We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "OH S---" Lady of Wilderness, South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #10 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevens Point
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The "OH S---" Lady of Wilderness, South Africa”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Each February or March, Chris and I and another couple (Rick/Sarah) seek
treatment for Wisconsin cabin fever in a foreign country where there is
sun and soft ocean breezes. In 2013 we toured South Africa. On March
11, we headed east from Capetown on the "Garden Highway" with a side
trip to Cape Agulhas. (Africa's southernmost point where the Atlantic
Ocean meets the Indian Ocean.)

By the time we reached Wilderness, we had been traveling for more than
eight hours and covered more than 650 kilometers. Everybody was ready to
find accommodations and relax on the Indian Ocean. We didn't find any.
In fact, we didn't look. On the other side of the Garden Highway we
noticed a picturesque lake with The Interlaken Guest House perched on
the steep ridge above the lake. The lake was serene and we could drive (or walk) to the wild Indian Ocean (and its public beaches) that were only a couple kilometers
away.

We got two rooms and carried the beer cooler in from the car -- as
Wisconsinites we always carry beer for just such emergencies. While we
were arguing (for at least 20 seconds) about whose balcony we would use to
drink our Castle beer, Elsie Cook, the co-owner with her husband Kevin,
came in to explain that there was beer for sale in the frig and offered
a recommendation for a place to dine that evening. Her next words were: “OH ----!”

She didn't say: "OH S---" because we had brought our own beer. She said
"OH S---" when I mentioned that I knew that the recommended restaurant was closed
on Monday. From that moment on, I repeatedly referred to her as the "OH
S---" lady to elicit reams of laughter from everybody. The "OH S---"
lady laughed the loudest and longest.

We got up at dawn the next morning to watch the morning mist weave
across the lake and up into the valley on the far shore where the sun
would eventually eat it for breakfast, As the fog lifted we slowly made
out the hazy image of a fisherman rowing toward us from an island on
the right shore. He hooked a fish not far from our shore. The lake was
so calm that the fighting fish sent out wide ripples across the lake
surface.

As the fog cleared, the lake reflected the entire north shore where a
herd of horses were grazing, a farmer was tending his crops, and a tiny
road weaved its way up the valley from the farmer's home to a tiny
settlement of homes to the crest of the hill to watch the sun eat the
morning mist.

In two weeks in South Africa, the Interlaken Guest House was our
favorite accommodation and the "OH S---" lady was our favorite host.

Room Tip: The northeast room has a slightly more spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for this review..... for a moment we thought that we were being set up!!

We really enjoyed having you here amid all the laughter and fun!! We were so pleased that we found your camera ( yes, Kevin called you the camera lady!!) in our driveway because it meant that we could have another laugh when you came back to collect it!

We hope that the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country was a good one and thanks again for choosing Interlaken Guest House to stay!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
234
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Kevin and Elsie make you feel very comfortable in their lovely home. Our room was very clean, modern and large. The wonderful view from the private balcony of the lake and surrounding mountains made this the perfect base for us to enjoy the WIlderness area.

Room Tip: The two rooms that we viewed were both great. We chose the one with the smaller balcony as the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Manager at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are happy that we were able to offer you the Fish Eagle suite due to the fact that you were here for a few days and this enabled you to be able to spread out a bit!!!

Thank you for choosing Interlaken Guest HOuse to stay, it was a pleasure having you here.

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Nothing to dislike here! Owner is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is tasty and served on a patio with an amazing view. Rooms are large and come with a large balcony overlooking the lake of Wilderness National Park--stunning! Comfortable, clean, great location, quiet and convenient. What else would you want?

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Manager at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.... it is great to know that Interlaken ticked all the boxes for you!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Having read reviews on Tripadvisor we turned up without booking and were offered the 'Honeymoon suite'. We admitted to 37 years of marriage but found we still qualified!!! The suite was absolutely beautiful, spacious, light, spotlessly clean and with spectacular views across Wilderness National Park. Kevin & Elsie made us feel at home immediately and we quickly decided to extend our intended stay to 4 nights. I would highly recommend a stay here even if you have to make a detour from your intended route. It is within easy drives to Knysna, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay so makes for an excellent base from which to explore the area. Try paragliding or hire a canoe and go swim in the waterfall lake, hike the KIngfisher trail and visit an ostrich and elephant farm. While we were staying Kevin Junior arrived so hope he is thriving and grandparents had a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Interlaken Guest HOuse Ian and Kathy, it was a real pleasure to upgrade you to the honeymoon suite!!

We enjoyed our chats in the morning and it was lovely to see you out and about every day, always something different to do and places to see!!

Kevin jnr is very cute and we hated having to leave him in Cape Town but on the otherhand we were so pleased to come home again to this beautiful place. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Had a wonderful stay for 2 nights in February. The setting is lovely, rooms are spotless and spacious, and the breakfasts delicious. Plenty to see and do nearby, or simply relax on the deck and watch the sunset. Kevin and Elsie were terrific - strongly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a lovely review, we really do appreciate it and it was a pleasure serving you a delicious breakfast!!
Kind regards
Elsie and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My girlfriend and i (from Germany) stayed at Interlaken Guest House for two nights in February. Kevin & Elsie were very nice hosts. The room + the huge balcony were lovely. They made us fresh fruit salad with yogurt + scrambled egg for breakfast. It was delicious - especially the passion fruit in it. While you are eating breakfast you have a wonderful view of the lagoon.
!! Strong recommendation to stay at Interlaken Guest House !!

Room Tip: The Kingfisher Suite has a very nice balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Wow, best guest house on our trip?? That is music to our ears!! Thank you so much for choosing Interlaken Guest House for your stay in Wilderness and we hope this wont be your last visit to our beautiful country!!
Kind regards
Elsie and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We where fortunate enough to discover this gem on the Garden Route and we immediately booked for 5 nights. Everything we hoped to find in a guesthouse was there, and more. A beautiful large room with amazing terrace and views! At night the birds sing you into a deep sleep.
Could go on and on about the great breakfast, good central location, free wifi and great hosts, but will leave something to imagination. If ever on the garden route, be sure to book a few nights here! M&T

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We are very fortunate to be in the National Park and grateful for our most beautiful view so thank you so much for your lovely review, we really missed you when you left........ see you in Portugal one day!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
667 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
341 reviews
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
248 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Property: Interlaken Guest House
Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing