts Albert and Tersia who attend to every detail in their quest for perfection. Great breakfast – either at the 8 seat communal round table if you’re feeling talkative and want to chat about your exploits with fellow guests – or a couple of more discreet areas if you feel a need for privacy. For an evening meal – Wilderness – 1km down the road has a choice of restaurants including The Girls Restaurant (fusion, African) and Pomodoro (Italian).

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Was it good value for money? Well, given its location and ambience, again I would have to say, absolutely. This is simply heaven and hosts Albert and Tersia have got the guest house business down to a perfect art.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Manager at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guests,
Not sure how to thank you enough for a stirling informed and balanced review. Please accept our sincere appreciation and pledge that we at XANADU will keep on striving to deliver only the best value for anybody's money and deliver an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. We will make your holiday dreams come true!
Thanking You,
Albert & Tersia Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have never stayed in such luxury with such a fabulous backdrop. The owners Albert & Tersia just cannot do enough for you and they go out of their way to make everything perfect - and it is! We have travelled the world and this is THE place! thanks so much for such a memorable holiday!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you , we appreciate your efforts to load a comment , it shows genuine sincerity and inspires us to go the extra mile for our guests.
Watch out for our latest photos to be loaded on our website!
Best Regards,
Albert & Tersia Hoffmann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Although we did our research and had the idea what to expect by choosing XANADU, nobody could prepare us for so much beauty in one place!
Breath taking view, ocean practically in the garden, ambiance of this absolutely stunning, welcoming, warm home, top choice of the background soothing music with endless repertoire, delicious food and most of all, the most amazing, rare quality of hosts, made our holiday unforgettable and XANADU the place we will regularly return to!
Mr Albert and Tersia, thank you for creating such a magic in your perfect holiday place!!!

Room Tip: You can’t go wrong with none of the rooms, as each one of them is unique and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Sincere guests with a balanced judgement such as yourself makes all our efforts to give our guests an all round dream holiday , worth our while.Thank you sincerely.
Your obliging hosts,
Albert & Tersia Hoffmann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

My family (3 children - aged 11, 11 and 10), my husband and myself stayed at Xanadu for 3 weeks in December 2012. This was our 5th time returning to Xanadu. We barely left the guesthouse and the beach, as our children wanted to stay "at home". That is how they regard Xanadu, as their home. The host's Albert and Tersia are always available to make a booking at a restaurant for you, help carry your fishing gear in, inflate a tube for the beach, or even put a call into the NSRI to help somebody that was in distress in the sea. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. The place is decorated beautifully, the bedrooms are huge and luxurious, the house is immaculate, the views spectacular and the beach is 30 steps away. It is so lovely in today's fast paced and faceless world to go somewhere that the hosts actually care.
Whilst we were there in December 2011, there were numerous couples from all over the world, and they all said they would love to return to Xanadu. There was also another family there, that were there for their 3rd visit, and they are returning in December 2012. We are also making another booking for December 2012. I can't wait to return to " my little piece of heaven" - that Albert and Tersia allow us to share with them so graciously.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 879Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for an honest response from the heart, we know that you mean every word thereof. See you again in December!
Regards,
Albert & Tersia Hoffmann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.8 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.0 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Guest Villa

Property: Xanadu Guest Villa
Address: No.43 die duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Guest Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Guest Villa is situated right on the beachfront of the beautiful, unspoilt Wilderness Beach, the jewel in the crown of South Africa’s famous and scenic Garden Route. Centrally located for day trips to Oudtshoorn (1hr), Knysna (30 min) Plettenberg Bay (45min), and even to Addo Elephant National Park (3hrs), this luxurious Garden Route guest villa is the perfect choice for your Wilderness Garden Route accommodation.Save yourself the chore of packing and unpacking every day. You can explore this wonderful region and at the end of the day return to Xanadu Guest Villa, the best of accommodation, and still have time for a beach walk and a sundowner on our pool deck.WINNER 2013 : TO TRAVEL AWARDS "BEST GUESTHOUSE ON THE GARDEN ROUTE"FREE UNCAPPED WI FI 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Xanadu Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing