We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep on returning”
Review of Xanadu Guest Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xanadu Guest Villa
Ranked #7 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the 3rd time we visited Xanadu Guest Villa. My wife and I come here for quality time, to relax and unwind.

The owners Albert and Tersia each time remembers us and this time upon our arrival immediately asked "how's the baby doing?" who we left at the grandparents - we are definitely not just a number like you would feel staying at a hotel.

The guest house décor is superb. We love the ambiance they create in the guest house by the décor and the soft background music that plays via an iPod.I have spent time reading other reviews and I am confused by the odd review where the guest complains about the decor... this is 5-star decor, what more to say? These people must have very strange taste, and even if it's not your taste, you can still appreciate it for what it is and not complain just because its not in line with your taste? My wife also mentioned that she wants music like that to be playing in our own house....

The views are spectacular. Ten steps down onto your "private" beach with complimentary beach towels, chair, umbrella and other beach toys.

Lovely breakfast - more than enough variety. You can choose to sit at the round table for 8 people and get to know other guests and exchange ideas for day trips in and around the area, or you can sit at the other two smaller tables if you are perhaps not in the mood to mingle. If you sit at the 8-seater and Albert/Tersia comes past, they will introduce you to the other guests if you haven't gotten to know then already, which is nice.

The rooms are exactly like to photos on the website - perfect.

Overall we remained extremely satisfied with our stay once again, and we will keep returning!

Room Tip: If it's available, opt for one of the sea facing rooms - spectacular views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

A very comfortable och luxury guesthouse at the Wilderness Beach. Nice rooms and a lovely garden to relax in. The beach is just a few meters away. Try to book the suite on the top floor with a terrace with 180 view. But note that the location just at the beach will make you hear the ocean the whole time, day and night!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mattias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed for one night this month on our journey along the Garden Route. This is a beautiful home though maybe outdated and the views are spectacular. We loved our time on the beach. We just felt that the owners were a little impersonal and we did not relaxed here the way we did every where else we stayed.

Room Tip: Very traditional decor but large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Friend,
You arrived late in the afternoon and departed directly after breakfast , not much time to get to know you! We had 12 other guests to attend to .Had you stayed longer we may have been able to connect better with you.
Why do you fail to mention that we upgraded you at NO EXTRA CHARGE to a room of R3000.00 per night from a room of R2000.00?
Via Con Dios.
Albert & Tersia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

It was one of the finest locations on our South Africa Tour. Albert - as a former lawyer - and his beautiful wife Tersia have realized their life dream in a perfect translation of "luxury for our guests". We had the "Neptune Suite" and we felt like Neptune: with an incredible view direct onto the sea. The big panorama windows and the roof terrace gave us the feeling of being the only people between heaven and waves. Thank you very much for this exclusive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hwdoering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Would never have a holiday in South Africa and not stay at Zanadu!! It just gets better and better. It,s one of the places you go for a holiday and take great joy in recommending it to everyone . I hope it,s not too long before we return!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hilton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

After a 5 day trip around South Africa, this was our last stop before returning back to Cape Town to see out the rest of our holiday. My boyfriend and I were very excited to spend the last night of our trip here as the photos/location looked beautiful. When we arrived we were blown away by the guest house, the attention to detail/view was second to none.
However.... The welcome we received from Albert (owner) made us feel like we were intruding rather paying guests.
No help was offered when carrying our luggage in.
Albert showed us to our room (which we can't deny was lovely) and then read out a welcome note on a laminated sheet word for word which again we felt was very impersonal.
He stressed that if we had a problem to report it to him and not plaster it on Tripadvisor which again wasn't very welcoming and felt almost like we were getting briefed.

I will say that Albert was very helpful with suggesting places to eat that evening which we thanked him for.

Our main issue was when my boyfriend had an accident with the iron, burnt his hand and burning a bit of the stool upholstery in the process
He reported the incident straight away to Albert to which he replied "do you know how much it costs to have them refurbished?" (This was before he saw the damage)
Tersia the other owner came up to the room to see the damage. Not once was he asked if his hand was ok.
Tersia then said "these irons in the room cause much more problems than the creases on peoples clothes do".
If this is such a concern, I'd suggest not supplying guests with irons in their rooms.
There were a lot of agitated exchanges in Dutch between the owners at this point which we felt was very rude.
Tersia then left the room and came back with materials to treat the dressing table that had some water on it.
My boyfriend was very apologetic but the attitude and reaction of the owners at something that was going to cost around £30 (500rd) to fix left us feeling even more unwelcome and like a child that had just been told off.
We never saw Albert or Tersia for the remainder of our stay which was disappointing after Albert saying not to plaster complaints on Trip Advisor and to go to him if we had a problem.
It would have been good to discuss the incident maybe the following day and clear the air with them, when tempers had died down.

At breakfast we found the house manager very nice and attentive and a view of the ocean to die for.

Maybe our expectations were extremely high after having such welcoming and impeccable service at our previous accommodations on our trip (West Coast Lodge Blouberg, Bitou River lodge, Pumba Game Reserve), or maybe the owners were having an off day.
We would recommend this place in terms of decor and the views but I feel that when a place claims to be 5 star it should be about the overall experience and being made to feel welcome and comfortable. I have also been made aware that one of the SA Tourism Grading
Council regulations to be an official 5 star guest house/hotel is that it should offer 24 hour room service which it didn't or we certainly weren't made aware of that anyway.

I will say that I have read a lot of great reviews about this place and a small few that mirror my views.
This was just our personal experience with The Xanadu and felt we wanted to share it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hallo Janine & boyfriend,
Is it not incomprehensible that the review of a teenage girl and her boyfriend , a one nighter , paid for by a parent , with her first review , is given equal exposure against seasoned guests that after a stay for a week or a month scores their stay at 10/10 ?

Every guest is treated as royalty at XANADU , as is evident from our reviews , however if you choose to not use the ironing board provided in the room and instead use the iron on the upholstered dressing table stool and burn a big hole in the expensive fabric , please forgive us if that causes some ripples in our tranquillity.

Pity that you neglected to mention that the damage caused by your boyfriend was more than the cost of your accommodation AND that no charge was made to compensate the damage!

Had room service been requested , which was NOT , the request would have been attended to by our staff on duty 24/7.

Having a granddaughter of our own of your age , a small word of advice :A boyfriend that is not able or willing to carry the luggage of his girlfriend , is not worth having ?

Regards,
Albert & Tersia Hoffmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Wilderness many times before, but this is our favourite place so far. We stayed in the Neptun suite, so beautiful, so private....
Lovely chats with people from all over around the breakfast table. A wonderful stay!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MaritandPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 62 in Wilderness
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 62 in Wilderness
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
431 reviews
1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 62 in Wilderness
300 reviews
0 mi away
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Guest Villa

Address: No. 43 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £110 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Guest Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Guest Villa is situated right on the beachfront of the beautiful, unspoilt Wilderness Beach, the jewel in the crown of South Africa’s famous and scenic Garden Route. Centrally located for day trips to Oudtshoorn (1hr), Knysna (30 min) Plettenberg Bay (45min), and even to Addo Elephant National Park (3hrs), this luxurious Garden Route guest villa is the perfect choice for your Wilderness Garden Route accommodation.Save yourself the chore of packing and unpacking every day. You can explore this wonderful region and at the end of the day return to Xanadu Guest Villa, the best of accommodation, and still have time for a beach walk and a sundowner on our pool deck.WINNER 2013 : TO TRAVEL AWARDS "BEST GUESTHOUSE ON THE GARDEN ROUTE"FREE UNCAPPED WI FI 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Xanadu Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing