We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well pampered”
Review of Xanadu Guest Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xanadu Guest Villa
Ranked #7 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Xanadu is a great guest lodge, with luxurious furnishings, a great beach outlook, and wonderful hosts. Breakfast was excellent, and Albert was very helpful regarding attractions in the area. They even tidied our room over breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenWhiteside99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Xanadu Guest Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had the most amazing stay here in Oct 2013.
Accomodation was amazing with a stunning view from the bedroom windows. I was asleep when we arrived at Xanadu and was totally not expecting what was on the other side of the front door!
Luxury accomoadtion at its best, the rooms were well equipped and enormous! My husband & I with our 2 children only stayed for one night but wish it could have been for longer. Breakfast was fabulous and the kids loved being able to nip out on the beach as soon as we'd finished eating.

Hope we can go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Although I have only stayed for one evening, I was treated as somebody that was staying for a loooong vacation.
Albert, was the perfect host. My rental car, broke down, and without any question/hesitation he carted me around, assisting me, this was not at all his responsibility or problem.
The rooms are lovely, views spectacular and the breakfast something to look forward to.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0elien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Roelien,
You are too kind. We give assistance to our guests as much as is possible . When you are in a strange place , a little" local knowledge" helps !
Most important for us is that your stay at XANADU will be remembered as a nice dream , not a nightmare !!
Trust we will see you again ?
Regards,
Albert & Tersia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our room was one of the most opulent I have ever stayed in. All the rooms had a unique décor and were quite superb. Hotel set right on the beach for sunbathing, whale watching. Excellent breakfast served round a large round table so that guests could meet each other. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: We chose a rear facing room as we only had one night there and arrived quite late, but for another s...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Xanadu Guest Villa is all that you see, have read and more. Tersia and Albert greeted us with a warm welcome. They showed us around the house our room and gave us information about the area.

We stayed in the Dolphin room. It was well equipped with our own heating, television, wireless wifi, king bed, beautiful bath, beach and garden views. The room and house were very clean. We felt right at home. If this B & B had been located in the States, the rate would be three times what we paid. The room was very affordable.

If we are ever in the area again, this will be out first stop. The house and room were beautiful. The setting was beautiful. It was so much more than we expected, the pictures are beautiful, but you really have to see it to appreciate it. When you see this property you can see that it was well thought out and executed. We only wished we would have stayed longer. Our stay was only over night.

We left early the next morning before breakfast and Tersia was kind enough to leave fruit, sandwiches and water for us to take.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

From the minute we arrived we knew that the Xanadu was going to be a home away from home to remember. First of all owners Tersia and Albert were a delight and made us both comfortable and welcome. Second of all, this villa located along the Indian Ocean coast, was more than accommodating; it was teaming with class and elegance while being located in a small village called “Wilderness”. Our room was huge to say the least, and it offered spectacular ocean views from the glass wall located all along the bedroom and sitting room areas. We even had a patio which allowed us to sit outside and enjoy a bit of sea breeze with our glass of South African wine as the sun set.

Did I tell you that the owners Tersia and Albert were a delight to meet? Well they were. They sincerely have a knack of paying attention to detail in their villa. They were also knowledgeable and helpful as tour guides. This region is also called South Africa’s “Garden Route”. It’s loaded with an abundance of wildlife, forest, deserted sandy beaches and more than I can list of fun things to do for any age group. Our only complaint was that we did not set aside near enough time to visit and see more of this region and of course, stay longer at Xanadu.

By the way, when we were leaving and saying goodbye to Albert, he modestly told us that they had just been awarded best villa in the entire Garden Route region. (In truth, I don't remember the actual name of their latest award but this is close.) It’s only one of many awards that these hoteliers have received and they deserve it. Xanadu is a must stay location when you are visiting the Wilderness and Garden Route area of South Africa!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are well worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hallo Jim & Karen,
You are truly 5 star guests. We are humbled by your generous stirling review.
We must emphasize that we met you once , we are not related or old friends!
That your review flows from your hearts.
THANK YOU,
It makes all the midnight oil burning and getting out of bed before the rooster, worth it.
Hope you will visit us again for longer?
Fond Redards,
Albert & Tersia Hoffmann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

From the first moment we arrived, we received high quality in every aspect of our stay. A warm welcome, the finest infrastructure ever and soft music. Tersia and Albert are a sophisticated couple who know what is needed in order to give their guests the most comfortable stay. EVERY single detail was taken into consideration, including the view from our room was astonishing!!!
Coming from Capetown and going to Port Elizabeth, Xanadu Guest Villa was, by far, the best place we stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
304 reviews
1.0 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
1.4 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 57 in Wilderness
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Guest Villa

Address: No. 43 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £65 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Guest Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Guest Villa is situated right on the beachfront of the beautiful, unspoilt Wilderness Beach, the jewel in the crown of South Africa’s famous and scenic Garden Route. Centrally located for day trips to Oudtshoorn (1hr), Knysna (30 min) Plettenberg Bay (45min), and even to Addo Elephant National Park (3hrs), this luxurious Garden Route guest villa is the perfect choice for your Wilderness Garden Route accommodation.Save yourself the chore of packing and unpacking every day. You can explore this wonderful region and at the end of the day return to Xanadu Guest Villa, the best of accommodation, and still have time for a beach walk and a sundowner on our pool deck.WINNER 2013 : TO TRAVEL AWARDS "BEST GUESTHOUSE ON THE GARDEN ROUTE"FREE UNCAPPED WI FI 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing